SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 09-2007-104 

8 more reviews
Viewed 1589 times 
Reviewed by:jaeng
photo

 
 
About jaengstar
NJ USA
Member since: 3/8/06
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/19/07 9:28 PM
Last Updated:12/19/07 10:06 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 26 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
64 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Heatherrique said...
Very alluring coat! Wonderfully made!
12/19/07 9:38 PM
Cowtown Karen said...
This is fabulous!
12/19/07 9:51 PM
Re Becca said...
Wow, drafted collar and bound buttonholes! Time for you to upgrade your skill level. Thanks for sharing.
12/19/07 9:53 PM
Dei said...
First, change your sewing skills rating, please. Intermediate at the least. Gorgeous coat and beautifully sewn. Saw some of your other items and I love the burda top and vogue dress also.
12/19/07 10:00 PM
sewbehind said...
Love the collar details! I think you got pretty close to the Burberry coat. Great job.
12/19/07 10:18 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Wow! The details are incredible. I was blown away by the first picture, and even more so once I clicked on the back view, etc. You must feel so good wearing this!
12/19/07 10:33 PM
HeyJane said...
Jaeng, that collar is amazing. I love the coat, it's just beautiful. All your work is so excellent, you must drop the beginner.
12/19/07 10:38 PM
Lori V said...
This coat is incredible.
12/19/07 10:51 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
It's the most stunning coat I've ever seen and it puts the Burberry coat to shame. The color is luscious; so much better than the original oatmeat. The details are to die for! Fabulous job!!!! Love it! Take a bow.
12/19/07 10:56 PM
Josephine said...
Wow! Jaw-droppingly beautiful coat!
12/19/07 11:06 PM
ChristineX said...
This is beautiful! How wonderful for a first coat!
12/19/07 11:13 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous !!!
12/19/07 11:19 PM
Tom P said...
What a nice coat! And I love the color, too. There are waaay too many grey and black coats out there.
12/19/07 11:32 PM
Erica B. said...
That coat is absolutely gorgeous. It's a perfect replica of the Burberry Prorsum!
12/19/07 11:32 PM
Vintage Joan said...
This is gorgeous!! But I agree with the others that you really need to change your level. Your profile says you sewed for a designer for a year and have taken patternmaking courses; advanced beginners (like me) aren't anywhere near that skill or experience level -- we're still learning how to make basic fitting adjustments. Like someone else said, intermediate at least -- probably higher.
12/20/07 0:16 AM
PegL said...
Gorgeous coat! Love the color! Another vote for changing your skill level a notch or three!
12/20/07 0:54 AM
Lisa Merry said...
Wow, so impressive!!
12/20/07 0:57 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
I love all the details you put into this coat. I looked at your photograph before reading the review and wondered how I could have missed this amazing coat in my BWOF mags. You did a great job transforming the pattern to your inspiration picture. Yes it really does look like the Burberry coat, but I prefer your colour!
12/20/07 1:11 AM
Linda G said...
Your coat is absolutely beautiful. Your construction is top notch. For some reason I can't open the link to the designer coat that you copied. I will have to come back to this lreview a little later and take a look. I want your coat!!!!!!
12/20/07 3:59 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Cute,trendy and an amazing color to boot! Winner in my book. Great job on the detailing. The cuffs are my fav.
12/20/07 4:04 AM
babsi1111 said...
This coat is absolutely gorgeous. Like some others I wondered how I could have missed such a beautiful BWOF pattern, but when I saw, that you added all the wonderful style changes, everything was clear. Congratulations to this stunning piece! You should really update your skill level.
12/20/07 4:24 AM
xtreme1 said...
Amazing this is your first coat. Looks wonderful.
12/20/07 4:40 AM
Sigrid. said...
WOW, this is an awesome coat, really wonderful how you changed the pattern to your liking and to imitate the Burberry one. Great job.
12/20/07 5:38 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Wow, fabulous!
12/20/07 6:46 AM
marjenann said...
Wow, that is one spectacular coat! As lovely as the designer original!
12/20/07 7:21 AM
juchal said...
Alli in Hong Kong (above) said exactly what I wanted to say.
12/20/07 7:51 AM
cindyann said...
That coat is fab! You are gonna look so chic in it! I love, love the collar. Could you tell a little more about it's construction and drafting? I don't have Mrs Stylebook.
12/20/07 7:56 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Superb! I would love to be able to put such detail and thought into a pattern like you. Definitely upgrade your skill level! Gorgeous.
12/20/07 8:05 AM
MissCelie said...
Ummm. Dude. My jaw literally dropped open at the back view. I AM 100 PERCENT IN LOVE WITH THIS COAT. I am running upstairs right now to see if I have MSB 146. RIGHT NOW.
12/20/07 8:07 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Jaeng- the coat is fabulous! Awsome,awsome - just great!
12/20/07 8:27 AM
cecelia said...
Advanced beginner--you have to be joking!! Please kick yourself up a couple notches to advanced. You made one very stunning coat!
12/20/07 8:41 AM
Nancy K said...
Advance4d beginner? I don't thinks so. This is so beautifully made I'd definitely upgrade your skill leval. Just a wonderful coat.
12/20/07 10:06 AM
Karine said...
Wow! That is one beautiful coat. I've seen your Burberry inspiration coat in real life and admired it. The details on your coat are fabulous - collar, cuffs, back. I think you need to upgrade your sewing skill level - you're far beyond an advanced beginner!
12/20/07 10:13 AM
sandrasdaughter said...
wow - this is beautiful.
12/20/07 10:48 AM
SewSewHappy said...
I ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT! FANTASTIC JOB!
12/20/07 10:54 AM
cindy-lou said...
jaeng, I almost cried when I saw what a gorgeus coat you made with Kashi's wool-- it is SOOOO beautiful!! I am in awe of your talent and wish you lived next door, so you could help me with my red wool coat. Please, send Kashi a picture of your coat at http://metrotextile.blogspot.com/. He will love it! And: the others are right-- you are an Intermediate or Advanced sewer, my friend!!!
12/20/07 10:57 AM
LindsayT said...
This coat is such an inspiration. Please tell me you wear it all the time.
12/20/07 11:08 AM
jaeng said...
Hi everyone, thank you so much for such wonderful comments, you are too kind. I changed my sewing skills to intermediate as you recommended. Cindyann asked for the how to on collar drafting so I made a semi how to. I hope I did not break the copyright law badly. But if you think it is not alright , I will pull it out. The question is where do the people post the how to, in this review?
12/20/07 11:22 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
WOW !! Absolutely FAB coat, what a beautiful inspiration. Gorgeous fabric. I know you will tresure it for years to come.
12/20/07 12:09 PM
So So said...
Totally agree with everyone here! What a fantastic coat. So inspirational! Yeah i wondered if I to had missed this pattern! You could always start your own line! your other designs are fab too. Love you rraincoat! you should do the "knock off contest next year".
12/20/07 1:54 PM
AnitaJ said...
Awesome coat! Love the details!
12/20/07 3:15 PM
avancleve said...
I think it looks better than the Burberry coat! Well done. Love the color
12/20/07 5:40 PM
Kay Y said...
I love how you tackled this complicated project so fearlessly, and how it turned out. Beautifully done! The other coat on your blog is also just wonderful - keep it up!
12/20/07 7:09 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
So you want to know if it looks like the Burberry coat? Yes! Does it look even better? Absolutely! Is it fabulous? Oh, yes, yes, yes! I love the color, too! Wear your gorgeous coat proudly!
12/20/07 7:22 PM
Catbird said...
This coat is totally AMAZING and I want one! I'm just stunned by the beautiful design details -- in my opinion, Burda should buy your pattern for a future issue. The link to the photo of the Burberry inspiration coat didn't work for me, but it sounds like you far surpassed it anyway. Congratulations on a job superbly done.
12/20/07 8:22 PM
svenskaflicka said...
Truly inspiring. This is why I sew—to have a couture-looking one-of-a-kind garment. Maybe someday I'll have the skills to pull it off as well as you have. The details make it, and your fabric choice is so much better than the Burberry.
12/20/07 9:28 PM
Boo97 said...
Jaeng, your coat is absolutely beautiful!!!
12/20/07 10:05 PM
Karen said...
Very nicely done. Looks fabulous.
12/21/07 1:24 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
I love it too!!!!:-) Marita
12/21/07 2:15 AM
Tez said...
Amazing coat! It's just beautiful.
12/21/07 4:31 AM
Marji said...
Bravo!
12/21/07 4:41 AM
OP Gal said...
Wow! Amazing coat. I love the collar details. Congratulations on a well executed project.
12/21/07 8:13 AM
Ann B. said...
Wow, what a beautiful coat. The sleeve redesign is a knockout, but I really like the new collar and back. I'm thinking that the gently gathered back eased into the tabbed yoke was your design also. Just beautiful!
12/21/07 8:16 AM
Deepika said...
Love the coat. The color is lovely too!
12/21/07 11:55 AM
CSY said...
In a word, Beautiful.
12/21/07 12:22 PM
Avril said...
I Love, love, love your coat!
12/21/07 12:27 PM
cmarie12 said...
I am sorry that I just saw your review on this lovely coat! It is fantastic. Love the color. Love the details. Love how you took a pattern, interpreted it and made it yours! Just love it!
12/22/07 0:15 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
That's a fabulous ultra chic coat. I love the color and the beautiful details.
12/22/07 1:35 AM
Olivia Sews said...
You have alot of talent! Should be on project runway! Stunning coat!!
12/22/07 5:27 PM
Membear said...
thats fantastic I think you can upgrade your skill level!!!
12/23/07 8:07 PM
007gurl said...
I love this coat. You did a fabulos job. Wow!
12/29/07 11:49 PM
KathleenS said...
Amazing.
1/21/08 4:43 AM
Peggy L said...
Gorgeous coat. I agree with the others - time to upgrade!
2/26/08 8:15 PM
gattidog said...
Ohh, this is so darling! I wish you cold provide us with a real pattern! I need to learn to change patterns and use my imagination as much as you do! So-o-o cute!
4/2/08 8:56 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Japanese Pattern Books Drape Drape 2:Top #4

photo
by: sandramary

Review
You Sew Girl Panel Bag

You Sew Girl Panel Bag

Buy Now
Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Buy Now