SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2792 (Leotards)

24 more reviews
Viewed 882 times 
Reviewed by:Birdie757
photo

 
 
About Birdie757star
MA
Member since: 5/10/07
Reviews written: 83
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/9/08 10:05 AM
Last Updated:6/26/14 4:28 PM
Project Photo:Jalie: 2792 by Birdie757

Jalie: 2792 by Birdie757  Jalie: 2792 by Birdie757  
Pattern Photo:Jalie 2792
Jalie Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Activewear    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Pattern Description:
Various leotards with three sleeve options (sleeveless, long sleeve or 3/4 length) and three back options (plain scoop, circular keyhole opening with closure or triangular keyhole with closure)
Pattern Sizing:
2T to a women's 14 (in us sizing)
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?Yes, with the exception of my changes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
I honestly did not look at anything but the photo directions...since they are so few I can just have one page open to see the whole process for all views.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I started using this pattern because when my daughter was 2 she needed a leotard and no stores sold them that small. She is now wearing 3 and 4T's and we are still cranking out leotards. I use this pattern for both dance and gymnastics leotards. The possibilities are really endless with something as plain as a leotard. I like to trace the front and back pieces as one and go from there for dance and I use bright color blocks for gymnastics.
Fabric Used:
Dance lycra knits from Joann's. (buy half yards with 40-50% off coupons and mix and match!)
Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made:
For gymnastics leotards I like to mix and match bright colors. By doing the two color versions I can sometimes get several leotards out of just a few half yards. I actually heard a woman comment at gymnastics about how she didn't understand why I spent a fortune on leotards for a 3 year old...once I told her I made them instead of spending $55 at the gym on them I can't go into the gym without someone asking me to make one for their daughter.

Sometimes if I am really using scraps I will alternate color blocks, for example doing a pink front top and a yellow back front then doing a yellow front bottom and a pink back bottom.

I trace the fronts and backs together as one piece for dance leotards. If you do this make sure you remember to eliminate the Seam allowances, especially on the upper back piece in the center. The most recent version I made for my daughter's first day at dance class. I simply traced the front and back pieces as one piece. I then measured from the leg edge of my daughter's underpants to her natural waist (taking into consideration the seam allowance for the elastic in the leg openings) and cut the pattern at her waist.

To make the skirt I drew my own frill pattern piece. I took the waist measurement and traced around a small plate. I then made the frill 6 1/2 inches long. This ended up being a bit too big around the waist but it was an easy fix to make it smaller rather than larger.

I think sewed the side seams up first, then the waist seam with the skirt in the middle of the tops and bottoms. I did not finish the edges of the skirt because I really liked the way it draped.

For all leotards I like to use lingerie elastic. I use a 3 step zig zag stitch to install all elastics. To eliminate gaping in the seat of the leotard I put in the front half with nearly zero stretch and do almost a 2 to 1 ratio on the seat so it is snug.

If you do a sleeved version remember to hem the sleeves before you sew up the side seams....the sleeve is amazingly small and there was no way on earth it was going to go through my cover stitch easily.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I have already sewn like 10 of these things. If you have a growing child in either gymnastics or dance this pattern will pay for itself in one use. It is such a simple pattern that can be jazzed up with a few simple changes.
Conclusion
Great simple leotard for girls. Lots of possibilities for variations so you will never get bored with the pattern.

***UPDATE 6/26/2014***
It has been several years since I reviewed this pattern. And I am happy to say this is STILL my go to pattern for leotards! My oldest daughter is now in a size M Jalie and my youngest daughter in a size I. We also now enjoy pairing this pattern with the Jalie boy shorts pattern as you can see on her wonder woman leotard. Not only has this pattern served me well as far as gymnastics...but also for dance class and now baton twirling customs too! I just can't recommend this pattern enough.

I started putting simple appliques on the bodices of the leos to change things up. To do this I simply trace the design I want onto heat n bond lite. I then fuse that onto the back of a piece of lycra I want to use for the applique (don't touch the iron directly to the fabric or it will melt! Use a pressing cloth!) Then I trim the excess away and fuse the design onto the body of the leotard. I then will fuse a lightweight, fusible, tear away stabilizer on the back. I then will use a zig zag stitch to go around all of the edges. I make my stitches a little more open that a true satin stitch...my settings are usually a 3.0 width and a .8-1.0 stitch length. Then I carefully tear the stabilizer away and finish sewing up the leo. The girls have had a lot of fun planning their new leos!

Just remember, if you use the heat n bond lite like me that area will not stretch...so don't make them big or put them in a key stretch area!

Example 1
Example 1
Example 1
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sic said...
Very cute! Your daughter looks ready to dance!
1/10/08 8:29 AM
cabinbaby said...
Very cute!!!!
1/10/08 9:37 AM
khurtdvm said...
Awww...what a cutie.
1/10/08 3:49 PM
sewbehind said...
What a doll! She is too cute. Nice leotards too.
1/10/08 5:49 PM
MelC said...
What a precious photo! Great job on her leotard!!! Thank you for mentioning the leg coverage. I'd like to add this pattern to my collection.
7/13/08 9:51 PM
Puddin Pop said...
It looks perfect. Sweet color also, on a cute little girl.
12/5/08 4:49 PM
Heatherrique said...
Looks like your precious model is ready to dance and do cartwheels! Very nice fit on her!
3/25/09 12:29 PM
Miss Charlie said...
Nice work with the leotard, your daughter looks very sweet in pink :) It seems that your first three photo links redirect back to the review page, and not to the photos.
9/14/09 10:41 PM
orchidgirl7 said...
none of the photo links are working.
7/19/12 11:40 AM
orchidgirl7 said...
none of the photo links are working.
7/19/12 11:41 AM
Birdie757 said...
Sorry for the dead links...I guess photo bucket decided to rearrange things on me. This review has been updated and all links fixed! Thanks for looking :)
6/26/14 4:29 PM
MartiP said...
Beautiful Job on these! So cute and so creative! An inspiration! I have this pattern, but haven't used it yet.
6/26/14 5:41 PM
MartiP said...
Beautiful Job on these! So cute and so creative! An inspiration! I have this pattern, but haven't used it yet.
6/26/14 5:42 PM
Rairscat said...
So much fun! I love it that someone thought you were spending a fortune on these. Will keep this is mind when my daughter needs leotards in a couple years.
6/26/14 6:35 PM
LM2HYD said...
Fantastic. Love the appliques!
6/26/14 8:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Burda 7285

photo
by: miausiau

Review
Runaround Bag

Runaround Bag

Buy Now
Pants Fitting DVD

Pants Fitting DVD

Buy Now