Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5512 (Lined dress and legging) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 814 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:CynthiaSue
photo
Friend of PR
About CynthiaSuestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 10/11/03
Reviews written: 80
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 108 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/15/07 3:59 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Linda G said...
Wow Beautiful dress!!
12/15/07 4:05 PM
milo1000 said...
It's not too young! You look elegant.
12/15/07 4:44 PM
marjenann said...
Trust me! You and the dress look fantastic!
12/15/07 5:01 PM
Nancywin said...
This dress looks wonderful on you and I'll be you got lots of compliments. I think we get so used to seeing ourselves in a certain style or shape of garment, that when we try a new look, we don't always like it. You look fab!
12/15/07 5:08 PM
hongkongshopper said...
I think you look really nice in the dress. The style works well for pear shapes. Maybe the style is just new to you, because you look great. (And not dressed too young)
12/15/07 5:39 PM
Judy Wentz said...
You look fabulous in this dress.
12/15/07 5:41 PM
northern nasturtium said...
Oh, I don't think that looks too young for you at all. Great party dress!
12/15/07 5:44 PM
KathleenS said...
I agree with you - the neck and the back are lovely. Maybe the pattern has potential as a top.
12/15/07 6:49 PM
Em's Summer said...
I think it looks great! I agree with those who think that you're probably not used to seeing yourself in this new silhouette, but it does work for you! Very cute dress!
12/15/07 9:13 PM
sandrasdaughter said...
I love the dress and the fabric is BEAUTIFUL!
12/15/07 10:14 PM
QueenZ said...
I second the motion of all the above comments!!!
12/15/07 10:29 PM
Dmd4106 said...
ditto the comments above for me too! Nice job
12/15/07 11:23 PM
FloraNature said...
It's gorgeous! The neckline and fabric are fabulous. It would be such a shame not to wear it again. I think it would have worked better as a dress had it just covered the knees, then the fabric would have had more weight and hung better over the hips, as well as being more of a classic dress length. However, it would make a wonderful evening top or tunic (depending on how much you shortened it) over trousers or a long skirt.
12/16/07 6:41 AM
Danvillegirl said...
This dress IMHO looks great on you. With this neck and shoulder line, it makes you shoulders appear wider thus offsetting a fuller hip area. Let me say I don't see a pear shape when looking at this. You really look great in this dress. Perhpas it is just a case of a different style than what you usually wear.
12/16/07 7:50 AM
ChristineBR said...
Ditto to all the kudos. You look fab-u-lous, dahling.
12/16/07 8:58 AM
Babs42 said...
You are nuts if you think that looks too young on you. You look gorgeous in it and I think if you have the body, any age could wear it. Beautiful!
12/16/07 9:13 AM
cmarie12 said...
It's sad that you don't like this dress because it looks great on you! And if you wanted to make it a little more elegant ~ making it in a black satiny or crepe fabric with a jeweled neckline would change it up a lot! I don't think you should get rid of the pattern just yet! :)
12/16/07 9:22 AM
ryan's mom said...
Wow! I think it looks terrific on you and not a little "too young". Very hip and fresh in fact.
12/16/07 10:22 AM
Nancy K said...
I have to disagree with you. It looks lovely on you and you have the arms and shoulders to pull it off. This calls attention to the upper body, balancing your hips. Thought I have to say, I don't see pear shaped here. Good choice of material.
12/16/07 11:22 AM
nadinec said...
I agree with absolutely everyone! If I looked that good in a dress like that, I'd wear it everywhere! Don't ditch that pattern!
12/16/07 11:23 AM
Grammy Gin said...
I don't think it looks too young on you! You look so pretty...I love the fabric & the neck & back, too!! ;-)
12/16/07 4:29 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Thanks for the input. you guys are so helpful and full of positive reinforcement for a beginner!
12/16/07 10:06 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Gutsy choice that paid off in aces!! Had you asked before you made it, I would have said, yeah, too young, but the finished product looks super on you! You're ready to go clubbing with the supermodels in that very "now" dress.
12/17/07 10:03 AM
Mahler said...
We are often bad juges for ourselves. You look great in that dress... plus I am jealous you can wear this in winter ! The fabric is beautiful, simple and chic ! One more tumb up for your dress.
12/17/07 11:22 AM
SewSewHappy said...
It's lovely and looks very, very nice on you.
12/17/07 12:08 PM
Erica B. said...
I think the dress turned out cute. I actually just made this dress for my 15 year old daughter.
12/17/07 1:21 PM
Heatherrique said...
You look star-rific! You wear this style very well! I think you should make another dress in a different fabric!
12/18/07 9:00 PM
Dei said...
I agree with all the above, this dress looks great. Beautiful shimmering color and it compliments you. It's a new silhouette that you've tried and kudos for doing that.
12/19/07 10:30 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Loes Hinse Designs 5003 Cruise Pant
photo
Review by Nancywin on 2/24/10
Read Review

McCalls 5797 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 5797 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3607 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3607 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Elizabeth Lee Sunrise Designs 302
photo
Review by JenSews2 on 6/13/06
Read Review

Sis Boom Marlo Top Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Marlo Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Tania Culottes Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Tania Culottes Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes
Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $17.65
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us