SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Betsy Ross> 009 (Retro Coat)

Viewed 1037 times 
Reviewed by:choochie
photo

 
 
About choochie
TX USA
Member since: 10/19/06
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/3/08 11:19 AM
Last Updated:1/3/08 11:21 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
the great mj said...
Thanks for the info, i think i will give it a try.
9/5/08 9:22 PM
woole bully said...
i have just purchased her wide leg pants pattern. i had never heard of betsy ross company and the review helped me learn about their patterns.
4/11/08 5:06 PM
CrescentaLuna said...
Wonderful coat! I love the simple neckline, the big buttons, and the length. Thanks for the heads-up about Betsy Ross, I had forgotten about them - this one might be on my to-do list!
1/17/08 10:25 PM
Grammy Gin said...
You look glamorous in this coat! Great Job ! ;-)
1/4/08 11:50 AM
carolynw said...
This is one fantstic looking coat - and for your first time sewing outer wear you should be in 7th Heaven for turning out such a stunner!! I have never heard of this pattern company so must make a note of it - for what it's worth I truly think pockets on such an elegant design would be a"no no". I deliberately omit pockets in coats to avoid the temptation of stuffing things into them and ending up with the not so pretty bulging pockets I have seen - a small purse slung over the shoulder is so much better and would well suit such an elegant coat as this
1/4/08 10:20 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Wow! This coat is definitely sewn well and looks so awesome on you. I wish I were taller!! You did a wonderful job and put together a great review, too.
1/4/08 8:08 AM
Lori V said...
Fantastic coat.
1/4/08 0:53 AM
mylittleelephant said...
Great coat, looks lovely on you, with short hair and baggy trousers, so chic!!!
1/3/08 7:47 PM
Annette1 said...
So chic, I love it, and that goes for the entire outfit! I've never heard of this pattern company, so that's another plus. I think welt pockets would look really nice, or what about a zippered pocket, kind of like a welt pocket, but instead of the welt, put a zipper in there? That would be cute. You could either have the zipper blend in with the fabric or contrast. They have some REALLY cool zippers at thesewingplace.com (but they're expensive). I can remember a Claude Montana pattern from several years back that had zippered pockets, and the overall "feel" of that pattern and this one kind of remind me of each other. Yours is among my favorite coats I've seen this year. :o)
1/3/08 5:28 PM
choochie said...
Moss - thank you for the idea! I'll have to play around with that. Connie and Lindsay - my husband was so flattered that you thought his photos were great! He enjoys photography but he's hardly a professional, that had me lol-ing. Physics Girl- Arm mobility is fine as far as I've noticed... I'm pretty picky about stuff like that, too. I will have to double check now that you ask. I agree about the clean look of the coat and the pockets, I also thought about an inner breast pocket but I'm not sure I can do it - it seems challenging! I'm getting great ideas from the comments though.
1/3/08 4:21 PM
edupraz said...
I love the simplicity of your coat. Looks fantastic.
1/3/08 3:51 PM
Physics Girl said...
I love this coat design! How is arm mobility (esp. when you raise your arms)? I agree that patch pockets would well and would not too difficult to even install (albiet by hand) now. You could also add a botton or snap and flap for security. There are lots of nice retro designs for pocket-flaps. Personally, however, I like the staight clean look of the coat, and I would probably opt for interior beast-level pockets (like on men's-wear coats). It feels more secure to have a wallet or keys hidden there (I have an Air Force jacket with this feature that I wear as outerwear). you might be able to do this also... look at men's dress coats in the thrift or in other RTW. Besides, with a coat this cool, all you need are some distinctive mittens or gloves, and do you want to hide those in pockets?
1/3/08 3:01 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Love this coat! I've never hear of this pattern company based on your garment I'll definitely check them out.
1/3/08 2:23 PM
SansSouci572 said...
The coat turned out much nicer than I would have visualized by the line drawing!
1/3/08 1:58 PM
SansSouci572 said...
The coat turned out much nicer than I would have visualized by the line drawing!
1/3/08 1:58 PM
LindsayT said...
Tres chic coat. Ditto Connie's comment about the photography. Taken by a professional, right?
1/3/08 1:29 PM
ConnieBJ said...
Love the coat- the photography is wonderful too BTW
1/3/08 1:19 PM
Twinset said...
Looks very sharp! Great job!
1/3/08 12:55 PM
Reiko said...
It is so beautiful! I love it.
1/3/08 12:51 PM
Irene Q said...
Beautiful coat - so much nicer than the pattern picture! Great job!!
1/3/08 11:28 AM
moss said...
Fabulous! It looks fantastic on you and it looks very well done also. P.S. I think big rectangular patch pockets would work well.
1/3/08 11:26 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8817

photo
by: kkkkaty

Review
Kwik Sew 2101

photo
by: Immelu

Review
Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

More Info
Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

More Info