SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1023 (Original 1954 Design)

4 more reviews
Viewed 714 times 
Reviewed by:leanmeansewingmachine
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About leanmeansewingmachinestarstar
OH USA
Member since: 8/20/05
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/18/07 11:32 PM
Last Updated:1/1/08 4:33 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
NancyAnn2 said...
I am just now finishing one of these jackets, a year later, and my thought is that to make it look like the picture, you need to make it very large. It needs to drape well. It is wonderful for heavy fabrics, but they need to drape. I think yours is quite lovely, though.
11/20/10 6:45 AM
Peggy L said...
Gorgeous welt pockets:) I have this cut out from way back when and am just getting around to making it. Too late for a muslin:) Hope you have enjoyed yours - it looks great.
11/17/10 11:48 AM
Tina Rathbone said...
Sometimes, a "didn't work for me" review is even more enlightening than a rave. I now know to make a muslin out of something I already have: cord, maybe.
2/7/10 0:49 AM
NancyAnn2 said...
I had already noticed the disparity between the shape on the envelope and the shape on the dressform! I am hesitating about this one. I don't have enough material to make big changes. Hand stitching is not my best skill, either.
1/31/10 7:44 AM
Chrissyw said...
I think the the recommended fabric list includes lining fabrics (faille) I am considering this pattern for my winter coat, but not sure it would be warm enough for my cold climate.
8/20/09 4:41 PM
Ckbklady said...
Thanks for the helpful review! Beautiful sewing! I'm sorry the pattern wasn't a hit. I wonder if the quilted fabric you chose was too substantial for the coat to shape as the drawing on the envelope shows? The suggested fabrics might have a bit less heft than quilted upholstery. The envelope suggests tweed, camel hair, faille, satin and wool crepe (which really seems to run the gamut of weight and texture, eh? Puzzling.). I have a length of lightweight cashmere that I'm very nervous of cutting up. I thought this might be the right coat pattern for it, but thanks to your experience I might wait for another pattern. Vogue 8524 is possible, but so new that no one yet has reviewed it. Thank you for your advice!
9/1/08 5:04 PM
Noile said...
Thanks for this review. I'm hoping to get that exaggerated look, too, when I make this jacket, so I'll learn from your experience and make a muslin. Even though yours isn't what you really wanted, it turned out beautifully.
5/30/08 4:17 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Thanks for the review -- your coat is lovely! I've been dreaming about this coat for a while, and hope to get the courage up to make it this year (I was born in '54 and just turned 54, so it seems quite fitting). I'm not nearly at the coat-making stage yet, though, so I will DEFINITELY take your "make a muslin" advice to heart! Thanks!
1/8/08 10:45 AM
Annette1 said...
What a pretty coat! Your workmanship is impeccable, and that FABRIC, I really like. I think this looks very nice on you, indeed. I've got this pattern on my to-do list, too, so your review is going to be very helpful to me.
1/2/08 12:54 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
I think it looks great.
1/2/08 10:21 AM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Thank you all for the encouraging, ego-boosting words!
1/1/08 11:28 PM
nicegirl said...
I love it! I can see how you'd be disappointed in the drawing (I always am with vintage patterns--somehow the dress patterns never give me a 12 inch waist), but on its own it's a great jacket.
1/1/08 10:42 PM
bluenines said...
I think it looks beautiful, the welt pockets are well done!, even if you are not totaly happy with the finished jacket i think you did a beautiful job!
1/1/08 5:58 PM
didda said...
i think it looks much better on you than it does on the pattern envelope. but i do understand wanting the sleeves longer.
1/1/08 5:04 PM
Linda G said...
Even if it did not work for you , I think it is beautiful, but thanks for the info on the differences on how it looks from the pattern envelope. The fabric is beautiful.
1/1/08 4:58 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern 222944-1000

photo
by: vanessamak...

Review
Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

More Info
Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern

More Info
Kwik Sew 3463

photo
by: Sue Parrot...

Review