SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8096 (Vogue Men shirts)

3 more reviews
Viewed 563 times 
Reviewed by:Allie in Hong Kong
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Allie in Hong Kongstarstarstarstar
NA HONG KONG
Member since: 9/2/03
Reviews: 90 (patterns: 89)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 92 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/8/08 9:37 AM
Last Updated:1/16/08 8:51 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater Knit Fabrics
Web site

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Vesta Patterns


vestapatterns.com
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Beech FiveEight said... (6/3/08 9:18 PM) Reply
Allie, This shirt looks great. Between you and FIXED GEAR HEAD, I am inspired to make the shirt, too. Thanks for your really great pattern review. Mark
SarahSM said... (1/17/08 1:57 AM) Reply
Great fabric! You've done a wonderful job on this.. It's nice to see your contemporizing of the fit---good suggestion on slimming down the sides.
Twinset said... (1/17/08 0:04 AM) Reply
This shirt looks very nice! I also love the fabric you used!
ladybegood said... (1/16/08 11:08 PM) Reply
I love your yoke detail, and that fabric is so hip. Wery nice work!
Allie in Hong Kong said... (1/16/08 8:54 PM) Reply
Thanks I've edited the review to add in some links. SewLil I think the picture you are referring to is the sleeve seam, I also added detail of the back yoke. Franticfashion, I just follwed the pattern instructions to make the collar and used fusible interfacing as I would in womens shirts. I guess for a more formal shirt you'd want to use something stiffer - David Page Coffin probably has the answers!
Tiner W said... (1/16/08 4:32 PM) Reply
That's a beautiful shirt! I must get this pattern!
rivergum said... (1/16/08 2:28 PM) Reply
That shirt looks great! How did you do the collar, I have always been put off making men's shirts because of the way the collars are fused in RTW.
SewLil said... (1/16/08 12:21 PM) Reply
I think the shirt looks fantastic! I looked at your blog. What is that 2nd picture of. Looks like a pocket somewhere. I would love to see a picture of the back too where topstitched a piece of fabrice over the seam. Very nice work.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

KnipMode Magazine 01-2011-13

photo
by: treefrog

Review
Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Pattern Details
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Pattern Details