Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 08-2006-113 (Knit top w/shawl collar & ties) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1077 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/4/08 10:10 AM
Last Updated:2/8/08 9:48 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneMarie60 said...
Terrific top! I love the color, too. Your top looks great on you.
1/4/08 10:20 AM
Seaspur said...
I like your version much better than than tied one. Looks great on you!
1/4/08 10:39 AM
Linda G said...
Very cute top. The color is wonderful. Isn't BWOF great, they are so fashion forward.
1/4/08 1:46 PM
zora said...
Very nice top!
1/4/08 2:10 PM
rivergum said...
LOVE the way you did the ties, it looks so elegant. I agree with you that tying things at the back is pretty silly for a grown woman ;-)
1/4/08 2:50 PM
Karen6790 said...
Congrats, both on getting this done and obviously making friends with your camera again. I still haven't finished anything out of the issues I borrowed from you, but soon! I like the way you did the ties on this - if I ever make a second version, I think I'll do that.
1/4/08 3:48 PM
Heatherrique said...
I also like this one, NiceGirl! As my friend Roddy sings, "You Wear It Well"!
1/4/08 4:57 PM
cindyann said...
Very pretty color on you! Great idea sewing the ties to the SS.
1/4/08 6:25 PM
MasoumaRose said...
Very nice! I like the alteration you did (with the criscross ties). I saw that pattern and thought that the knot in the back might be lumpy and uncomfortable. I like how you modified it!
1/4/08 7:18 PM
Lori V said...
Cute top, great idea sewing the ties into the side seams.
1/4/08 11:35 PM
Christina Sonja said...
I like how you altered the ties; I also tend to avoid things that tie in the back.
1/5/08 1:54 AM
Karen8320 said...
Nicegirl, this looks great on you! You always have such interesting ideas about ways of modifying things to suit what you prefer. I love what you've done with the ties on this. Sewing them into the side seam makes so much sense. Great work!
1/5/08 6:24 AM
Peggy L said...
Great "refinements". I like the way you did the ties.
1/5/08 8:56 AM
Larkin said...
I love your top and I think the decision to capture the ties in the side seams made it even more flattering!
1/5/08 11:01 AM
Grammy Gin said...
I like the way you finished the ties at the side seam. Color looks good on you. Very nice job! ;-)
1/6/08 10:07 AM
marpratt said...
Nicegirl, I love all of your reviews on patternreview. You are a great inspiration for those of us who are trying to improve our sewing skills. You show us how to keep working on a project until we get it right. Thank you! Marpratt
2/8/08 11:07 AM
Vivienne said...
Soooo devatastingly cute in the sweaterknit! I like the dress version too, but then again I am quite partial to my bathrobe.
2/8/08 12:08 PM
chemmom said...
I think the heavier sweater knit fabric really makes this top shine. I thinks is a little more forgiving in the wrap areas, while the lighter knit looks like you have to fiddle with it to lay just right. Love the pale cream color too.
2/8/08 8:31 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Both your versions are lovely, but the latest cream sweater knit is stunning. Your collar and ties conversions were inspired, and you look killer chic. As always, excellent review. -Lily
2/8/08 11:08 PM
kim*brown said...
Great job on both, but I'm not sure about the fit of the burgundy top. I'm sure you will wear it well though!!
2/9/08 3:24 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Colette Patterns 0003 Sorbetto
photo
Review by karenball on 9/25/11
Read Review

Maria Denmark Paula Pleat Skirt Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Paula Pleat Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 6M- 4)
Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 6M- 4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4785
photo
Review by loralees on 6/4/07
Read Review

Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4132 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18 )
Butterick 4132 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 3152 Pattern
Burda 3152 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us