Online Sewing Class: Understanding Sheer Fabrics
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8096 (Vogue Men shirts)

3 more reviews
Viewed 564 times 
Reviewed by:Allie in Hong Kong
photo

 
 
About Allie in Hong Kongstarstarstarstar
NA HONG KONG
Member since: 9/2/03
Reviews: 90 (patterns: 89)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 93 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/8/08 9:37 AM
Last Updated:1/16/08 8:51 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater Knit Fabrics
Web site

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Beech FiveEight said... (6/3/08 9:18 PM) Reply
Allie, This shirt looks great. Between you and FIXED GEAR HEAD, I am inspired to make the shirt, too. Thanks for your really great pattern review. Mark
SarahSM said... (1/17/08 1:57 AM) Reply
Great fabric! You've done a wonderful job on this.. It's nice to see your contemporizing of the fit---good suggestion on slimming down the sides.
Twinset said... (1/17/08 0:04 AM) Reply
This shirt looks very nice! I also love the fabric you used!
ladybegood said... (1/16/08 11:08 PM) Reply
I love your yoke detail, and that fabric is so hip. Wery nice work!
Allie in Hong Kong said... (1/16/08 8:54 PM) Reply
Thanks I've edited the review to add in some links. SewLil I think the picture you are referring to is the sleeve seam, I also added detail of the back yoke. Franticfashion, I just follwed the pattern instructions to make the collar and used fusible interfacing as I would in womens shirts. I guess for a more formal shirt you'd want to use something stiffer - David Page Coffin probably has the answers!
Tiner W said... (1/16/08 4:32 PM) Reply
That's a beautiful shirt! I must get this pattern!
rivergum said... (1/16/08 2:28 PM) Reply
That shirt looks great! How did you do the collar, I have always been put off making men's shirts because of the way the collars are fused in RTW.
SewLil said... (1/16/08 12:21 PM) Reply
I think the shirt looks fantastic! I looked at your blog. What is that 2nd picture of. Looks like a pocket somewhere. I would love to see a picture of the back too where topstitched a piece of fabrice over the seam. Very nice work.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1082 (Betzina)

photo
by: CarolineB

Review
Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Pattern Details
Curve Runner 12 inch (New & Improved)

Curve Runner 12 inch (New & Improved)

Pattern Details
Vogue Patterns V8828

photo
by: tracyH2

Review