Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 2693 (Men's Swim Trunks) - Type:Mens - Swimwear / Activewear    printable version
Viewed 1835 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Jules/Vancouver BC
photo
About Jules/Vancouver BCstar
BC CANADA
Member since: 1/8/03
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:04 AM
Last Updated:7/14/03 1:29 AM


See other patterns in this category: Mens - Swimwear / Activewear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tonya said...
LOL@husbandperson and his antics. Aren't they funny? Very thorough amd helpful review; I bet my husbandperson would like this pattern as well. Is the lining full-length? I'm having a difficult time picturing an elastic leg on the lining... maybe I'll dig out DH's RTW trunks and see if they do that too. Anyway, fun review, thanks!
4/7/03 10:26 AM
Jules/Vancouver BC said...
Tonya, the lining is like a pair of jockey shorts - keeps "his stuff" from flopping around for all to see...*grin* Most RTW has this sort of lining - at least everything I've seen that qualified as "trunks" - as opposed to the Speedo type suit - and that's NOT something I'd recommend for the majority of those endowed with a Y chromosome!
4/7/03 10:37 AM
kittykate said...
Where did you buy the swimsuit fabric? Was it mail order? I only have a local fabric (quilter's really) store and I have this pattern, just no fabric yet. When I took a swimsuit class last year, the instructor demonstrated an elastic foot, it holds the elastic and you adjust the tension of it by twisting a knob. It took some fiddling to figure out how much twist would give the 1:1, 2:1 ratios etc. I didn't buy one because it's too expensive for my old machine and I still stretch by hand. It was demonstrated on a Husquevarna serger, but are available for more recent sewing and serger machines. Nice project.!
4/7/03 1:44 PM
Mbarkle said...
Jules, last summer I made KS2417 which is similar except a little shorter and less full. (I have a skinny dh who is overwhelmed by too much fabric.) I used a microfiber on the outside and coolmax for the liner. It looks nice but he never wears it. And he was asking the other day why I never make him anything! Maybe if I let him pick the fabric . . .
4/7/03 2:15 PM
Jules/Vancouver BC said...
kittykate, I got the fabrics at Fabricana, one of the local chains (more expensive than Fabricland, but the staff are more knowledgeable and easier to find, plus they have KS patterns). I don't think I'd be able to find an elastic foot for my 50+ year old machine, but maybe I'll look into that when I finally break down and get something new. LOL with Mary - y'know, it helps that he absolutely had to have swim trunks (we were going to a hot spring resort, after all) and there was NO way he was going to squeeze into his old pair! This time of year, finding swimwear without paying through the nose is almost impossible, so he was kind of forced to wear them anyway! BTW - I had planned on making the pattern that you have (mostly cuz I liked the idea of getting a shirt pattern too) but they didn't have it in stock. Now I'm glad I made the one I did, given the husbandperson's "figure".
4/7/03 6:44 PM
KathleenS said...
Great tip about the pocket! It sounds like a good pattern and it's great that your husband likes them - isn't it satisfying when what you make gets worn :)
4/7/03 6:45 PM
Tessa said...
I have made a similar boys' pattern (KS2132) in several sizes and really liked it too. But, for swim trunks, I saved myself some trouble and didn't bother with pockets. I found stretching the elastic a bit difficult too, but I don't have a good solution.
4/11/03 3:35 PM
PhyllisC said...
......I almost never match my serger thread if it won't show....for the same reason.
7/14/03 12:03 PM
CindyK said...
Used the advice from your review and made my husband a pair using a print supplex from Wazoodle (they have several nice prints in supplex and tactel) and the simplest pattern. He loves them -- runs then swims without changing. I used drawstring elastic in the waist. They dry very quickly. I'm about to make another pair.
7/14/03 3:52 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Oliver + S LC002WS
photo
Review by wenznz on 7/20/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Skater Shoes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Skater Shoes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate TeeX3 Digital Pattern
Blank Slate TeeX3 Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5464
photo
Review by QuiltSewSe... on 2/20/09
Read Review

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern
Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sassy Bag
Sassy Bag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3500 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3500 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9471 Pattern
Burda 9471 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us