SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5941 (Pants, top, jacket and skirts)

9 more reviews
Viewed 699 times 
Reviewed by:jewelea
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About jeweleastar
TX USA
Member since: 10/19/05
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 41
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/17/07 11:08 PM
Last Updated:12/17/07 11:33 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 21 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
blue mooney said...
Very cute! The buttons add so much to the effect.
12/20/07 5:47 PM
ryan's mom said...
Mmmm...that looks like a luscious jacket! Send it my way please :) . The fabric, color, and fringing really make it a standout.
12/20/07 5:16 PM
Membear said...
I love it . You did a great job and should feel very stylish wearing it!!
12/19/07 6:51 PM
Grammy Gin said...
What a beautiful jacket! After all the work you put into it, I hope you get to wear it often ;-)
12/19/07 9:37 AM
Nancywin said...
This was a big job! I love what you did with the buttons and all the details. Very nice.
12/19/07 1:45 AM
Mahler said...
Bonjour Jewelea, I lllooovvveee your jacket ! I find it original and so tasteful ! I have no doubts that lots of hours were invested in creating ti. All those efforts were worth while, that is certain. Congratulations !
12/18/07 10:44 PM
Annette1 said...
Very pretty, indeed! I hope you get lots of wear out of your jacket. It deserves it -- ha! I'll be stealing your button idea in the future, too. :o)
12/18/07 7:30 PM
Vintage Joan said...
This is a beautiful jacket!! And the button technique is wonderful -- thanks for the inspiration.
12/18/07 4:33 PM
BJ1400 said...
Love, love your jacket. Love the button technique, & the fringe & the shawl collar, and the fabric. Looks terrific.
12/18/07 2:48 PM
Linda G said...
You did a beautiful job on the jacket. Isn't it rewarding to totally draft something different from a basic pattern?
12/18/07 1:21 PM
EleanorSews said...
Kudos! What an adventure you had, and what a great result! You had a great vision and what perserverance to make it all come true. It is a jacket you should wear often and I hope you do. It is stunning.
12/18/07 12:56 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
This is a killer jacket! When I saw the fringed welts, I sat bolt upright in my chair. I'll read your description carefully to see if I can decipher how you did it. Please wear this jacket often; mouths will pop open. -Lily
12/18/07 12:21 PM
carolynw said...
jewelea I absolutely love your jacket and went into shock when I saw the pattern you used - I have it - never used it as I didn't think it would amount to much - how very wrong!! I know you made quite a few changes but still the end result is s show stopper from a ho hum pattern!
12/18/07 9:25 AM
cecelia said...
It's a beautiful jacket. You made some very nice changes which came out well. I love the colors, and the fringe adds a lot to the jacket.
12/18/07 9:23 AM
LindsayT said...
I am so impressed with all your hard work. Nice job!
12/18/07 8:49 AM
marjenann said...
Absolute perfection!!!!
12/18/07 8:33 AM
ZeldaDC said...
Looks great - and I can see why the fabric called to you.
12/18/07 7:26 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Love the extra design touches, also love the colors of this fabric.
12/18/07 5:25 AM
LauraTS said...
What a wonderful fabric and great color, and I love the fringe details.
12/18/07 2:39 AM
Heatherrique said...
Superb detailing! I am very impressing with the colors, fringing, buttons, fit, and style!
12/18/07 2:07 AM
Karen8320 said...
Jewelea, wow, this is so lovely! All of the time you've put into it has paid off. You should be more than just pleased with how this has turned out - I am really impressed by what you've done! What lovely colouring in the fabric and using two matching buttons for effect is just perfect. The fringing really gives it a very unique look. Great work!
12/18/07 1:15 AM
xtreme1 said...
It's a lovely jacket and I am very keen on the fringing effect - looks terrific.
12/18/07 0:11 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Kayla Kennington 721

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Vogue Patterns 1116

photo
by: mhoutz

Review
TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Beginner Sewing Lab 101 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 101  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now