Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5039 (Laura Ashley Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 796 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Vintage Joan
photo
About Vintage Joanstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 7/16/07
Reviews written: 26
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/29/07 1:33 AM
Last Updated:12/29/07 1:33 AM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kitty Couture said...
Pretty dress! It would be lovely to see it worn, so that we could appreciate the way it fits and falls. What a beautiful gift for your daughter.
12/29/07 6:50 AM
swing like a girl said...
Very cute.
12/29/07 9:23 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Isabelle, I agree! My daughter doesn't like having her picture taken (at least not by me!), so I won't force her. Also, she was out when I finished it. Thanks for your nice compliments! :)
12/29/07 9:25 AM
carolynw said...
Very pretty dress!!
12/29/07 10:10 AM
Tiner W said...
What a sweet dress!
12/29/07 11:12 AM
CynthiaSue said...
this is lovely. I have the pattern. thanks for the review. The sleeve detail looks perfect!
12/29/07 5:34 PM
Annette1 said...
SO pretty! I have to say my favorite part is those sleeves, too, with the little binding on there. And your FABRIC is so unique, I love it. Maybe I'm related to your daughter is some other life, because I hate having my picture taken too. :o) I know she looks beautiful in it though.
1/2/08 0:35 AM
AnneM said...
Very nice. I expect she feels like a million bucks in it.
1/2/08 7:41 PM
Melanie M. said...
I agree w/JoanN58. This dress was very easy to make. I hadn't sewed in 20 years..about 2 months ago made two regency period (supposedly simple lol) dresses, and they were a bit difficult. They didn't fit quite right. I attempted this McCalls dress for a nice addition to my daughters' "Pride and Prejiduce" era dresses and I was Pleasantly suprised how easy it was. I actually made it, including cutting fabric, in 1 day. Wow! I won't hesitate to make a few more.
4/17/08 11:30 AM
neverenoughtime said...
Thanks for the nice sleeve photo & comments on checking under bust measure.
8/22/08 8:57 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Anna Maria Mariposa Dress/Tunic
photo
Review by mim.tribe on 1/18/11
Read Review

Cake Patterns Espresso Leggings Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Espresso Leggings Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Little Kickers Digital Pattern (001)
Simple Things Little Kickers Digital Pattern (001)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2320 Toddlers'
photo
Review by ashleyjewe... on 2/9/12
Read Review

You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern
You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6920 Pattern
Burda 6920 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8821 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8821 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us