SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3833 (retro dress 1960's)

51 more reviews
Viewed 765 times 
Reviewed by:Laura O
photo

 
 
About Laura Ostar
PA USA
Member since: 6/4/07
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/1/08 3:52 PM
Last Updated:1/1/08 4:02 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $3.99 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $3.99 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ladybegood said...
Too cute! Thanks for the sizing info... that is exactly why I love PR!
1/1/08 4:20 PM
Linda G said...
Cute dress, I bought the pattern just because I remember when it came out when I was in high school, I have no intention of sewing it!!!!
1/1/08 5:09 PM
MissCelie said...
A lot of the big 4 patterns have more ease than most of us want. Way to make it work for your figure though!
1/1/08 5:40 PM
CynthiaSue said...
super cute and you have the cute figure for it! I have often wanted to sew it but I'm not teeny tiny!
1/1/08 9:36 PM
mommietothree0 said...
I bought this one too. I'm over 50 and wondered how it would look just past knee length. It's not too fitted and that might be good.
1/2/08 0:39 AM
Jane S said...
You look fab in this cool dress. I too bought the pattern but would have to bring that length down to my knees. But it has a timeless quality to it.
1/2/08 11:54 AM
Hilary said...
That looks so cute on you-I have this in my stash and would love to make it for this summer! Thanks for the review, good job on making it fit!
1/2/08 1:29 PM
goldesdottar said...
I too was a teenager in the '60's; i grew up in the Bay Area then, so culturally i was into the more intellectual side of the counter-culture - but i loved the Carnaby Street Mod look! It's kinda funny - i can't think when i needed a girdle less than in high school, both because of physiology and the A-line style - yet the only time i've worn one was the beginning of high school. There were no pany-hose, and i hadn't quite worked up to the defiance of Beat-style dressing with tights that first year. So there i, and all those other slim girls, were, in our hideous girdles under our A-line dresses! Can you wonder at the burst of sartorial rebellion we went through... ;-} ... I've loved all these versions of this pattern, and also the Threads pattern in the Mod-Retro vein. I think i will try one, in a more subdued palette& at or just below knee length. Thanks to you all!
4/5/08 7:42 PM
LizzM26 said...
Wow, it looks just like the envelope picture! I think that what happen to your sizing was that this pattern in particular is suppose to be loose, because I made a dress from this pattern and it is very loose at the waist.
9/9/08 7:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Vogue Patterns 8565

photo
by: Deepika

Review
Burda 0006A

photo
by: cabinbaby

Review
Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Buy Now