Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Silhouette Patterns: 1950 (Max's Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1197 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:SewKnitYKnot
photo
About SewKnitYKnot
IL USA
Member since: 8/4/05
Reviews written: 2
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/3/08 11:19 PM
Last Updated:1/4/08 5:48 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Linda G said...
Your jacket is beautiful. The fabric is yummy and I like the grey piping.
1/4/08 1:43 PM
rivergum said...
Your jacket looks gorgeous and thanks for the review. I have been looking for a pattern with this sort of neck/collar and would not have thought of looking at this brand.
1/4/08 2:48 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Beautiful jacket. I'd love to see a pic of the inside showing your stitch/flip technique.
1/4/08 3:35 PM
sideseams said...
I love your jacket. Peggy is coming to our sewing guild's anniversary event this September. Really look forward to her program. Thanks for the very helpful review.
1/4/08 5:59 PM
carolynw said...
This is absolutely lovely - love the fabric and th epiping adds that haute coture touch!
1/4/08 6:09 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Oo! I love your jacket. I don't really wear jackets, and I already have 2 or 3 jacket patterns in my stash..but you've really got me thinking about this one.
1/4/08 6:23 PM
marjenann said...
Lovely jacket!! A real wardrobe asset!
1/4/08 6:43 PM
Seaspur said...
Your jacket looks wonderful!
1/4/08 7:52 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
I love the style and the color and texture.
1/4/08 9:12 PM
Bonnie K said...
Wow, gorgeous jacket, I did notice that the pattern picture shows the jacket several inches shorter than yours. Did you lenthen yours or is the picture not accurate? I'd sure like to know before investing in this pattern.
1/4/08 10:31 PM
Peggy L said...
Very nice!
1/4/08 10:46 PM
kathi s said...
I love your jacket and how it fits so beautifully. Great job!
1/4/08 11:09 PM
Karen8320 said...
This is a really lovely jacket and you've done a great job. The fabric looks just perfect for this garment.
1/5/08 5:45 AM
blue mooney said...
Looks lovely and the piping us a sumptuous but subtle touch.
1/5/08 8:05 AM
SewKnitYKnot said...
Thanks everyone! Bonnie K -- I did not lengthen the jacket. In all honesty, when it was time to create the tie front, I just put the jacket on and decided where I would like it to be, so I may have placed the tie higher than originally intended. I'm also on the short-side, so those two things combined may be why the jacket pictured on the pattern looks shorter? In any event, if you would like your jacket to be longer or if you are tall, lengthening the jacket shouldn't be a problem. There are even some instructions included in the pattern on how to do that.
1/5/08 9:11 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Lovely sleek and body conscious style which you executed beautifully. May I ask which cup size pattern you used? And of what fabric/ribbon did you make the ties? -Lily
1/5/08 10:02 AM
meanjean said...
Stunning jacket. I love your edge treatment. What an elegant touch to an elegant jacket.
1/5/08 10:06 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Very elegant.
1/5/08 11:12 AM
SewKnitYKnot said...
Lilyofthevalley -- Thanks! I used Silhouette size 3 B-cup. The fabric is either wool or a wool blend (I had it in my stash & didn't record the content). I used gross grain ribbon for the ties, and the trim is something I found at JoAnn's. I was worried that it was too narrow, but it worked out just fine.
1/5/08 11:25 AM
busy bee said...
Thanks so much for a review of this jacket. I bought the pattern last year and it's on my list of projects. I was looking forward to the good instructions and was hoping someone would make one before I did. Thanks! It looks beautiful. I love the simplicity of this design.
1/5/08 11:59 AM
cindy-lou said...
Wow! Beqautiful jacket, and congratulations on completing a stitch-and-flip! I also took the class but currently am at the pattern-tweaking stage. I'm inspired by how nicely yours turned out!
1/5/08 12:19 PM
Jan B. said...
Beautiful work! Your jacket turned out so great. I, too, was curious about these patterns. I'm still tweaking my pattern for this class, and Shannon's knit class begins Monday (which I am also taking). It's great to learn a new technique during the Winter season.
1/5/08 3:11 PM
Nancywin said...
This turned out well and looks good on you. Do you think you will snf on your next one? I really like the technique
1/5/08 5:32 PM
Annette1 said...
What a BEAUTY. I love, love, love the combination of your fabrics, ribbon and piping. I can't believe I've never noticed this pattern before! You're going to be a bad influence on me!
1/7/08 3:35 AM
Annette1 said...
And by the way, I think you should up your rating to at least "Intermediate," and I'm never wrong about these things. :o)
1/7/08 3:37 AM
SewKnitYKnot said...
Thanks for all the really nice comments. You have all given me such a confidence boost. :) Nancywin - yes I plan on using snf again soon. Probably on a spring jacket for DD. Annette1 - wow, thanks for the compliment!
1/7/08 7:43 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

New Look 6429
photo
Review by JuanitaVA on 7/3/11
Read Review

Burda 8501 Pattern
Burda 8501 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2890 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 2890 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6284
photo
Review by Andreahg on 12/21/11
Read Review

Blank Slate Prepster Pullover Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Prepster Pullover Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Beret Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Beret Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal
Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Couch Caddy
Couch Caddy

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us