SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5039 (Laura Ashley Dress)

16 more reviews
Viewed 797 times 
Reviewed by:Vintage Joan
photo

 
 
About Vintage Joanstar
ON Canada
Member since: 7/16/07
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/29/07 1:33 AM
Last Updated:12/29/07 1:33 AM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kitty Couture said...
Pretty dress! It would be lovely to see it worn, so that we could appreciate the way it fits and falls. What a beautiful gift for your daughter.
12/29/07 6:50 AM
swing like a girl said...
Very cute.
12/29/07 9:23 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Isabelle, I agree! My daughter doesn't like having her picture taken (at least not by me!), so I won't force her. Also, she was out when I finished it. Thanks for your nice compliments! :)
12/29/07 9:25 AM
carolynw said...
Very pretty dress!!
12/29/07 10:10 AM
Tiner W said...
What a sweet dress!
12/29/07 11:12 AM
CynthiaSue said...
this is lovely. I have the pattern. thanks for the review. The sleeve detail looks perfect!
12/29/07 5:34 PM
Annette1 said...
SO pretty! I have to say my favorite part is those sleeves, too, with the little binding on there. And your FABRIC is so unique, I love it. Maybe I'm related to your daughter is some other life, because I hate having my picture taken too. :o) I know she looks beautiful in it though.
1/2/08 0:35 AM
AnneM said...
Very nice. I expect she feels like a million bucks in it.
1/2/08 7:41 PM
Melanie M. said...
I agree w/JoanN58. This dress was very easy to make. I hadn't sewed in 20 years..about 2 months ago made two regency period (supposedly simple lol) dresses, and they were a bit difficult. They didn't fit quite right. I attempted this McCalls dress for a nice addition to my daughters' "Pride and Prejiduce" era dresses and I was Pleasantly suprised how easy it was. I actually made it, including cutting fabric, in 1 day. Wow! I won't hesitate to make a few more.
4/17/08 11:30 AM
neverenoughtime said...
Thanks for the nice sleeve photo & comments on checking under bust measure.
8/22/08 8:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Simplicity 5338

photo
by: SewEccentr...

Review
Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes

Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes

Buy Now
The Essential Tote

The Essential Tote

Buy Now
Butterick 5638

photo
by: ggf2005

Review