SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2556 (Issey Miyake)

7 more reviews
Viewed 1828 times 
Reviewed by:causticmuse
photo

 
 
About causticmusestar
FL USA
Member since: 12/2/06
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/6/08 10:57 PM
Last Updated:1/7/08 4:17 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 23 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cabinbaby said...
Very interesting dress. I love the splash of black. It looks great on you!
1/6/08 11:38 PM
Athene said...
This dress looks absolutely beautiful on you. Your version is much more gorgeous than the pattern envelope.
1/7/08 1:30 AM
Yakityak said...
I love Miyake! Your dress is great! I cut out a Miyake shirt ages ago and would get lost in the directions if I looked away from it for more than a minute. :-) Need to finish that one still.
1/7/08 1:51 AM
Annette1 said...
Wow, love that siren red, and you look GREAT in it!
1/7/08 2:47 AM
jlg said...
Wonderful dress. It looks fantastic on you.
1/7/08 5:21 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Looks stunning on you. An interesting style. By the way, I like your shoes!
1/7/08 5:31 AM
Linda G said...
Absolutely darling dress, great job and good review.
1/7/08 6:54 AM
Em's Summer said...
Great dress! Very avant garde look. Totally the Miyake look! I'm glad you decided to finish it because it turned out really well. I think I'm going to have to make this one, too! Great review!
1/7/08 7:13 AM
Sigrid. said...
Wonderful dress. Spectacular looks.
1/7/08 8:26 AM
Ellenatlga said...
I think you look stunning in this dress. I never made this dress, but I have the Vogue Pattern Magazine issue and a long length of snap tape that I purchased when this issue came out. You got alot more complete than I did, heehee.
1/7/08 9:12 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Absolutely lovely - you are right - this style is not for everyone - but it looks wonderful on you.
1/7/08 10:07 AM
Karen8320 said...
Causticmuse, you've done a fabulous job with this! You honestly look fantastic in this outfit and your finished garment looks so much better than the one on the pattern envelope. Kudos to you for attempting a Miyake in the first instance and congratulations for finishing this item.
1/7/08 10:16 AM
crisford said...
Wow, that looks gorgeous! Thanks for reviewing Miyake.
1/7/08 10:56 AM
So So said...
Great dress, love the colour. You are the correct shape for this. Hope you are continuing with your personal challenge!
1/7/08 12:01 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
Beautiful dress. I love the color.
1/7/08 12:04 PM
causticmuse said...
Thanks everyone! I'd seen a few reviews of the skirt view from this pattern, but no one had posted one for the dress. I figured I should just get the thing done sometime before the pattern went OOP! Linda L - The shoes are Dr. Scholl's if you can believe it. I found them on Zappo's first, then located a pair on eBay for $20. :D
1/7/08 1:53 PM
Dee2 said...
I like your dress much better than the one on the pattern envelope! Beautiful color choice too.
1/7/08 6:00 PM
Heatherrique said...
Stunning! Great dress!
1/7/08 6:11 PM
DorothyK said...
I think you did a great job and I love the way it looks on you. I have this pattern but I've been afraid to make it. Now you have inspired me.
1/7/08 7:22 PM
CarolynGM said...
Great color choices. The dress looks sensational on you. I made a Miyake dress once and found it quite an adventure, much as you did.
1/7/08 7:40 PM
Marji said...
Congrats on finishing it. I know what it can be like to pull out a project started a year or two before and wonder 'what the heck?' It looks great on you - and I totally agree with your assessment that it will flatter those who're slim and waifish best.
1/7/08 8:45 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Fantastic dress. That color and style is very flattering on you.
1/7/08 9:28 PM
RMJ said...
Wow! Looks great on you.
1/7/08 9:30 PM
nicegirl said...
Impressive achievement! The nonstandard construction would have killed me.
1/8/08 9:48 AM
moushka said...
Hope you get to wear this one on Valentine's Day. It's a killer dress and you look spectacular in it! I love Miyake and you really make it look like he designed that dress for real women and not lollipops. Beautiful. Thanks for a great review. Sue
1/8/08 10:43 PM
busy bee said...
Great review! Thanks. You look great!
1/9/08 9:20 AM
Kellie R. said...
That looks great! I think the fabric looks fantastic for the style. Thanks for the great review.
1/9/08 2:56 PM
Modiste Madness said...
I like your version better than any I have seen. It is more wearable and an average basis.
1/16/08 12:48 PM
Sharon M said...
Wow! Stunning dress!
1/31/08 11:05 PM
solosmocker said...
Beautiful dress and stunning on.
2/1/08 5:14 PM
Berry B said...
Amazing dress. I love it and after reading your review i'll definitely give it a go!
3/6/08 4:58 PM
rachbick said...
yeah, the directions aren't very clear about the snap-tape part. i'm stuck there!
4/21/08 7:23 PM
Ivanna said...
I Think you did a beautiful job you look wonderful in this and I'm a tiny size 0-2 and am hoping the pattern would fit or be modified to my size and the fabric looks gorgeous on you as well I consider myself a beginning-Intermediate designer
7/21/08 3:12 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Vogue Patterns 1315

photo
by: Kathhhhhy

Review
Bernina MyLabel T-Shirt

photo
by: rutaliet

Review
Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Wrap Dress

Christine Jonson Wrap Dress

Buy Now