SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8096 (Vogue Men shirts)

3 more reviews
Viewed 561 times 
Reviewed by:Allie in Hong Kong
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Allie in Hong Kongstarstarstarstar
NA HONG KONG
Member since: 9/2/03
Reviews written: 90
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 92 people
patterns reviewed: 89
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/8/08 9:37 AM
Last Updated:1/16/08 8:51 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewLil said...
I think the shirt looks fantastic! I looked at your blog. What is that 2nd picture of. Looks like a pocket somewhere. I would love to see a picture of the back too where topstitched a piece of fabrice over the seam. Very nice work.
1/16/08 12:21 PM
rivergum said...
That shirt looks great! How did you do the collar, I have always been put off making men's shirts because of the way the collars are fused in RTW.
1/16/08 2:28 PM
Tiner W said...
That's a beautiful shirt! I must get this pattern!
1/16/08 4:32 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Thanks I've edited the review to add in some links. SewLil I think the picture you are referring to is the sleeve seam, I also added detail of the back yoke. Franticfashion, I just follwed the pattern instructions to make the collar and used fusible interfacing as I would in womens shirts. I guess for a more formal shirt you'd want to use something stiffer - David Page Coffin probably has the answers!
1/16/08 8:54 PM
ladybegood said...
I love your yoke detail, and that fabric is so hip. Wery nice work!
1/16/08 11:08 PM
Twinset said...
This shirt looks very nice! I also love the fabric you used!
1/17/08 0:04 AM
SarahSM said...
Great fabric! You've done a wonderful job on this.. It's nice to see your contemporizing of the fit---good suggestion on slimming down the sides.
1/17/08 1:57 AM
Beech FiveEight said...
Allie, This shirt looks great. Between you and FIXED GEAR HEAD, I am inspired to make the shirt, too. Thanks for your really great pattern review. Mark
6/3/08 9:18 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

HotPatterns Fringe T

photo
by: Charbucks

Review
Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Buy Now
SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern

SewBaby

Buy Now
McCall's 6564

photo
by: MNBarb

Review