SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5039 (Laura Ashley Dress)

16 more reviews
Viewed 797 times 
Reviewed by:Vintage Joan
photo

 
 
About Vintage Joanstar
ON Canada
Member since: 7/16/07
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/29/07 1:33 AM
Last Updated:12/29/07 1:33 AM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kitty Couture said...
Pretty dress! It would be lovely to see it worn, so that we could appreciate the way it fits and falls. What a beautiful gift for your daughter.
12/29/07 6:50 AM
swing like a girl said...
Very cute.
12/29/07 9:23 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Isabelle, I agree! My daughter doesn't like having her picture taken (at least not by me!), so I won't force her. Also, she was out when I finished it. Thanks for your nice compliments! :)
12/29/07 9:25 AM
carolynw said...
Very pretty dress!!
12/29/07 10:10 AM
Tiner W said...
What a sweet dress!
12/29/07 11:12 AM
CynthiaSue said...
this is lovely. I have the pattern. thanks for the review. The sleeve detail looks perfect!
12/29/07 5:34 PM
Annette1 said...
SO pretty! I have to say my favorite part is those sleeves, too, with the little binding on there. And your FABRIC is so unique, I love it. Maybe I'm related to your daughter is some other life, because I hate having my picture taken too. :o) I know she looks beautiful in it though.
1/2/08 0:35 AM
AnneM said...
Very nice. I expect she feels like a million bucks in it.
1/2/08 7:41 PM
Melanie M. said...
I agree w/JoanN58. This dress was very easy to make. I hadn't sewed in 20 years..about 2 months ago made two regency period (supposedly simple lol) dresses, and they were a bit difficult. They didn't fit quite right. I attempted this McCalls dress for a nice addition to my daughters' "Pride and Prejiduce" era dresses and I was Pleasantly suprised how easy it was. I actually made it, including cutting fabric, in 1 day. Wow! I won't hesitate to make a few more.
4/17/08 11:30 AM
neverenoughtime said...
Thanks for the nice sleeve photo & comments on checking under bust measure.
8/22/08 8:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

10 inch Professional Shears

10 inch Professional Shears

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Buy Now