Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7976 (Today's Fit Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1921 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 38 people   
Reviewed by:Karen6790
photo
Friend of PR
About Karen6790starstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 3/2/06
Reviews written: 212
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 211
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/8/08 9:41 AM
Last Updated:2/27/08 8:00 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
58 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
gatorgirl4325 said...
Your jacket is absolutely fabulous! You did a great job putting it all together.
1/8/08 9:47 AM
cindy-lou said...
Mmmmmmm, Mmmmm, what a great jacket! Love the fabric, love the look. And thanks for re-affirming my 2008 idea that I can cut into some good stuff, even if I was kinda sorta thinking of a different project-- and re-affirming my desire to do it slow, but do it right. Thanks for the review. And I just ordered this pattern--I'm lovin' life now!
1/8/08 10:34 AM
Jan B. said...
Fantastic jacket! You really worked it, and the results show it. It's interesting how your fabric photographed. I've looked at this pattern many times with it's unusual front darts. I enjoyed looking around your blog too.
1/8/08 11:15 AM
CarolynGM said...
What a clever way to put fabrics together to simulate leather for your muslin. The sleeves look like they went in beautifully with the reduced ease. Truly a great jacket.
1/8/08 11:16 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great looking jacket. Love how you fused the fabrics together to get what you want. Fabulous
1/8/08 11:31 AM
Peggy L said...
Great jacket - lovely lining. Thanks for the heads up on the sleeve instructions. I find that mind boggling, too but I have this pattern in my stash and will check out SB's instructions.
1/8/08 11:51 AM
nicegirl said...
I am so inspired by all your hard and patient work! You put a lot of effort into this and it really shows. And good for you for cutting into the silk. I really need to learn to do that.
1/8/08 12:01 PM
Sherril Miller said...
That is a georgous jacket. I went shopping for a jacket yesterday and the only thing I found that beautiful was $200. Thank you for reminding me of this great pattern which happens to be in my stash.
1/8/08 12:26 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, I must say this is the prettiest "muslin" I've ever seen! :o) I love looking at all of your pictures of this fantastic jacket! I've mulled over that pattern many a time, but until I saw your review here, it never really appealed to me -- ha! Your workmanship is impeccable, and your fabrics just divine! I like your resolution, too: ditto on that!
1/8/08 12:28 PM
Ronda Rae said...
Ditto, what Cindy-Lou said!
1/8/08 12:31 PM
Irene Q said...
Muslin??? Hah! That's one beautiful jacket! And this pattern is going to look really nice in the leather, too - looking forward to seeing that, whenever you get to it!
1/8/08 12:41 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Looks fantastic! I love the fabric, the style and even the great lining!
1/8/08 1:30 PM
rivergum said...
Karen, what a great jacket! You did such a terrific job on that. I LOVE the lining especially.
1/8/08 1:49 PM
sideseams said...
karen, thank you for your detailed review. I learned a lot and want to try this pattern. Love your jacket.
1/8/08 3:30 PM
ButtonFaith said...
What a great jacket! I would have passed right over that pattern had I not seen your jacket! And that's a muslin??? Don't keep us waiting for the leather one too long!
1/8/08 3:39 PM
Oziroo said...
This jacket looks wonderful. Your very careful work really paid off.
1/8/08 4:42 PM
bluenines said...
Beautiful jacket,, you have done a beautiful job!
1/8/08 5:03 PM
JudiBee2 said...
It's outstanding. I think you can use it for a long time and enjoy those great fabrics. Thanks for letting us know about removing the sleeve ease. You did a great job with the zipper. I would love to know how you got it so even.
1/8/08 5:43 PM
Riordan said...
Beautiful jacket--the fabric is wonderful and it looks very professionally made!
1/8/08 5:55 PM
carolynw said...
Well Karen thsi is absolutely beautiful - I looked at it and went OMG I want this - but of course with the fabric fast not possible and anyway not much chance of finding material as beautiful as yours. I just love the finished product and yes - there are really benefits to sewing slowly again after madly dashing about before Christmas and making all sorts of really, really silly mistakes.
1/8/08 6:13 PM
nancy2001 said...
Beautiful jacket.
1/8/08 7:13 PM
jlg said...
Great job on this jacket. The fabric is perfect. Thanks for sharing.
1/8/08 7:30 PM
Kay Y said...
Very nice jacket, and your lining is truly special! A great example of slow sewing. I'm looking forward to reading about the leather one.
1/8/08 8:19 PM
Linda G said...
You did a great job, good review and I enjoyed your blog. I can't wait to see your leather version.
1/8/08 8:30 PM
CynthiaSue said...
yes this IS fantastic. so professional and the weight with your flannel turned out perfectly.
1/8/08 11:33 PM
PegL said...
Very pretty jacket! Nicest ''muslin'' I've seen!
1/9/08 5:35 AM
BillieJean said...
I don't know how I've missed this pattern. I love the collar and the darts down the side just add so much. Beautiful jacket.
1/9/08 6:31 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Beautiful jacket!! This pattern is on my short list too. I love your fabric choice, but muslin? Nah! It's too wonderful to call a muslin.
1/9/08 6:39 AM
Karen8320 said...
Karen, this is an amazing piece of work! Everything about it is impressive and it looks absolutely gorgeous!!! I can't wait to see it in leather.
1/9/08 7:51 AM
Marji said...
Karen, this looks great! Love the thought you put into creating a fabric that has the right drape and hand to emulate the leather, and still you created a garment that is much more than a 'wearable muslin', you created a beautiful jacket that stands on it's own. Love it!
1/9/08 8:17 AM
Jane S said...
Wow, wow , wow, what a stunning jacket. I've had a muslin of this one for 1 1/2 years and must do it in 2008! Thanks for your detailed and timely review, it's inspiring.
1/9/08 10:36 AM
Kellie R. said...
Holy Smokes Karen! Two things pop to mind: 1) a muslin?!?! 2) you make me feel better about being a slow sewist if this is the quality of work that it results in. This jacket is STUNNING in both workmanship and fabric selection.
1/9/08 2:49 PM
ryan's mom said...
Wow!! That jacket looks terrific, Karen. And I can't wait to see it in leather!!!
1/10/08 11:13 AM
NEDayNow said...
Karen, this is fabulous! Can you tell us more about how you dealt with the zipper? The instructions are a bit sparse.
1/12/08 9:54 AM
ryansmumAria said...
unbelievable! Would you tell us approximately what the cost of the leather was...thanks
2/27/08 7:51 PM
Karen6790 said...
Ryansmum, I got the 40 sq. feet for approximately $110. So taking my time into account, I probably didn't save a lot by making this myself, but sometimes it's not about the money, right?
2/27/08 8:04 PM
MarilynB said...
You are an inspiration to all of us, Karen. Your jacket is lovely. Next PR weekend, I'm sure more of us will be stocking up on large amounts of leather.
2/27/08 8:31 PM
Athene said...
Wow -what a gorgeous jacket. I had to add your review to my favorites - I have the pattern and after seeing this review I'm seriously thinking about cutting up a red suede swing coat I have that I never use.
2/27/08 8:46 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Just a kickin' leather jacket, Karen. Looks perfect from all angles, including your zipper installation. Leather is one of my favorite 'fabrics' and shortly, will be one of yours, following your great success. This one would be equally at home on a bike and at a Broadway show, with fancy dinner afterwards. Brava! -Lily
2/27/08 8:50 PM
Olivia Sews said...
Wow! I can't believe I missed this review earlier. Did you sew this on a regular or industrial machine?
2/27/08 9:16 PM
SansSouci572 said...
What a great choice for your first leather pattern, I would have never thought of it! What a rush for you!!
2/27/08 9:17 PM
Em's Summer said...
WOW!!! That design is just simply TDF!!! I love the darts! It makes the jacket look so high end designer! And you did a great job putting it together. Your jacket is just beautiful!!! Waay better than anything in the stores! Great job and great review!!!
2/27/08 10:45 PM
Lori V said...
Gorgeous jacket, Karen. You did an incredible job.
2/27/08 11:56 PM
Shrazzy said...
Wonderful jacket. The darts in the leather are very striking .
2/28/08 6:35 AM
Robbie Jo said...
OMG!!! I am in awe of your skill and COURAGE!!!
2/28/08 7:57 AM
nancy2001 said...
Beautiful jacket.
2/28/08 8:57 AM
cindyann said...
Thank you so much for this review! I have some leather that wants to be a jacket too. Like you, I've never made a "garment" from leather. Glad to know that it's not a difficult as we believe. Your patience and care are well noted! Bookmarking your review for future reference. The jacket is AWESOME.
2/28/08 9:05 AM
carolynw said...
Karen I am speechless - what an absolutely fantastic job you have done with this leather - would swear you got it at some high end store!
2/28/08 9:20 AM
SexiSadi said...
GREAT job on the jacket!
2/28/08 12:10 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Your leather jacket is fabulous. I have jacket envy now. Thanks for all the tips working with leather. Your review was very inspirational.
2/28/08 12:22 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Went to your blog, but I couldn't find a pic of you wearing it. I'd love to see you with a great big smile wearing that wonderful jacket.
2/28/08 12:41 PM
Erica B. said...
This jacket is so fabulous! I love it.
2/28/08 2:08 PM
Luckylibbet said...
WOW. I'll say it again. WOW. You'll have to buy insurance on that jacket in case one of us steals it from you in a fit of leather envy. (kidding)
2/28/08 7:48 PM
cecelia said...
Both jackets are TDF--what a wonderful job you did--let's hear it for "slow sewing." You'll get lots of mileage out of these 2 winners.
3/1/08 2:41 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Great jackets!
3/22/08 9:00 PM
AngieC said...
WOW! What a beautiful jacket! Wonderful review and an inspirational project for sure! Thank you for sharing~
8/26/08 0:37 AM
LizzM26 said...
Very nice jacket. I am impress.
8/27/08 8:52 PM
Joanne624 said...
What an absolutely beautiful jacket! You do great work!!
1/6/10 6:40 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2009-102
photo
Review by Heidi Ho on 1/12/10
Read Review

New Look 6141 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )
New Look 6141 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1657 Pattern ( Size 18W-26W )
Simplicity 1657 Pattern ( Size 18W-26W )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's M5050
photo
Review by velosewer on 11/3/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Lotta Lady Bag Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Lotta Lady Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern
SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us