SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2007-117 (blouse)

10 more reviews
Viewed 785 times 
Reviewed by:Frogstitcher
photo

 
 
About Frogstitcherstarstarstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 2/26/05
Reviews written: 76
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 33 people
patterns reviewed: 74
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/3/08 1:11 AM
Last Updated:1/3/08 1:11 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 24 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Budo Bear Designs


Asian Designs
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sigrid. said...
Very nice version of this blouse, thanks for the very helpful review. This is one I want to make, and I'll be careful to measure the length of the shoulder seams. I once interfaced both collar pieces on a blouse, but will never do that again.
1/3/08 4:23 AM
MarijaSLO said...
This is a very detailed and helpful review, it shows your huge sewing knowledge. The blouse looks great!
1/3/08 5:51 AM
squirrellypoo said...
That looks so glam and classy, I love it.
1/3/08 6:27 AM
yorkshire lass said...
gorgeous blouse and extremely helpful and thoughtful review. Thank you very much. I am pleased to hear it will work in a nonstretch woven too as I had wondered about that possibility.
1/3/08 8:02 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
This is the type of review that greatly benefits those of us wishing to expand our understanding of all aspects of the sewing process. Thanks for taking the time to include details about your problem-solving techniques. Your blouse is gorgeous!
1/3/08 8:18 AM
marjenann said...
Really stunning blouse!! I bet you like like a million dollars in it!!!
1/3/08 8:23 AM
Kellie R. said...
Very nice! Even though you didn't interface the front pieces, it's not noticeable. Thanks for the review.
1/3/08 9:02 AM
Kay Y said...
If it's any consolation, the softness in the front bands seems totally in keeping with the overall fluidity of your fabric. This is a gorgeous looking blouse. Your review is also very helpful - as I too have narrow shoulders and was thinking about making this one.
1/3/08 9:20 AM
carolynw said...
Stunning blouse
1/3/08 9:23 AM
Nancy K said...
Beautiful blouse. You might try self covered buttons for this dressy version. I have this pattern ready to cut out. I will check the cuffs.
1/3/08 9:43 AM
CynthiaSue said...
absolutely excellent and informative review. Beautiful blouse!
1/3/08 10:13 AM
madhatter said...
this blouse is so beautiful, i'm almost jealous that i'm not able to wear that color!
1/3/08 10:27 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
Your blouse is beautiful and your review is inspiring. You are absolutely right about the interfacing: experience should rule. Thanks for giving us the confidence to depart from the instructions. That was a good observation about the excessive shoulder width; some of the models' poses are strange and maybe this is to conceal oddities such as this.
1/3/08 11:27 AM
Leora said...
Very pretty blouse. It is nice to know this pattern can be sewn using non-stretch fabric. Thank you.
1/3/08 11:50 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Gorgeous blouse! Can't wait to see the buttons you choose.
1/3/08 11:54 AM
Angelia74 said...
Great review! Very helpful. BWOF is one of my fav pattern companys and also one of the most confusing to me!
1/3/08 12:03 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Your blouse is so lovely. Thanks so much for all the helpful info on burda instruction discrepencies. I must nmake this one up one day too!
1/3/08 1:04 PM
rosannec said...
Excellent review and gorgeous result! I love, love, love your choice of fabric!!! I have been eyeing that pattern since the issue came out, but haven't been able to find *just* the right fabric so I've delayed in making it. However, after seeing yours, I think I'm inspired to move ahead regardless. Also, one thing about fashion photos is that the clothes are always manipulated - pinned and cinched - on the model's body for better fit. You can see just how dropped the shoulders are in the model photo for 117 A (red-head in satin version). They look at least an inch beyond the model's shoulder line. I personally don't care for that fit on me, so because of your review, I'll be altering this on my pattern! Once again, excellent review - just the kind of review that makes PR such a great resource.
1/3/08 1:18 PM
JudiBee2 said...
That is stunning. I would call that a show stopper. How to fix the non interfaced buttonhole piece, I cannot imagine, other than put something on the back which won't sew. You will probably have to sew snaps with the buttons fixed on the front and no buttonholes for your closure or some variation. thanks for taking time to review this. That is definitely a dressy blouse.
1/3/08 6:01 PM
Karen6790 said...
This was a great review. It's always nice to read the reality of a BWOF pattern before I attempt it, and this one was on the list. You may know about your issues with this pattern, but I guarantee that no one who sees you in it will think that you had a moment's worry. It's gorgeous.
1/3/08 9:05 PM
MichelleE said...
Love the color! I noticed the same thing with the collar band and was kicking myself for not interfacing it. Stretch satin is hard to find! I managed to finally find some on Ebay and will be making this again. I so love the design even though the drafting and instructions are so-so.
1/4/08 0:18 AM
trinicity said...
this is beautiful, the color and fabric just perfect.
1/4/08 7:05 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Fabulous looking blouse! Much nicer than Burda's white one. Thanks for a great review. ;-)
1/4/08 11:55 AM
zora said...
I love your fabric choice! I have been thinking of sewing a golden top for some time and I think now that I saw yours, I will do this blouse in gold too. Thanks for pointing out the errors in the Burda pattern, that was very helpful.
1/4/08 2:14 PM
So So said...
I too made this in a choclate brown sheen fabric, non stretch. i totally agree with your findings and too wish BWOF would not give false impressions of fit in there pictures and also not stay it needs to be stretch etc when in this case it did not. Love it tho! Hope you get your buttons soon.
1/5/08 7:18 AM
eileen said...
This review is very thoughtful, easy to read and extremely helpful. The blouse looks to be very well-made. I've had my eye on this pattern for a while. Thanks!
1/5/08 7:53 PM
Sharon M said...
Wow! Love it in that fabric - very unique.
1/22/08 9:21 PM
Heatherrique said...
How could I miss this superb top? Wonderfully constructed! You inspired me to try this pattern!
5/5/08 10:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

New Look 6561

photo
by: Myspirit4

Review
Petite Plus 302 Pattern

Petite Plus 302 Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

Buy Now