SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 11-2007-107 (Dress with tulle petticoat)

7 more reviews
Viewed 1372 times 
Reviewed by:mylittleelephant
photo

 
 
About mylittleelephantstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 1/1/07
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/6/08 6:51 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lucy in Virginia said...
Very lovely. I'm amazed you could turn out such a lovely garment on the antique sewing machine. I guess it puts the rest of us to shame.
1/9/08 9:16 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Beautiful dress.
1/7/08 9:03 PM
Helen near Sydney said...
I love what you've done with this dress, especially the tulle underskirt
1/7/08 3:47 AM
Christina Sonja said...
You wear this well! Love it.
1/7/08 0:21 AM
Marilyn N. said...
Your dress looks wonderful on you! I am very impressed that you accomplished it on a hand operated machine.
1/7/08 0:14 AM
Margie T said...
Congratulations on a stunning dress. You look beautiful in it.
1/7/08 0:10 AM
JudiBee2 said...
It looks great. I agree about the hand picked zipper. That is the "couture" way. But to make it concealed, I would love to see your tutorial onit. Thanks for the information.
1/6/08 5:11 PM
Seaspur said...
I can't believe you took the time to make this on a hand cranked antique machine. What a tremendous amount of work. it's very beautiful.
1/6/08 1:08 PM
Marji said...
just fabulous! and very interesting reading your review. Congrats on getting the zipper figured out.
1/6/08 1:07 PM
nancy2001 said...
Wow. The dress looks beautiful on you. You definitely need to promote yourself. You're not a beginner by any means.
1/6/08 11:50 AM
SewKnitYKnot said...
What a beautiful dress! Very elegant. It looks absolutely fantastic on you!
1/6/08 8:59 AM
blue mooney said...
Beautiful! You look smashing in that dress. I think La Fred patterns has some instructions for inserting an invisible zipper with a regular foot, and that you can find them on the net. Those old machines make beautiful stitches, don't they?
1/6/08 8:15 AM
Erica B. said...
Fabulous dress!
1/3/08 2:29 AM
SarahWeb said...
This dress is absolutely stunning!
1/2/08 3:09 PM
Sigrid. said...
Love your dress, it's beautiful on you. Looks very stylish.
1/2/08 2:33 PM
Hilary said...
Beautiful!! It looks so good on you!
1/2/08 1:31 PM
crisford said...
Great job on this dress! I would have totally missed this pattern but you have a good eye and great taste!
1/2/08 11:52 AM
cindyann said...
You look wonderful in this fabulous dress. Very nicely done.
1/2/08 11:09 AM
Becky Coleman said...
Even though your sewing machine is old, it should be possible to fit it with a zipper foot. Most of the kits for invisible zipper feet have several "shanks" to fit a variety of machines. Your dress is gorgeous.
1/2/08 9:53 AM
So So said...
Fabulous dress! Love the length and great with your boots. Looks as tho it cost a fortune. But only you and us know otherwise. Love it.
1/2/08 8:39 AM
Lori V said...
This is so beautiful.
1/1/08 10:46 PM
Dei said...
Love your dress. Fits beautifully and looks great on you. I'm sure you had a good time at your dance party because you definitely had a great dress for it.
1/1/08 8:15 PM
tomed said...
Nice dress. Thanks for the review!
1/1/08 7:32 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Thank you very much everyone!!! And thanks for squirrellypoo, I have just added the underskirt bit, totally forgotton about it!
1/1/08 6:47 PM
Sheila457 said...
Gorgeous dress.
1/1/08 6:01 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Gorgeous!! Because you're young & firm, the look is "WOW" just as-is!! I could also "see" this little black dress with different jewelry types, little "jackets", belts... WOW!! Enjoy your pretty dress!
1/1/08 5:55 PM
squirrellypoo said...
ooh this is gorgeous! I was eying this up in the magazine. I can't tell from your review though - did you make the additional underskirt, too, or did you find the dress was poufy enough on its own?
1/1/08 5:46 PM
MissCelie said...
Gorgeous dress! I had my eye on this one too. Way to make that machine work for you!!
1/1/08 5:18 PM
Linda G said...
You have a beautiful dress and to think that you sewed it on an antique sewing machine. Great job.
1/1/08 5:08 PM
gaby said...
The fit is outstanding! It looks great on you.
1/1/08 4:53 PM
BJ1400 said...
Looks very nice on you.
1/1/08 4:50 PM
tweedcurtain said...
Beautiful dress. I much prefer yours to the BWOF one. The hand sewn zipper sounds like quite an achievement, too!
1/1/08 3:14 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Can't wait to see your photos. ;-0
12/30/07 3:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Serendipity Studio 123

photo
by: Saint Nolt...

Review
Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

More Info
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

More Info