SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Silhouette Patterns> 1950 (Max's Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1261 times 
Reviewed by:SewKnitYKnot
photo

 
 
About SewKnitYKnot
IL USA
Member since: 8/4/05
Reviews written: 2
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/3/08 11:19 PM
Last Updated:1/4/08 5:48 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewKnitYKnot said...
Thanks for all the really nice comments. You have all given me such a confidence boost. :) Nancywin - yes I plan on using snf again soon. Probably on a spring jacket for DD. Annette1 - wow, thanks for the compliment!
1/7/08 7:43 PM
Annette1 said...
And by the way, I think you should up your rating to at least "Intermediate," and I'm never wrong about these things. :o)
1/7/08 3:37 AM
Annette1 said...
What a BEAUTY. I love, love, love the combination of your fabrics, ribbon and piping. I can't believe I've never noticed this pattern before! You're going to be a bad influence on me!
1/7/08 3:35 AM
Nancywin said...
This turned out well and looks good on you. Do you think you will snf on your next one? I really like the technique
1/5/08 5:32 PM
Jan B. said...
Beautiful work! Your jacket turned out so great. I, too, was curious about these patterns. I'm still tweaking my pattern for this class, and Shannon's knit class begins Monday (which I am also taking). It's great to learn a new technique during the Winter season.
1/5/08 3:11 PM
cindy-lou said...
Wow! Beqautiful jacket, and congratulations on completing a stitch-and-flip! I also took the class but currently am at the pattern-tweaking stage. I'm inspired by how nicely yours turned out!
1/5/08 12:19 PM
busy bee said...
Thanks so much for a review of this jacket. I bought the pattern last year and it's on my list of projects. I was looking forward to the good instructions and was hoping someone would make one before I did. Thanks! It looks beautiful. I love the simplicity of this design.
1/5/08 11:59 AM
SewKnitYKnot said...
Lilyofthevalley -- Thanks! I used Silhouette size 3 B-cup. The fabric is either wool or a wool blend (I had it in my stash & didn't record the content). I used gross grain ribbon for the ties, and the trim is something I found at JoAnn's. I was worried that it was too narrow, but it worked out just fine.
1/5/08 11:25 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Very elegant.
1/5/08 11:12 AM
meanjean said...
Stunning jacket. I love your edge treatment. What an elegant touch to an elegant jacket.
1/5/08 10:06 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Lovely sleek and body conscious style which you executed beautifully. May I ask which cup size pattern you used? And of what fabric/ribbon did you make the ties? -Lily
1/5/08 10:02 AM
SewKnitYKnot said...
Thanks everyone! Bonnie K -- I did not lengthen the jacket. In all honesty, when it was time to create the tie front, I just put the jacket on and decided where I would like it to be, so I may have placed the tie higher than originally intended. I'm also on the short-side, so those two things combined may be why the jacket pictured on the pattern looks shorter? In any event, if you would like your jacket to be longer or if you are tall, lengthening the jacket shouldn't be a problem. There are even some instructions included in the pattern on how to do that.
1/5/08 9:11 AM
blue mooney said...
Looks lovely and the piping us a sumptuous but subtle touch.
1/5/08 8:05 AM
Karen8320 said...
This is a really lovely jacket and you've done a great job. The fabric looks just perfect for this garment.
1/5/08 5:45 AM
kathi s said...
I love your jacket and how it fits so beautifully. Great job!
1/4/08 11:09 PM
Peggy L said...
Very nice!
1/4/08 10:46 PM
Bonnie K said...
Wow, gorgeous jacket, I did notice that the pattern picture shows the jacket several inches shorter than yours. Did you lenthen yours or is the picture not accurate? I'd sure like to know before investing in this pattern.
1/4/08 10:31 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
I love the style and the color and texture.
1/4/08 9:12 PM
Seaspur said...
Your jacket looks wonderful!
1/4/08 7:52 PM
marjenann said...
Lovely jacket!! A real wardrobe asset!
1/4/08 6:43 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Oo! I love your jacket. I don't really wear jackets, and I already have 2 or 3 jacket patterns in my stash..but you've really got me thinking about this one.
1/4/08 6:23 PM
carolynw said...
This is absolutely lovely - love the fabric and th epiping adds that haute coture touch!
1/4/08 6:09 PM
sideseams said...
I love your jacket. Peggy is coming to our sewing guild's anniversary event this September. Really look forward to her program. Thanks for the very helpful review.
1/4/08 5:59 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Beautiful jacket. I'd love to see a pic of the inside showing your stitch/flip technique.
1/4/08 3:35 PM
rivergum said...
Your jacket looks gorgeous and thanks for the review. I have been looking for a pattern with this sort of neck/collar and would not have thought of looking at this brand.
1/4/08 2:48 PM
Linda G said...
Your jacket is beautiful. The fabric is yummy and I like the grey piping.
1/4/08 1:43 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

StyleArc Jenny Shirt

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2007-107

photo
by: liliv

Review
Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Buy Now
PerfectFuse Medium White

PerfectFuse Medium White

Buy Now