Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 08-2007-117 (blouse) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 785 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 24 people   
Reviewed by:Frogstitcher
photo
About Frogstitcherstarstarstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 2/26/05
Reviews written: 76
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 33 people
patterns reviewed: 74
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/3/08 1:11 AM
Last Updated:1/3/08 1:11 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sigrid. said...
Very nice version of this blouse, thanks for the very helpful review. This is one I want to make, and I'll be careful to measure the length of the shoulder seams. I once interfaced both collar pieces on a blouse, but will never do that again.
1/3/08 4:23 AM
MarijaSLO said...
This is a very detailed and helpful review, it shows your huge sewing knowledge. The blouse looks great!
1/3/08 5:51 AM
squirrellypoo said...
That looks so glam and classy, I love it.
1/3/08 6:27 AM
yorkshire lass said...
gorgeous blouse and extremely helpful and thoughtful review. Thank you very much. I am pleased to hear it will work in a nonstretch woven too as I had wondered about that possibility.
1/3/08 8:02 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
This is the type of review that greatly benefits those of us wishing to expand our understanding of all aspects of the sewing process. Thanks for taking the time to include details about your problem-solving techniques. Your blouse is gorgeous!
1/3/08 8:18 AM
marjenann said...
Really stunning blouse!! I bet you like like a million dollars in it!!!
1/3/08 8:23 AM
Kellie R. said...
Very nice! Even though you didn't interface the front pieces, it's not noticeable. Thanks for the review.
1/3/08 9:02 AM
Kay Y said...
If it's any consolation, the softness in the front bands seems totally in keeping with the overall fluidity of your fabric. This is a gorgeous looking blouse. Your review is also very helpful - as I too have narrow shoulders and was thinking about making this one.
1/3/08 9:20 AM
carolynw said...
Stunning blouse
1/3/08 9:23 AM
Nancy K said...
Beautiful blouse. You might try self covered buttons for this dressy version. I have this pattern ready to cut out. I will check the cuffs.
1/3/08 9:43 AM
CynthiaSue said...
absolutely excellent and informative review. Beautiful blouse!
1/3/08 10:13 AM
madhatter said...
this blouse is so beautiful, i'm almost jealous that i'm not able to wear that color!
1/3/08 10:27 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
Your blouse is beautiful and your review is inspiring. You are absolutely right about the interfacing: experience should rule. Thanks for giving us the confidence to depart from the instructions. That was a good observation about the excessive shoulder width; some of the models' poses are strange and maybe this is to conceal oddities such as this.
1/3/08 11:27 AM
Leora said...
Very pretty blouse. It is nice to know this pattern can be sewn using non-stretch fabric. Thank you.
1/3/08 11:50 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Gorgeous blouse! Can't wait to see the buttons you choose.
1/3/08 11:54 AM
Angelia74 said...
Great review! Very helpful. BWOF is one of my fav pattern companys and also one of the most confusing to me!
1/3/08 12:03 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Your blouse is so lovely. Thanks so much for all the helpful info on burda instruction discrepencies. I must nmake this one up one day too!
1/3/08 1:04 PM
rosannec said...
Excellent review and gorgeous result! I love, love, love your choice of fabric!!! I have been eyeing that pattern since the issue came out, but haven't been able to find *just* the right fabric so I've delayed in making it. However, after seeing yours, I think I'm inspired to move ahead regardless. Also, one thing about fashion photos is that the clothes are always manipulated - pinned and cinched - on the model's body for better fit. You can see just how dropped the shoulders are in the model photo for 117 A (red-head in satin version). They look at least an inch beyond the model's shoulder line. I personally don't care for that fit on me, so because of your review, I'll be altering this on my pattern! Once again, excellent review - just the kind of review that makes PR such a great resource.
1/3/08 1:18 PM
JudiBee2 said...
That is stunning. I would call that a show stopper. How to fix the non interfaced buttonhole piece, I cannot imagine, other than put something on the back which won't sew. You will probably have to sew snaps with the buttons fixed on the front and no buttonholes for your closure or some variation. thanks for taking time to review this. That is definitely a dressy blouse.
1/3/08 6:01 PM
Karen6790 said...
This was a great review. It's always nice to read the reality of a BWOF pattern before I attempt it, and this one was on the list. You may know about your issues with this pattern, but I guarantee that no one who sees you in it will think that you had a moment's worry. It's gorgeous.
1/3/08 9:05 PM
MichelleE said...
Love the color! I noticed the same thing with the collar band and was kicking myself for not interfacing it. Stretch satin is hard to find! I managed to finally find some on Ebay and will be making this again. I so love the design even though the drafting and instructions are so-so.
1/4/08 0:18 AM
trinicity said...
this is beautiful, the color and fabric just perfect.
1/4/08 7:05 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Fabulous looking blouse! Much nicer than Burda's white one. Thanks for a great review. ;-)
1/4/08 11:55 AM
zora said...
I love your fabric choice! I have been thinking of sewing a golden top for some time and I think now that I saw yours, I will do this blouse in gold too. Thanks for pointing out the errors in the Burda pattern, that was very helpful.
1/4/08 2:14 PM
So So said...
I too made this in a choclate brown sheen fabric, non stretch. i totally agree with your findings and too wish BWOF would not give false impressions of fit in there pictures and also not stay it needs to be stretch etc when in this case it did not. Love it tho! Hope you get your buttons soon.
1/5/08 7:18 AM
eileen said...
This review is very thoughtful, easy to read and extremely helpful. The blouse looks to be very well-made. I've had my eye on this pattern for a while. Thanks!
1/5/08 7:53 PM
Sharon M said...
Wow! Love it in that fabric - very unique.
1/22/08 9:21 PM
Heatherrique said...
How could I miss this superb top? Wonderfully constructed! You inspired me to try this pattern!
5/5/08 10:07 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

BurdaStyle Downloadable 6019 Sadie knit top
photo
Review by squirrelly... on 6/30/08
Read Review

Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Bathing Beauty Swim Cap Digital Pattern ( Size infant- toddler- child )
Peek-A Boo Bathing Beauty Swim Cap Digital Pattern ( Size infant- toddler- child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 8108 One Hour Dress
photo
Review by novicesewi... on 2/24/10
Read Review

Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern
Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern
Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6347 Pattern
New Look 6347 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8536 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8536 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us