Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 06-2007-127 (Princess seam blouse) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1038 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/10/08 11:49 AM
Last Updated:8/14/08 10:17 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jent said...
I am so sorry about your fabric. I usually end up throwing projects like that out - just because it makes me so mad, I'd rather get rid of it than keep reliving the agony. I do think your blouse is lovely, though, and the sleeves are gorgeous.
1/10/08 12:16 PM
tentmaker said...
When you get tired of fooling around with the cheapo fabric, this pattern would be beautiful in a georgeous silk or maybe a real soft rayon or maybe even cotton batiste. Choose something that looks good with your buttons. I like the stripes though. Anyway before you toss it, recycle the buttons.
1/10/08 1:02 PM
Jodi B. said...
Sorry, Trena. That sounds so frustrating. Sorry to hear about the cheap fabric but the shirt looks great.
1/10/08 1:16 PM
rosannec said...
Lovely shirt, Trena! What about trying to press with a pressing cloth as a barrier? That really sucks about paying so much for cheapo depot fabric, but it really is pretty. The color is fab on you, too. Also, your cuffs are fantastic - major improvement on the original design.
1/10/08 1:50 PM
Lori V said...
Sorry about your fabric being such a pain. I do like the design and the buttons are perfect.
1/10/08 1:52 PM
CarolynGM said...
That's such a shame about the crappy fabric, but the blouse sure is cute. I hope you'll make another one.
1/10/08 2:08 PM
SansSouci572 said...
Nicegirl, you have been making some very lovely items. You have a nice little boutique closet now!
1/10/08 2:53 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Oh, this kind of thing would make me totally unhinged! It's very good of you to finish after you started melting it, but I think I'd have thrown it right out and cut it out in a good fabric again, so as not to waste time on something I'd hate forever. It looks great on you, do please make it again...
1/10/08 3:28 PM
frame said...
I'm sorry your experience was so frustrating, but your blouse looks terrific.
1/10/08 5:29 PM
Heatherrique said...
NiceGirl, your blouse looks like a showstopper from my perspective! For what you paid for the fabric, you expect the fabric to at least stand up to normal ironing ! I admire your persistence on your project with this fabric or wanna-be fabric and still you created a couture looking piece! I enjoyed your review of this pattern, and I liked your modifications to make this pattern your own!
1/10/08 7:03 PM
CynthiaSue said...
hardly ANYbody can pull of this grey and look so good! Great job.
1/10/08 8:47 PM
Karen6790 said...
Bet you're glad you don't live near Mood! I'd be in there throwing that tiny pile of scraps at them. Beautiful job, though, and you can't see any problems with the fabric in the photos. Love what you did with the cuffs.
1/10/08 9:38 PM
slanden99 said...
Nice blouse! Love all the details
1/11/08 0:17 AM
jillnjosh said...
Re: blog entry & placket (blogger hates me): Have you thought about using silk organza for interfacing your placket? It will give body without having to use a hot iron. If you have any Sulky KK2000, it works really well for holding things in place while you try to sew them on. The shirt looks great, and the shoulders sit right where they should, which is always a pet peeve of mine.
1/11/08 2:47 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Left ocmment on your blog.
1/11/08 6:49 AM
DivaQ said...
The blouse turned out really cute despite the fabric shortcomings.
1/11/08 9:39 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Beautiful blouse, Nicegirl...no one will know about the fabric unless you tell them. You look so demure! ;-)
1/11/08 10:17 AM
edupraz said...
Love the blouse! The fabric LOOKS fantastic, even if it was a b*tch to work with!
1/11/08 11:41 AM
Birgitte said...
Your blouse is gorgeous and, even though you didn't plan it that way, I think the wrinkled fabric looks young and 'fresh', adding a nice contrast to the vintage feel.
1/11/08 2:31 PM
MissCelie said...
Having seen this is person, I can tell you it's incredibly adorable and very very cute. I am sorry abouy the Mood fabric. I can just *hear* you on the phone...
1/11/08 11:09 PM
Tiner W said...
This is beautiful. If I turned a tablecloth into a skirt, it would look like a tablecloth. Yours looks ladylike and lovely. What a great souvenir! My best souvenir was the shiny red vinyl wallet with scenes from Wisconsin Dells! I wish I still had it!
8/14/08 10:31 AM
MissCelie said...
You know, six hours on a blouse is not *that* long!
8/14/08 12:37 PM
Mufffet said...
Beautiful skirt....what a great idea. So so pretty. Blouse story sad, but that skirt....a work of art.
8/14/08 5:06 PM
EveS said...
What a fabulous idea!!! I'm so stealing it the first opportunity I get (that's a compliment, of course) :) Gorgeous!!
8/14/08 10:42 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2009-122
photo
Review by Andrea670 on 7/12/09
Read Review

PerfectFuse Medium Black
PerfectFuse Medium Black

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )
Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Stella Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Stella Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2013-135 Moto jacket
photo
Review by froggiegir... on 10/10/13
Read Review

Simplicity 3936 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Simplicity 3936 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1284 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 1284 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us