Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: B4087 (1950's Vintage Apron) - Type:Easy to Sew    printable version
Viewed 603 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:neither
photo
About neitherstar
USA
Member since: 12/7/06
UnVerified member
Reviews written: 28
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/22/07 9:57 AM
Last Updated:9/25/08 2:40 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Linda Mae said...
Love your apron! I had a smile on my face reading your notes on it. I well remember "Leave it to Beaver". My mother wore aprons all the time but never with heels and pearls! My friend and I just turned 60 this year and we have started making aprons.--not to be "June", but because we get sloppier as we age! Decided we need aprons now to help with our messiness and protect our clothing!
12/22/07 12:04 PM
neither said...
My wife turns 65 next year, and has always worn aprons that I make for her when she is cooking in the kitchen. She can't imagine doing any cooking without one on. This one is seldom used except when she wants to surprise someone. It is always good for a laugh.
12/22/07 1:14 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Cute apron. I have always enjoyed wearing an apron. Not long ago, I bought a grab bag at an estate sale for $1. In that bag, among other nice items, were several vintage aprons in great condiiton. I have truly enjoyed wearing each one, too. Great gift for your wife!
12/22/07 1:18 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice apron
12/23/07 4:31 PM
Nancy Anne said...
Beautiful apron! I've made several similar to this- great idea about the reinforcement strap in the back. I've not been able to figure out how to combat that, and my straps keep sliding down. (I actually LIKE wearing aprons like this!.)
9/25/08 7:14 PM
diningroomseamstress said...
Love that you and your wife like giving each other gag gifts that have usefulness too. Now, as for me, I would use it when slaving over a Sunday dinner of fried chicken and mashed potatoes. :-)
9/25/08 8:18 PM
neither said...
Knanna, I have a great story about gift giving. We have an Airedale Dog that is a child substitute. We dote on her and have a lot of small items that are airedale oriented around the house. pictures, calendars, ect. One Christmas I was at the mall came upon a store that sold Socks with Airedales printed on them I bought a pair as a gift for my wife. My wife came upon the same store and in the course of shopping was talking to the sales person and the salesperson mentioned that a man had just bought a pair for his wife. My wife figured out that it was probably me so she bought a pair and the wrapped them up and placed them under the tree. Christmas morning came and I insisted she open these socks first so as to see her delight. She did and then she handed me her gift, I opened the wrapping and to my surprise, here was the same set of socks. We had a big laugh and now she is the proud possessor of 2 pairs of Airedale socks, as the socks in question are a little outside of my fashion choice range. John
9/26/08 6:06 AM
veronicagoth said...
Oh my goodness how did you make it?? It's gorgeous and perfect.
12/20/08 2:38 PM
neither said...
veronicagoth, It is Butterick 4087. Pretty easy as patterns go. The gathering at the waist and shoulders is the only thing that might give beginners a little trouble, but not enough to sway them from not trying. John
12/21/08 8:06 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

McCall's 2101
photo
Review by cecelia on 5/30/06
Read Review

Vogue 1399 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1399 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 3370 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 3370 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6221 (Vintage)
photo
Review by XandraReyn... on 7/29/07
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Ben & Mia Pants Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Ben & Mia Pants Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Hopscotch Top, Tunic, and Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Hopscotch Top, Tunic, and Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 151 Pattern
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Candice
Candice

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us