Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2556 (Issey Miyake) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1820 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 23 people   
Reviewed by:causticmuse
photo
About causticmusestar
FL USA
Member since: 12/2/06
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/6/08 10:57 PM
Last Updated:1/7/08 4:17 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cabinbaby said...
Very interesting dress. I love the splash of black. It looks great on you!
1/6/08 11:38 PM
Athene said...
This dress looks absolutely beautiful on you. Your version is much more gorgeous than the pattern envelope.
1/7/08 1:30 AM
Yakityak said...
I love Miyake! Your dress is great! I cut out a Miyake shirt ages ago and would get lost in the directions if I looked away from it for more than a minute. :-) Need to finish that one still.
1/7/08 1:51 AM
Annette1 said...
Wow, love that siren red, and you look GREAT in it!
1/7/08 2:47 AM
jlg said...
Wonderful dress. It looks fantastic on you.
1/7/08 5:21 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Looks stunning on you. An interesting style. By the way, I like your shoes!
1/7/08 5:31 AM
Linda G said...
Absolutely darling dress, great job and good review.
1/7/08 6:54 AM
Em's Summer said...
Great dress! Very avant garde look. Totally the Miyake look! I'm glad you decided to finish it because it turned out really well. I think I'm going to have to make this one, too! Great review!
1/7/08 7:13 AM
Sigrid. said...
Wonderful dress. Spectacular looks.
1/7/08 8:26 AM
Ellenatlga said...
I think you look stunning in this dress. I never made this dress, but I have the Vogue Pattern Magazine issue and a long length of snap tape that I purchased when this issue came out. You got alot more complete than I did, heehee.
1/7/08 9:12 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Absolutely lovely - you are right - this style is not for everyone - but it looks wonderful on you.
1/7/08 10:07 AM
Karen8320 said...
Causticmuse, you've done a fabulous job with this! You honestly look fantastic in this outfit and your finished garment looks so much better than the one on the pattern envelope. Kudos to you for attempting a Miyake in the first instance and congratulations for finishing this item.
1/7/08 10:16 AM
crisford said...
Wow, that looks gorgeous! Thanks for reviewing Miyake.
1/7/08 10:56 AM
So So said...
Great dress, love the colour. You are the correct shape for this. Hope you are continuing with your personal challenge!
1/7/08 12:01 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
Beautiful dress. I love the color.
1/7/08 12:04 PM
causticmuse said...
Thanks everyone! I'd seen a few reviews of the skirt view from this pattern, but no one had posted one for the dress. I figured I should just get the thing done sometime before the pattern went OOP! Linda L - The shoes are Dr. Scholl's if you can believe it. I found them on Zappo's first, then located a pair on eBay for $20. :D
1/7/08 1:53 PM
Dee2 said...
I like your dress much better than the one on the pattern envelope! Beautiful color choice too.
1/7/08 6:00 PM
Heatherrique said...
Stunning! Great dress!
1/7/08 6:11 PM
DorothyK said...
I think you did a great job and I love the way it looks on you. I have this pattern but I've been afraid to make it. Now you have inspired me.
1/7/08 7:22 PM
CarolynGM said...
Great color choices. The dress looks sensational on you. I made a Miyake dress once and found it quite an adventure, much as you did.
1/7/08 7:40 PM
Marji said...
Congrats on finishing it. I know what it can be like to pull out a project started a year or two before and wonder 'what the heck?' It looks great on you - and I totally agree with your assessment that it will flatter those who're slim and waifish best.
1/7/08 8:45 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Fantastic dress. That color and style is very flattering on you.
1/7/08 9:28 PM
RMJ said...
Wow! Looks great on you.
1/7/08 9:30 PM
nicegirl said...
Impressive achievement! The nonstandard construction would have killed me.
1/8/08 9:48 AM
moushka said...
Hope you get to wear this one on Valentine's Day. It's a killer dress and you look spectacular in it! I love Miyake and you really make it look like he designed that dress for real women and not lollipops. Beautiful. Thanks for a great review. Sue
1/8/08 10:43 PM
busy bee said...
Great review! Thanks. You look great!
1/9/08 9:20 AM
Kellie R. said...
That looks great! I think the fabric looks fantastic for the style. Thanks for the great review.
1/9/08 2:56 PM
Modiste Madness said...
I like your version better than any I have seen. It is more wearable and an average basis.
1/16/08 12:48 PM
Sharon M said...
Wow! Stunning dress!
1/31/08 11:05 PM
solosmocker said...
Beautiful dress and stunning on.
2/1/08 5:14 PM
Berry B said...
Amazing dress. I love it and after reading your review i'll definitely give it a go!
3/6/08 4:58 PM
rachbick said...
yeah, the directions aren't very clear about the snap-tape part. i'm stuck there!
4/21/08 7:23 PM
Ivanna said...
I Think you did a beautiful job you look wonderful in this and I'm a tiny size 0-2 and am hoping the pattern would fit or be modified to my size and the fabric looks gorgeous on you as well I consider myself a beginning-Intermediate designer
7/21/08 3:12 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Kwik Sew 3348 Girls Dresses
photo
Review by SandraB on 7/21/08
Read Review

McCalls 6758 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
McCalls 6758 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6799 Pattern
New Look 6799 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3542
photo
Review by CA Eisenho... on 1/20/08
Read Review

Simple Things A Pretty Good Bag Digital Pattern (005)
Simple Things A Pretty Good Bag Digital Pattern (005)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Madeleine Skirt Digital Pattern
Victory Madeleine Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuseTailorUltra White
PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us