SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Ottobre Woman Magazine> 02-2007-14 (Jeans)

4 more reviews
Viewed 887 times 
Reviewed by:JuliaS
photo

 
 
About JuliaSstarstarstar
UT USA
Member since: 3/29/04
Reviews written: 66
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 65
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/28/07 3:08 PM
Last Updated:12/28/07 3:10 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ejvc said...
Hi Julia, This is an excellent review - I am doing an Ottobre pattern right now and may end up making some of the same changes you did since I have the same fitting issues. Regarding the back yoke, in "Pants for real people" they recommend taking a dart out of the jeans yoke pattern (ie recutting it with the darted fabric omitted) instead of just a CB dart. I took a CB dart and took in the side seams - we'll see how that works. Thank you for the Burda recommendations.
3/14/08 4:59 AM
susinok said...
We have the same challenges in pants alterations, so I am going to have to give this pattern a try. Thanks for the detailed review. The cord pant looks great!
3/7/08 7:41 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
I think you've done a fabulous job. I agree the Burda fit is a tad better, it's always the quest to find the *perfect* one - you're so close, but do wear these pants, they are cute and look really great on you (RTW can fit soooo much worse). And don't you just love dealing with the sway back/bubble bum thing - uggggg, I totally feel your pain!!!!!
12/31/07 11:04 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Flatterng fit! I think you love sewing jeans patterns....lol ;-)
12/30/07 3:43 PM
bananaoil said...
Thanks for the picture of the alteration you made for full front thighs. I've fallen in love with the Ottobre Woman stuff but have been putting off running the "ultimate test"---pants. Think I'll go start that now.
12/29/07 4:04 PM
SewLil said...
Okay, when I first saw the pic I thought you were reviewing the top. That's how well made the pants look, like RTW. I've never attempted to make a jeans pattern. From your pics I'd say the Burda looks better but these look great too.
12/29/07 12:37 PM
AnnieBananie said...
I have the same fitting issues as you so I am hoping that you'll find the perfect pattern!! In the meantime, I'm going to look for a copy of Power Sewing. Thanks for the review!
12/29/07 9:22 AM
ryansmumAria said...
I looked through your pictures and you are truly a wonderful creative designer/seamstress who has taken sewing to a professional level. Now please tell me how you manage to find time to sew with a job and baby? Do you cut back on sleep time?
12/29/07 9:20 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I am not sure I should make any comments since I have never attempted jean sewing. The only pants I have made are pull on and they are not to hard to mess up. Both jeans look good at the waist area, better on the Burda. I think you need more length in the back at the crotch area, not much. Too me that would give a better look. Again this is my 2 cents worth and I am sure others who have made pants/jeans can better advise. I admire your desire to make good fitting jeans. I like the decorative stitching on the pockets, nice touch.
12/29/07 7:37 AM
ooeygooey said...
double post
12/29/07 1:22 AM
ooeygooey said...
I think some of the fit issues you have on the back are a result of your alterations. By taking a CB "dart", you create the "wiskers" under your tush. I would try the pattern again, but instead of doing your standard back alterations, try using one size for your hip measurement and blend into the size that best matches your waist -- or at least get close to your waist size and then make a smaller back alteration. I would only recommend this with Ottobre, because the patterns are so well drafted to begin with. Might be worth a try, just to see if you get that perfect pant!
12/29/07 0:29 AM
Lori V said...
Cute pants, I like your tone-on-tone embroidery. I agree with RMJ, I like the Burda ones a bit better.
12/28/07 11:16 PM
suzanrossi said...
Nice! Cute behind, too, with both styles.
12/28/07 10:45 PM
marjenann said...
Sensational pants! You look terrific!
12/28/07 6:46 PM
RMJ said...
I think these fit well - I'd be ecstatic if I made jeans that looked this good. But since you asked for opinions, I think the Burda fits a little bit better - less extra fabric just under the rear.
12/28/07 6:35 PM
Sic said...
Cute pants - I really like the fit and the back pockets look RTW!
12/28/07 6:01 PM
bluenines said...
great looking pants
12/28/07 3:51 PM
Seaspur said...
I think they look pretty darn good! I'm going to have to try an Ottobre pants pattern soon. Nice job.
12/28/07 3:42 PM
rivergum said...
You look great in these jeans. What a superb job! I think I need to look into getting hold of an Ottobre mag, it seems to be well worth the trouble.
12/28/07 3:40 PM
cecelia said...
Well, they look like they fit pretty well to me. The embroidery is very nice on the pocket. Thanks for a good review!
12/28/07 3:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Japanese Pattern Books Happy Homemade Vol 1

photo
by: ajhewing

Review
Vogue Patterns 1261

photo
by: Byrdie

Review
Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Buy Now