SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 11-2007-107 (Dress with tulle petticoat)

7 more reviews
Viewed 1373 times 
Reviewed by:mylittleelephant
photo

 
 
About mylittleelephantstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 1/1/07
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/6/08 6:51 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lucy in Virginia said...
Very lovely. I'm amazed you could turn out such a lovely garment on the antique sewing machine. I guess it puts the rest of us to shame.
1/9/08 9:16 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Beautiful dress.
1/7/08 9:03 PM
Helen near Sydney said...
I love what you've done with this dress, especially the tulle underskirt
1/7/08 3:47 AM
Christina Sonja said...
You wear this well! Love it.
1/7/08 0:21 AM
Marilyn N. said...
Your dress looks wonderful on you! I am very impressed that you accomplished it on a hand operated machine.
1/7/08 0:14 AM
Margie T said...
Congratulations on a stunning dress. You look beautiful in it.
1/7/08 0:10 AM
JudiBee2 said...
It looks great. I agree about the hand picked zipper. That is the "couture" way. But to make it concealed, I would love to see your tutorial onit. Thanks for the information.
1/6/08 5:11 PM
Seaspur said...
I can't believe you took the time to make this on a hand cranked antique machine. What a tremendous amount of work. it's very beautiful.
1/6/08 1:08 PM
Marji said...
just fabulous! and very interesting reading your review. Congrats on getting the zipper figured out.
1/6/08 1:07 PM
nancy2001 said...
Wow. The dress looks beautiful on you. You definitely need to promote yourself. You're not a beginner by any means.
1/6/08 11:50 AM
SewKnitYKnot said...
What a beautiful dress! Very elegant. It looks absolutely fantastic on you!
1/6/08 8:59 AM
blue mooney said...
Beautiful! You look smashing in that dress. I think La Fred patterns has some instructions for inserting an invisible zipper with a regular foot, and that you can find them on the net. Those old machines make beautiful stitches, don't they?
1/6/08 8:15 AM
Erica B. said...
Fabulous dress!
1/3/08 2:29 AM
SarahWeb said...
This dress is absolutely stunning!
1/2/08 3:09 PM
Sigrid. said...
Love your dress, it's beautiful on you. Looks very stylish.
1/2/08 2:33 PM
Hilary said...
Beautiful!! It looks so good on you!
1/2/08 1:31 PM
crisford said...
Great job on this dress! I would have totally missed this pattern but you have a good eye and great taste!
1/2/08 11:52 AM
cindyann said...
You look wonderful in this fabulous dress. Very nicely done.
1/2/08 11:09 AM
Becky Coleman said...
Even though your sewing machine is old, it should be possible to fit it with a zipper foot. Most of the kits for invisible zipper feet have several "shanks" to fit a variety of machines. Your dress is gorgeous.
1/2/08 9:53 AM
So So said...
Fabulous dress! Love the length and great with your boots. Looks as tho it cost a fortune. But only you and us know otherwise. Love it.
1/2/08 8:39 AM
Lori V said...
This is so beautiful.
1/1/08 10:46 PM
Dei said...
Love your dress. Fits beautifully and looks great on you. I'm sure you had a good time at your dance party because you definitely had a great dress for it.
1/1/08 8:15 PM
tomed said...
Nice dress. Thanks for the review!
1/1/08 7:32 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Thank you very much everyone!!! And thanks for squirrellypoo, I have just added the underskirt bit, totally forgotton about it!
1/1/08 6:47 PM
Sheila457 said...
Gorgeous dress.
1/1/08 6:01 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Gorgeous!! Because you're young & firm, the look is "WOW" just as-is!! I could also "see" this little black dress with different jewelry types, little "jackets", belts... WOW!! Enjoy your pretty dress!
1/1/08 5:55 PM
squirrellypoo said...
ooh this is gorgeous! I was eying this up in the magazine. I can't tell from your review though - did you make the additional underskirt, too, or did you find the dress was poufy enough on its own?
1/1/08 5:46 PM
MissCelie said...
Gorgeous dress! I had my eye on this one too. Way to make that machine work for you!!
1/1/08 5:18 PM
Linda G said...
You have a beautiful dress and to think that you sewed it on an antique sewing machine. Great job.
1/1/08 5:08 PM
gaby said...
The fit is outstanding! It looks great on you.
1/1/08 4:53 PM
BJ1400 said...
Looks very nice on you.
1/1/08 4:50 PM
tweedcurtain said...
Beautiful dress. I much prefer yours to the BWOF one. The hand sewn zipper sounds like quite an achievement, too!
1/1/08 3:14 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Can't wait to see your photos. ;-0
12/30/07 3:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

Buy Now
My Favorite Duffle Bag

My Favorite Duffle Bag

Buy Now