Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1023 (Original 1954 Design) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 712 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:leanmeansewingmachine
photo
Friend of PR
About leanmeansewingmachinestarstar
OH USA
Member since: 8/20/05
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/18/07 11:32 PM
Last Updated:1/1/08 4:33 PM


See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Linda G said...
Even if it did not work for you , I think it is beautiful, but thanks for the info on the differences on how it looks from the pattern envelope. The fabric is beautiful.
1/1/08 4:58 PM
didda said...
i think it looks much better on you than it does on the pattern envelope. but i do understand wanting the sleeves longer.
1/1/08 5:04 PM
bluenines said...
I think it looks beautiful, the welt pockets are well done!, even if you are not totaly happy with the finished jacket i think you did a beautiful job!
1/1/08 5:58 PM
nicegirl said...
I love it! I can see how you'd be disappointed in the drawing (I always am with vintage patterns--somehow the dress patterns never give me a 12 inch waist), but on its own it's a great jacket.
1/1/08 10:42 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Thank you all for the encouraging, ego-boosting words!
1/1/08 11:28 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
I think it looks great.
1/2/08 10:21 AM
Annette1 said...
What a pretty coat! Your workmanship is impeccable, and that FABRIC, I really like. I think this looks very nice on you, indeed. I've got this pattern on my to-do list, too, so your review is going to be very helpful to me.
1/2/08 12:54 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Thanks for the review -- your coat is lovely! I've been dreaming about this coat for a while, and hope to get the courage up to make it this year (I was born in '54 and just turned 54, so it seems quite fitting). I'm not nearly at the coat-making stage yet, though, so I will DEFINITELY take your "make a muslin" advice to heart! Thanks!
1/8/08 10:45 AM
Noile said...
Thanks for this review. I'm hoping to get that exaggerated look, too, when I make this jacket, so I'll learn from your experience and make a muslin. Even though yours isn't what you really wanted, it turned out beautifully.
5/30/08 4:17 PM
Ckbklady said...
Thanks for the helpful review! Beautiful sewing! I'm sorry the pattern wasn't a hit. I wonder if the quilted fabric you chose was too substantial for the coat to shape as the drawing on the envelope shows? The suggested fabrics might have a bit less heft than quilted upholstery. The envelope suggests tweed, camel hair, faille, satin and wool crepe (which really seems to run the gamut of weight and texture, eh? Puzzling.). I have a length of lightweight cashmere that I'm very nervous of cutting up. I thought this might be the right coat pattern for it, but thanks to your experience I might wait for another pattern. Vogue 8524 is possible, but so new that no one yet has reviewed it. Thank you for your advice!
9/1/08 5:04 PM
Chrissyw said...
I think the the recommended fabric list includes lining fabrics (faille) I am considering this pattern for my winter coat, but not sure it would be warm enough for my cold climate.
8/20/09 4:41 PM
NancyAnn2 said...
I had already noticed the disparity between the shape on the envelope and the shape on the dressform! I am hesitating about this one. I don't have enough material to make big changes. Hand stitching is not my best skill, either.
1/31/10 7:44 AM
Tina Rathbone said...
Sometimes, a "didn't work for me" review is even more enlightening than a rave. I now know to make a muslin out of something I already have: cord, maybe.
2/7/10 0:49 AM
Peggy L said...
Gorgeous welt pockets:) I have this cut out from way back when and am just getting around to making it. Too late for a muslin:) Hope you have enjoyed yours - it looks great.
11/17/10 11:48 AM
NancyAnn2 said...
I am just now finishing one of these jackets, a year later, and my thought is that to make it look like the picture, you need to make it very large. It needs to drape well. It is wonderful for heavy fabrics, but they need to drape. I think yours is quite lovely, though.
11/20/10 6:45 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Simplicity 4412 jacket
photo
Review by snowflake ... on 5/16/07
Read Review

Vogue 8909 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8909 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6872 Pattern
New Look 6872 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1275 Misses Top
photo
Review by NancyZL on 10/23/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Newsie Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Newsie Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Hummingbird Skirt Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Hummingbird Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us