Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5525 thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 2069 times 61 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:CynthiaSue
photo
Friend of PR
About CynthiaSuestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 10/11/03
Reviews written: 80
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 108 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:1/5/08 12:31 PM
Last Updated:1/5/08 12:30 PM


See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
38 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lisa Merry said...
Wow! Great looking coat - I love the collar and sleeves. Your hard work was worth it!!
1/5/08 12:34 PM
SewKnitYKnot said...
Very stylish coat -- it looks great. Congrats on sticking with it -- it looks fantastic & is worth all the effort you put into it!
1/5/08 12:51 PM
Riordan said...
Very pretty coat--it looks perfect on you!!
1/5/08 12:55 PM
michellep74 said...
Your coat looks great! Your hard work really paid off on this--it looks fantastic on you!
1/5/08 1:26 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Beautiful coat Cindy, all your lovely hard work shows. Thanks for sharing, enjoy it keeping you warm!!
1/5/08 1:42 PM
loohoo44 said...
wow, I'm amazed by your persistence! Good for you, and you got a fabulous coat out of it as well. Very stylish.
1/5/08 3:04 PM
annie11 said...
That's gorgeous! Congratulations on such a fantastic garment! You'll get a lot of use out of this one.
1/5/08 3:52 PM
Lori V said...
Your coat looks amazing on you. I love the style, sleeves and color, great job. All your hard work was worth it.
1/5/08 4:08 PM
KathleenS said...
Well done. It looks great and I'm sure you get a lot of use out of it.
1/5/08 4:38 PM
Puppy said...
I love it, I love it! I covet it, I covet it! I especially love the collar. Persistence certainly paid off with this little number!
1/5/08 4:42 PM
JennyAnne said...
That is such a beautiful coat! All the ripping and re-sewing really paid off. Thanks for the helpful review.
1/5/08 4:48 PM
Nancywin said...
Super! Aren't you just so proud of yourself? I know I was when I made my coat last year. It is such a big accomplishment. I have bought this same pattern to make a coat for my daughter. I hope it doesn't take me 60 hours! I'm so glad you stuck it out because now you will feel like you can tackle anything!
1/5/08 5:30 PM
Dei said...
This was worth the wait (and work). It looks great. I have this pattern on my sewing table ready to sew and I'm glad to see it in on someone looking so good. I may be asking you for help.
1/5/08 5:32 PM
Erica B. said...
Cindy, the outcome was worth all of the trouble you went through. It looks fabulous!
1/5/08 6:17 PM
ryankckids said...
It's beautiful (work) and adorable (on you)! You should be so proud for sticking it out. What a lot of work...and it turned out great.
1/5/08 6:47 PM
sewbehind said...
Husbands have such great ideas! Great looking coat! Well done. I had to giggle with your lining ingenuity.
1/5/08 7:28 PM
MissCelie said...
Look at you!! You look fabulous and soooo proud of yourself!
1/5/08 10:42 PM
Jan B. said...
This coat is fabulous on you! What great tenacity to put in that many hours on one project. You've got a wonderful, one-of-a-kind coat--congratulations.
1/5/08 11:15 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
That wonderful coat was worth every second you spent on it. *Fantastic*!!
1/5/08 11:23 PM
TwilaO said...
From my standpoint, it was worth all that extra work! Way to keep at it. I am very impressed - it's gorgeous!
1/6/08 0:36 AM
SusiM said...
A very nice outcome! Think of how much you learned - it was worth it.
1/6/08 3:01 AM
carolynw said...
Now who would have thought you had trouble turnign out this beautiful coat - you look ready to "strut your stuff" in this. Love your review and congratulatuions for sticking to this !!
1/6/08 9:50 AM
crisford said...
This is so cute and it really suits you! Congratulations, good work!
1/6/08 12:27 PM
lmg said...
It was worth the time and trouble. Thanks for the inspiration
1/6/08 8:13 PM
Larkin said...
You should be so proud of yourself - your coat is beautiful, you learned a lot and you stuck with it! Really, really nice job, congrats!
1/6/08 9:26 PM
Annette1 said...
WOW! Fantastic coat that looks just PERFECT on you! I hope you're very proud of yourself. All of your hard work paid off. :o)
1/7/08 3:28 AM
LindsayT said...
All you coat-makers are just so darn inspiring to me. Great job!
1/8/08 12:28 PM
Heatherrique said...
Great cosmopolitan-looking and glamourous coat! Your wonderful work and patience was well worth it! You wear it with a lot of finesse and style!
1/12/08 4:00 PM
snowflake girl said...
Great looking coat. Mine is on the cutting table.
1/13/08 7:39 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Congratulations on this accomplishment -- what a gorgeous coat!!
1/16/08 8:22 PM
Sharon M said...
Your coat is so beautiful! I'm glad you stuck with it...not only do you have a gorgeous one of a kind coat to wear, but you proved to yourself that you could do it. Great job!
1/31/08 10:36 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Your coat is a very au courant version of a timeless classic. It's not easy to set a perfect vent, and you've done it. You look very chic and modern, but you'd look smashing in a burlap bag. -Lily
2/2/08 3:57 PM
marjenann said...
Wow!! That is an awesome coat!! It reminds me of a Calvin Klein Original!! You look sooooooo chic!
2/3/08 3:50 PM
Peggy L said...
Beautiful coal - and quite a story! :)
2/4/08 2:50 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
How did I fall so far behind in reviews - another awesome jacket Cindy - woo hoo!!!
2/4/08 4:29 PM
JMarie1962 said...
This coat looks so cute on you! I've been debating whether to make this for a long, long time. McCall's is on sale at JoAnn's this Friday - I think I'll have to pick it up and think about a spring trench for myself. Nice job!
2/16/08 10:04 PM
Elle D said...
McCall's is on sale at JoAnn's this Friday? This coat will be mine! Or, at least the pattern will be mine. It bears repeating, you look fabulous in this coat, great job.
2/19/08 9:45 PM
Physics Girl said...
fun review... and your husband's right: with a coat this nice you don't have to wear anything underneath! (lol... I'm laughing because I'm remembering my mother's story about a college roommate going to chapel in just her outer-coat and slip.. :)
2/26/08 11:00 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Butterick 6838 6838
photo
Review by Kayseri on 9/9/09
Read Review

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern
Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt
Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Stella Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Stella Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Esther Blouse Digital Pattern (SS10-11-102)
Angela Osborn Esther Blouse Digital Pattern (SS10-11-102)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 117862-1008 lace skirt
photo
Review by French.Sea... on 9/16/13
Read Review

McCalls 6228 Pattern ( Size 34-36 )
McCalls 6228 Pattern ( Size 34-36 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1569 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
Simplicity 1569 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us