Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8188 - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1055 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:carolynw
photo
Friend of PR
About carolynwstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 3/19/05
Reviews written: 111
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 36 people
patterns reviewed: 99
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/12/07 11:56 AM
Last Updated:12/12/07 12:00 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Luckylibbet said...
I know the experience of sulking at a project, and refusing to wear it until the snit goes away. ITA that easy does not mean correct, and correct is usually not easy. I think it's really beautiful, though, and I hope the sulk ends soon.
12/12/07 12:43 PM
007gurl said...
I love the jacket. It's very glam!!!
12/12/07 12:57 PM
Annette1 said...
:o))) Man, are we two peas in a pod or WHAT? I feel like I wrote this review myself, since I've DONE all of the above at one time or another. The GOOD thing, though, is look how NICE your jacket turned out, despite the fact you ignored your "inner voice." I LOVE it. You can wear this for New Year's Eve, Christmas, or any other darn time you feel like it (once you get over your sulk, I mean). I'm still sulking about mine, as well. :o)
12/12/07 1:16 PM
LindsayT said...
Ditto the glam comment. Nice work!
12/12/07 1:29 PM
Birgitte said...
I LOVE your jacket, and also- nice save!!! I guess when they say "easy", they actually mean "short cut". Great review, and your DH is right. Wear it with pride!!
12/12/07 2:46 PM
cecelia said...
Clin, don't you hate it when you don't listen to yourself? I've had the same thing happen many a time. Anyway, you ended up with a very nice looking jacket from the photo!
12/12/07 3:39 PM
Lori V said...
I agree this jacket is glam.
12/12/07 4:12 PM
ALY said...
I think the jacket looks great. I am not a big fan of lined to the edge jackets for the very reasons you had in your review. But I bet after you step away from it for a while, you will want to wear it.
12/12/07 7:16 PM
Karen8320 said...
Clin, this really looks beautiful! Such lovely fabric and pattern. While you may not have listened to your inner voice at the beginning, your ingenuity overcome all of the obstacles you encountered - and that says a lot about how much experience you really do have!!!
12/12/07 7:42 PM
Bonnie O said...
It is very beautiful! And Congratulations for persevering and being able to salvage the jacket after your initial "haste". I can definitely relate to your feelings. Put it in the back of the closet but write yourself a note to pull it out in a month. I bet it will be like a birthday present! Or better yet, pull it out for New Year's like someone else suggested.
12/12/07 8:01 PM
marjenann said...
I know you are going to get a ton of compliments when you wear this jacket out!!! It is stunning!!!
12/12/07 8:12 PM
Nancywin said...
Well, it sounds like you made some great saves on this and you have a glamorous evening jacket! I get so irked when I pay for a pattern from a well respected company like Vogue and then end up having to either redraft or rework the the whole pattern or design. It seems like they should be "right" from the beginning. Anyway, you have a fabulous jacket now and the next one will be soooo much easier!
12/12/07 8:33 PM
Heatherrique said...
Such a dazzling jacket, Clin! It's disappointing that a pattern labeled "very easy" ends up being something else! I wonder if Vogue has ever "tested" each and every pattern before giving it a grade of "very easy" to "difficult". Thanks for your thorough review! Kudos to you for making this jacket your own!
12/12/07 9:25 PM
CarolynGM said...
Clin, your jacket is beautiful. Very easy Vogue has some nice styles, but I always ignore the Very Easy Vogue "techniques", and do things my way. Their shortcuts often fail to yield the best result. You, however, did a great job of saving this one.
12/13/07 9:45 AM
OP Gal said...
I'm sorry you're unhappy with your jacket. In the picture, it looks lovely. Maybe you'll learn to love it.
12/14/07 5:44 AM
Mahler said...
Bonjour Clin ! This is a fabulous jacket. Bravo ! It falls beatifully, the colar's shape is great and I am love with the fabric you chose. Now woner your DH thinks you look stunning it this... Congratulations for succeeding in all the alterations you made. It is a proof of you talent. I will try to remember your mother's sentence for futur rush garments ;-).
12/15/07 11:47 AM
Gold said...
Very nice!!love the fabric
1/1/08 2:06 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Burda 7798
photo
Review by Mufffet on 8/23/08
Read Review

Simplicity 1613 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1613 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8806 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8806 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4017 OOP
photo
Review by carolynw on 3/15/09
Read Review

Victory Satsuki Dress and Blouse Digital Pattern
Victory Satsuki Dress and Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Gathered Top Digital Pattern
Salme Gathered Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern
Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us