Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 09-2007-104 thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1588 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 26 people   
Reviewed by:jaeng
photo
About jaengstar
NJ USA
Member since: 3/8/06
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/19/07 9:28 PM
Last Updated:12/19/07 10:06 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
64 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Heatherrique said...
Very alluring coat! Wonderfully made!
12/19/07 9:38 PM
Cowtown Karen said...
This is fabulous!
12/19/07 9:51 PM
Re Becca said...
Wow, drafted collar and bound buttonholes! Time for you to upgrade your skill level. Thanks for sharing.
12/19/07 9:53 PM
Dei said...
First, change your sewing skills rating, please. Intermediate at the least. Gorgeous coat and beautifully sewn. Saw some of your other items and I love the burda top and vogue dress also.
12/19/07 10:00 PM
sewbehind said...
Love the collar details! I think you got pretty close to the Burberry coat. Great job.
12/19/07 10:18 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Wow! The details are incredible. I was blown away by the first picture, and even more so once I clicked on the back view, etc. You must feel so good wearing this!
12/19/07 10:33 PM
HeyJane said...
Jaeng, that collar is amazing. I love the coat, it's just beautiful. All your work is so excellent, you must drop the beginner.
12/19/07 10:38 PM
Lori V said...
This coat is incredible.
12/19/07 10:51 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
It's the most stunning coat I've ever seen and it puts the Burberry coat to shame. The color is luscious; so much better than the original oatmeat. The details are to die for! Fabulous job!!!! Love it! Take a bow.
12/19/07 10:56 PM
Josephine said...
Wow! Jaw-droppingly beautiful coat!
12/19/07 11:06 PM
ChristineX said...
This is beautiful! How wonderful for a first coat!
12/19/07 11:13 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous !!!
12/19/07 11:19 PM
Tom P said...
What a nice coat! And I love the color, too. There are waaay too many grey and black coats out there.
12/19/07 11:32 PM
Erica B. said...
That coat is absolutely gorgeous. It's a perfect replica of the Burberry Prorsum!
12/19/07 11:32 PM
Vintage Joan said...
This is gorgeous!! But I agree with the others that you really need to change your level. Your profile says you sewed for a designer for a year and have taken patternmaking courses; advanced beginners (like me) aren't anywhere near that skill or experience level -- we're still learning how to make basic fitting adjustments. Like someone else said, intermediate at least -- probably higher.
12/20/07 0:16 AM
PegL said...
Gorgeous coat! Love the color! Another vote for changing your skill level a notch or three!
12/20/07 0:54 AM
Lisa Merry said...
Wow, so impressive!!
12/20/07 0:57 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
I love all the details you put into this coat. I looked at your photograph before reading the review and wondered how I could have missed this amazing coat in my BWOF mags. You did a great job transforming the pattern to your inspiration picture. Yes it really does look like the Burberry coat, but I prefer your colour!
12/20/07 1:11 AM
Linda G said...
Your coat is absolutely beautiful. Your construction is top notch. For some reason I can't open the link to the designer coat that you copied. I will have to come back to this lreview a little later and take a look. I want your coat!!!!!!
12/20/07 3:59 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Cute,trendy and an amazing color to boot! Winner in my book. Great job on the detailing. The cuffs are my fav.
12/20/07 4:04 AM
babsi1111 said...
This coat is absolutely gorgeous. Like some others I wondered how I could have missed such a beautiful BWOF pattern, but when I saw, that you added all the wonderful style changes, everything was clear. Congratulations to this stunning piece! You should really update your skill level.
12/20/07 4:24 AM
xtreme1 said...
Amazing this is your first coat. Looks wonderful.
12/20/07 4:40 AM
Sigrid. said...
WOW, this is an awesome coat, really wonderful how you changed the pattern to your liking and to imitate the Burberry one. Great job.
12/20/07 5:38 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Wow, fabulous!
12/20/07 6:46 AM
marjenann said...
Wow, that is one spectacular coat! As lovely as the designer original!
12/20/07 7:21 AM
juchal said...
Alli in Hong Kong (above) said exactly what I wanted to say.
12/20/07 7:51 AM
cindyann said...
That coat is fab! You are gonna look so chic in it! I love, love the collar. Could you tell a little more about it's construction and drafting? I don't have Mrs Stylebook.
12/20/07 7:56 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Superb! I would love to be able to put such detail and thought into a pattern like you. Definitely upgrade your skill level! Gorgeous.
12/20/07 8:05 AM
MissCelie said...
Ummm. Dude. My jaw literally dropped open at the back view. I AM 100 PERCENT IN LOVE WITH THIS COAT. I am running upstairs right now to see if I have MSB 146. RIGHT NOW.
12/20/07 8:07 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Jaeng- the coat is fabulous! Awsome,awsome - just great!
12/20/07 8:27 AM
cecelia said...
Advanced beginner--you have to be joking!! Please kick yourself up a couple notches to advanced. You made one very stunning coat!
12/20/07 8:41 AM
Nancy K said...
Advance4d beginner? I don't thinks so. This is so beautifully made I'd definitely upgrade your skill leval. Just a wonderful coat.
12/20/07 10:06 AM
Karine said...
Wow! That is one beautiful coat. I've seen your Burberry inspiration coat in real life and admired it. The details on your coat are fabulous - collar, cuffs, back. I think you need to upgrade your sewing skill level - you're far beyond an advanced beginner!
12/20/07 10:13 AM
sandrasdaughter said...
wow - this is beautiful.
12/20/07 10:48 AM
SewSewHappy said...
I ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT! FANTASTIC JOB!
12/20/07 10:54 AM
cindy-lou said...
jaeng, I almost cried when I saw what a gorgeus coat you made with Kashi's wool-- it is SOOOO beautiful!! I am in awe of your talent and wish you lived next door, so you could help me with my red wool coat. Please, send Kashi a picture of your coat at http://metrotextile.blogspot.com/. He will love it! And: the others are right-- you are an Intermediate or Advanced sewer, my friend!!!
12/20/07 10:57 AM
LindsayT said...
This coat is such an inspiration. Please tell me you wear it all the time.
12/20/07 11:08 AM
jaeng said...
Hi everyone, thank you so much for such wonderful comments, you are too kind. I changed my sewing skills to intermediate as you recommended. Cindyann asked for the how to on collar drafting so I made a semi how to. I hope I did not break the copyright law badly. But if you think it is not alright , I will pull it out. The question is where do the people post the how to, in this review?
12/20/07 11:22 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
WOW !! Absolutely FAB coat, what a beautiful inspiration. Gorgeous fabric. I know you will tresure it for years to come.
12/20/07 12:09 PM
So So said...
Totally agree with everyone here! What a fantastic coat. So inspirational! Yeah i wondered if I to had missed this pattern! You could always start your own line! your other designs are fab too. Love you rraincoat! you should do the "knock off contest next year".
12/20/07 1:54 PM
AnitaJ said...
Awesome coat! Love the details!
12/20/07 3:15 PM
avancleve said...
I think it looks better than the Burberry coat! Well done. Love the color
12/20/07 5:40 PM
Kay Y said...
I love how you tackled this complicated project so fearlessly, and how it turned out. Beautifully done! The other coat on your blog is also just wonderful - keep it up!
12/20/07 7:09 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
So you want to know if it looks like the Burberry coat? Yes! Does it look even better? Absolutely! Is it fabulous? Oh, yes, yes, yes! I love the color, too! Wear your gorgeous coat proudly!
12/20/07 7:22 PM
Catbird said...
This coat is totally AMAZING and I want one! I'm just stunned by the beautiful design details -- in my opinion, Burda should buy your pattern for a future issue. The link to the photo of the Burberry inspiration coat didn't work for me, but it sounds like you far surpassed it anyway. Congratulations on a job superbly done.
12/20/07 8:22 PM
svenskaflicka said...
Truly inspiring. This is why I sew—to have a couture-looking one-of-a-kind garment. Maybe someday I'll have the skills to pull it off as well as you have. The details make it, and your fabric choice is so much better than the Burberry.
12/20/07 9:28 PM
Boo97 said...
Jaeng, your coat is absolutely beautiful!!!
12/20/07 10:05 PM
Karen said...
Very nicely done. Looks fabulous.
12/21/07 1:24 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
I love it too!!!!:-) Marita
12/21/07 2:15 AM
Tez said...
Amazing coat! It's just beautiful.
12/21/07 4:31 AM
Marji said...
Bravo!
12/21/07 4:41 AM
OP Gal said...
Wow! Amazing coat. I love the collar details. Congratulations on a well executed project.
12/21/07 8:13 AM
Ann B. said...
Wow, what a beautiful coat. The sleeve redesign is a knockout, but I really like the new collar and back. I'm thinking that the gently gathered back eased into the tabbed yoke was your design also. Just beautiful!
12/21/07 8:16 AM
Deepika said...
Love the coat. The color is lovely too!
12/21/07 11:55 AM
CSY said...
In a word, Beautiful.
12/21/07 12:22 PM
Avril said...
I Love, love, love your coat!
12/21/07 12:27 PM
cmarie12 said...
I am sorry that I just saw your review on this lovely coat! It is fantastic. Love the color. Love the details. Love how you took a pattern, interpreted it and made it yours! Just love it!
12/22/07 0:15 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
That's a fabulous ultra chic coat. I love the color and the beautiful details.
12/22/07 1:35 AM
Olivia Sews said...
You have alot of talent! Should be on project runway! Stunning coat!!
12/22/07 5:27 PM
Membear said...
thats fantastic I think you can upgrade your skill level!!!
12/23/07 8:07 PM
007gurl said...
I love this coat. You did a fabulos job. Wow!
12/29/07 11:49 PM
KathleenS said...
Amazing.
1/21/08 4:43 AM
Peggy L said...
Gorgeous coat. I agree with the others - time to upgrade!
2/26/08 8:15 PM
gattidog said...
Ohh, this is so darling! I wish you cold provide us with a real pattern! I need to learn to change patterns and use my imagination as much as you do! So-o-o cute!
4/2/08 8:56 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Simplicity 5581
photo
Review by Larisa on 6/26/13
Read Review

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )
Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7364 COORDINATES
photo
Review by nickelc624 on 6/22/13
Read Review

Simplicity 1900 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1900 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6960 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6960 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us