SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8096 (Vogue Men shirts)

3 more reviews
Viewed 563 times 
Reviewed by:Allie in Hong Kong
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Allie in Hong Kongstarstarstarstar
NA HONG KONG
Member since: 9/2/03
Reviews: 90 (patterns: 89)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 93 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/8/08 9:37 AM
Last Updated:1/16/08 8:51 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Beech FiveEight said... (6/3/08 9:18 PM) Reply
Allie, This shirt looks great. Between you and FIXED GEAR HEAD, I am inspired to make the shirt, too. Thanks for your really great pattern review. Mark
SarahSM said... (1/17/08 1:57 AM) Reply
Great fabric! You've done a wonderful job on this.. It's nice to see your contemporizing of the fit---good suggestion on slimming down the sides.
Twinset said... (1/17/08 0:04 AM) Reply
This shirt looks very nice! I also love the fabric you used!
ladybegood said... (1/16/08 11:08 PM) Reply
I love your yoke detail, and that fabric is so hip. Wery nice work!
Allie in Hong Kong said... (1/16/08 8:54 PM) Reply
Thanks I've edited the review to add in some links. SewLil I think the picture you are referring to is the sleeve seam, I also added detail of the back yoke. Franticfashion, I just follwed the pattern instructions to make the collar and used fusible interfacing as I would in womens shirts. I guess for a more formal shirt you'd want to use something stiffer - David Page Coffin probably has the answers!
Tiner W said... (1/16/08 4:32 PM) Reply
That's a beautiful shirt! I must get this pattern!
rivergum said... (1/16/08 2:28 PM) Reply
That shirt looks great! How did you do the collar, I have always been put off making men's shirts because of the way the collars are fused in RTW.
SewLil said... (1/16/08 12:21 PM) Reply
I think the shirt looks fantastic! I looked at your blog. What is that 2nd picture of. Looks like a pocket somewhere. I would love to see a picture of the back too where topstitched a piece of fabrice over the seam. Very nice work.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 7871

photo
by: cleverkitt...

Review
Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

Pattern Details
SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

Pattern Details