SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 06-2007-127 (Princess seam blouse)

Viewed 1045 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 320
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 311 people
patterns reviewed: 320
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/10/08 11:49 AM
Last Updated:8/14/08 10:17 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jent said...
I am so sorry about your fabric. I usually end up throwing projects like that out - just because it makes me so mad, I'd rather get rid of it than keep reliving the agony. I do think your blouse is lovely, though, and the sleeves are gorgeous.
1/10/08 12:16 PM
tentmaker said...
When you get tired of fooling around with the cheapo fabric, this pattern would be beautiful in a georgeous silk or maybe a real soft rayon or maybe even cotton batiste. Choose something that looks good with your buttons. I like the stripes though. Anyway before you toss it, recycle the buttons.
1/10/08 1:02 PM
Jodi B. said...
Sorry, Trena. That sounds so frustrating. Sorry to hear about the cheap fabric but the shirt looks great.
1/10/08 1:16 PM
rosannec said...
Lovely shirt, Trena! What about trying to press with a pressing cloth as a barrier? That really sucks about paying so much for cheapo depot fabric, but it really is pretty. The color is fab on you, too. Also, your cuffs are fantastic - major improvement on the original design.
1/10/08 1:50 PM
Lori V said...
Sorry about your fabric being such a pain. I do like the design and the buttons are perfect.
1/10/08 1:52 PM
CarolynGM said...
That's such a shame about the crappy fabric, but the blouse sure is cute. I hope you'll make another one.
1/10/08 2:08 PM
SansSouci572 said...
Nicegirl, you have been making some very lovely items. You have a nice little boutique closet now!
1/10/08 2:53 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Oh, this kind of thing would make me totally unhinged! It's very good of you to finish after you started melting it, but I think I'd have thrown it right out and cut it out in a good fabric again, so as not to waste time on something I'd hate forever. It looks great on you, do please make it again...
1/10/08 3:28 PM
frame said...
I'm sorry your experience was so frustrating, but your blouse looks terrific.
1/10/08 5:29 PM
Heatherrique said...
NiceGirl, your blouse looks like a showstopper from my perspective! For what you paid for the fabric, you expect the fabric to at least stand up to normal ironing ! I admire your persistence on your project with this fabric or wanna-be fabric and still you created a couture looking piece! I enjoyed your review of this pattern, and I liked your modifications to make this pattern your own!
1/10/08 7:03 PM
CynthiaSue said...
hardly ANYbody can pull of this grey and look so good! Great job.
1/10/08 8:47 PM
Karen6790 said...
Bet you're glad you don't live near Mood! I'd be in there throwing that tiny pile of scraps at them. Beautiful job, though, and you can't see any problems with the fabric in the photos. Love what you did with the cuffs.
1/10/08 9:38 PM
slanden99 said...
Nice blouse! Love all the details
1/11/08 0:17 AM
jillnjosh said...
Re: blog entry & placket (blogger hates me): Have you thought about using silk organza for interfacing your placket? It will give body without having to use a hot iron. If you have any Sulky KK2000, it works really well for holding things in place while you try to sew them on. The shirt looks great, and the shoulders sit right where they should, which is always a pet peeve of mine.
1/11/08 2:47 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Left ocmment on your blog.
1/11/08 6:49 AM
DivaQ said...
The blouse turned out really cute despite the fabric shortcomings.
1/11/08 9:39 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Beautiful blouse, Nicegirl...no one will know about the fabric unless you tell them. You look so demure! ;-)
1/11/08 10:17 AM
edupraz said...
Love the blouse! The fabric LOOKS fantastic, even if it was a b*tch to work with!
1/11/08 11:41 AM
Birgitte said...
Your blouse is gorgeous and, even though you didn't plan it that way, I think the wrinkled fabric looks young and 'fresh', adding a nice contrast to the vintage feel.
1/11/08 2:31 PM
MissCelie said...
Having seen this is person, I can tell you it's incredibly adorable and very very cute. I am sorry abouy the Mood fabric. I can just *hear* you on the phone...
1/11/08 11:09 PM
Tiner W said...
This is beautiful. If I turned a tablecloth into a skirt, it would look like a tablecloth. Yours looks ladylike and lovely. What a great souvenir! My best souvenir was the shiny red vinyl wallet with scenes from Wisconsin Dells! I wish I still had it!
8/14/08 10:31 AM
MissCelie said...
You know, six hours on a blouse is not *that* long!
8/14/08 12:37 PM
Mufffet said...
Beautiful skirt....what a great idea. So so pretty. Blouse story sad, but that skirt....a work of art.
8/14/08 5:06 PM
EveS said...
What a fabulous idea!!! I'm so stealing it the first opportunity I get (that's a compliment, of course) :) Gorgeous!!
8/14/08 10:42 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Buy Now
ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
No Pattern Used knit dress

photo
by: ChrisS

Review