SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5145 (Misses Coat)

23 more reviews
Viewed 1101 times 
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 191
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 169 people
patterns reviewed: 189
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/28/07 6:10 PM
Last Updated:12/30/07 1:38 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JoJoMac said...
Adorable "muslin"! I always enjoy your reviews because they are entertaining and thorough. Keep up the great work! I will be making this jacket in a lighter, Florida-friendly version. :)
10/28/10 7:46 AM
ladybirdlove said...
Thanks for your update! I had decided to leave off the back detail on my version also, but yours looks so cute with it added that I changed my mind! And thanks for the links!
7/29/08 11:42 AM
MichelleE said...
I just read your review today, been working on this pattern. I have to laugh because I thought the same thing about the lining instructions for the sleeves. I don't hand sew if I can help it! Jacket looks great!
1/7/08 12:08 PM
babsi1111 said...
Hi cabinbaby, thank you very much for your answer about my lining question. You are right, it really sounds a bit weird what Butterick suggests about the lining and I'm still not sure how I want to solve that problem on my coat. Barbara
1/2/08 12:14 PM
Sheila457 said...
You did a fabulous job and actually like the poop brown..lol
12/30/07 4:46 PM
loohoo44 said...
cute! very helpful review, too.
12/30/07 11:42 AM
Kellie R. said...
Very nice and classic design! It turned out well!
12/30/07 11:03 AM
cabinbaby said...
babsi1111, The lining pleat is kind of strange. The lining and wool are both seperate with pleats in them and they are joined at the bottom. So the lining pleat part is not really inside the other pleat. YKWIM? It is kind of like having two seperate layers each with a pleat in in it. I'm not sure if it is something strange I did or some weird quirk with the pattern. I really had to press is well because the pleated lining almost acts as a little petticoat in the back. RuthieK, The pattern calls for shoulder pads which I omitted. I have not sewn up the side seam so I will get some and see how they look. Sewiong them in would be difficult at this point but I think I could do it if I liked them. I just hate the puffy-shouldered 80s look.
12/30/07 10:36 AM
marjenann said...
Very classy coat!!! You wear it extremely well!
12/30/07 9:45 AM
RuthieSews said...
Smart coat. Does it have shoulder pads? And if not would you consider adding them - I think it might help the whole coat hang better. It does bug me how poor instructions are for linings generally in sewing patterns. I bagged my first lining by machine last year and its soo o much better than the wretched hand sewn ones.
12/29/07 9:09 AM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
This coat looks great on you! I can't wait to see it with the buttons.
12/29/07 9:02 AM
Kitty Couture said...
That sure is a great coat! It looks professionally made. Great lines and details.
12/29/07 6:51 AM
babsi1111 said...
I really like your coat. It's a pattern with wonderful style lines and details. Congratulations to your new wardrobe piece! As I'm making a coat from Patrones at the moment, which has very similar style lines, I'm interested to know, how you lined your coat in the back. Did you cut the lining with or without the pleat and did you let the lining hang loosely or did you join it with the bottom hem. Thanks Barbara
12/29/07 4:38 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Lovely coat - I have this pattern in my stack - hopefully I'll get to it sooner than later!
12/29/07 0:05 AM
Lori V said...
Great coat, I love the lines.
12/28/07 11:23 PM
gaby said...
Very nice job! I've been eyeing this pattern, now I'm convinced I must add to my stash!
12/28/07 9:12 PM
michellep74 said...
I really like your coat. I hadn't noticed this pattern before, but I may need to add it to my stash. ;)
12/28/07 8:20 PM
suzanrossi said...
I like thelines of this coat. Checked out your website, too. We used slings years ago with our daughters - they are wonderful.
12/28/07 7:40 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
I really like the design of this coat very much. I also love the pockets. Thanks for the great tutorial links and very informative review. You did a great job. What a cutie you have to hold his mommy's hand, too!
12/28/07 6:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Popolok Design Popolok design:LuLu dress

photo
by: KateS

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2013-128

photo
by: valerie se...

Review
Veronica Pocketbook

Veronica Pocketbook

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Buy Now