Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4386 (Sheath Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1821 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:squilts
photo
About squiltsstar
IA USA
Member since: 1/24/06
Reviews written: 47
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/8/08 10:05 AM
Last Updated:2/1/08 9:45 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $15.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewKnitYKnot said...
Beautiful dress! It looks like it fits perfectly. I love the simple, classic look.
2/1/08 10:16 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Great review -- knockout little black dress! :)
2/1/08 10:27 AM
Marji said...
looks fabulous! I'm sorry you had difficulty with the tutorial I directed you to, and glad that Nancy provided the answers. I still love this dress pattern best for the basic little sheath - once the ridiculously high bust dart issues are taken care of. Enjoy your dress, it fits you beautifully.
2/1/08 10:49 AM
squilts said...
Marji - It wasn't my intention to say that the tutorial wasn't helpful, just that it didn't mesh with the way my mind works =(. I love that you can always find alternative ways for doing the same thing!
2/1/08 11:48 AM
Em's Summer said...
Great dress and great review with lots of tips!
2/1/08 11:55 AM
said...
I really enjoyed your review. Great looking dress and what a fantastic looking zipper.
2/1/08 1:19 PM
KathleenS said...
It looks great!
2/1/08 6:24 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Skilled workmanship and attention to fit details has resulted in the perfect LBD. It's really sophisticated and can be accessorized in countless creative ways. Congrats on a superbly flattering outcome. -Lily
2/1/08 8:23 PM
Nancywin said...
I love this dress! The fit looks fantastic and your zipper looks great! Thanks for the heads up on the Marcy Tilton book. I have a couple of the other books in the Easy Guide to... series and really like them. I'll have to add this one to my list. I'm so glad the tip on zippers helped you. You always wonder if anyone will really be able to understand what the heck it is you're trying to say! Again, great dress!
2/2/08 0:26 AM
cabinbaby said...
I love this dress! You have inspired to start working on my sheath dress again. Thanks for the review.
2/2/08 1:28 AM
Betsybobbin said...
You look elegant in this dress! Yours looks much better than the pattern envelope.
2/2/08 9:21 AM
cecelia said...
Beautiful--I'm glad you finished this--it looks marvelous!
2/2/08 5:13 PM
heapha said...
thanks - your review is almost as fabulous as the finished dress you have.... almost but not quite
3/16/09 7:23 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Other Oop M2241
photo
Review by velosewer on 1/29/11
Read Review

Simplicity 3750 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 3750 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3688 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 3688 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5464 Misses' Blouse
photo
Review by RadarRadia... on 6/19/10
Read Review

Sis Boom Lucy Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Lucy Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern ( XL-3XL)
SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern ( XL-3XL)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us