SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4047 (1950's Wardrobe)

25 more reviews
Viewed 1229 times 
Reviewed by:ryan's mom
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ryan's momstarstarstar
Member since: 11/30/04
Reviews written: 130
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 115
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/13/08 4:10 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KitnRose said...
You look so fabulous! That jacket is gorgeous and you wear it perfectly! Fantastic job, especially with all those little fiddly bits that take so long but make it look so right.
6/22/09 0:09 AM
Athene said...
Wow - what a fabulous total look with the dress!
2/3/08 8:40 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Very lovely jacket.
2/1/08 2:06 PM
CynthiaSue said...
How did I miss THIS. This is totally couture looking. really hollywood glam. I'm really jeolous of your houndstooth like fabric!
1/17/08 12:55 PM
marjenann said...
So fabulous!!! What a show stopper!!!! I love it!
1/16/08 4:28 PM
Heatherrique said...
Elegant and trendy! You wear this jacket with ultra-glamour!
1/15/08 3:23 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Well.you ARE one hip chick!!! fabulous ;-)
1/14/08 11:09 PM
SewSewHappy said...
Looks exactly like the pattern. Just beautiful - you look terrific in it!
1/14/08 3:17 PM
tentmaker said...
Love the Jacket. Is the fabric a herringbone or a houndstooth? Anyway it looks great with your red skirt.
1/14/08 1:48 PM
LindsayT said...
You look very retro-glamorous. Thanks for the well-written and helpful review.
1/14/08 1:33 PM
cathy45 said...
Beautiful, beautiful.
1/14/08 10:05 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
It is a beautiful retro jacket and looks fabulous on you. You always seem to make the right decision on fabrics and patterns. Another job well done.
1/14/08 9:12 AM
PhyllisC said...
Fabulous, and you also really understand that proportion and scale among every item in your ensemble is so key for success with swing styles. You look great! And - save those scraps - you can use them to make a clutch bag.
1/14/08 8:24 AM
cindyann said...
I LOVE it. You really look wonderful in that style. Excellent work on the lining, and it's such a pretty combination of fabrics. Kudos!!!!
1/14/08 8:20 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great, great job! Looks very flattering on you.
1/14/08 5:24 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Ooh, stunning. I can see why you got all those comments. Looks gorgeous on you and I love the fabric choice.
1/14/08 3:55 AM
Karen6790 said...
All that block fusing and hard work paid off - that is one glamorous jacket. No wonder they were standing back out of your way - to get a better look, obviously. Wish I'd bought some of that fabric at Paron's.
1/13/08 10:58 PM
ryansmumAria said...
omg! You look fabulous!!! loved your blog - you are very accomplished.
1/13/08 10:46 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Great jacket!
1/13/08 10:22 PM
Sharon M said...
It's beautiful and you look quite chic wearing it.
1/13/08 10:01 PM
BeckyC said...
You look fabulous in your beautiful jacket and red pencil skirt dress! The gloves are such a classic touch for the retro look! Love 'em! It sounds like you had fun wearing your outfit to church today. Great review!
1/13/08 9:39 PM
mClones said...
Very fab!
1/13/08 9:31 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Chic and fabulous! I love the lining, too. Great review.
1/13/08 9:23 PM
didda said...
what can i say? everyone else has already said it. you look like a barbie doll. i love the gloves too. Fabulous!
1/13/08 8:43 PM
Tiner W said...
You are so beautiful in this! What a great style for you! Congrats on getting it finished! Does this mean I have to sew up some of MY Paron's fabric bought the same day as yours???!
1/13/08 8:38 PM
Carolyndh said...
You look absolutely gorgeous! What a fantastic outfit. This outfit is just perfect for you. Yes, you do resemble Jackie Kennedy! Way to go!
1/13/08 7:41 PM
snowflake girl said...
Beautiful! I've picked this pattern up several times and then put it back. Now I think I might want it. To bad Joann's sale ended today for 5 for $5.
1/13/08 7:35 PM
ConnieBJ said...
You look like a starlet! No you look like a STAR!!! So amazing. Kudos to your photograper too!
1/13/08 7:26 PM
carolynw said...
You are totally drop dead gorgeous - at first I thought you had a professional model posing for the photo shot!! What a terrific job you have done!!
1/13/08 7:12 PM
jlg said...
Fabulous.
1/13/08 6:43 PM
Mahler said...
Very chic and stylish ! You look so good with it. Superbe!
1/13/08 6:06 PM
Sigrid. said...
Like the various ways you can wear this beautiful jacket. Your lining is wonderful too.
1/13/08 5:56 PM
carolw said...
Very classy, fabulous looking jacket.
1/13/08 5:52 PM
ladybegood said...
Very Retro Barbie! It even looks good with jeans.
1/13/08 5:14 PM
CarolynGM said...
This style jacket suits you well. Beautifully done.
1/13/08 5:10 PM
cabinbaby said...
That's great!! I keep picking up this pattern and then, for some reason, putting it down. Maybe next time, I'll keep it! Great jacket!
1/13/08 5:02 PM
Bonnie O said...
Terrific jacket! You look great. I love it over the red dress but it is absolutely adorable with jeans!
1/13/08 4:56 PM
Lisa Merry said...
Wow! This retro coat looks fabulous on you! I like that you included pics on your blog of several ways you plan on wearing it!!
1/13/08 4:40 PM
CShelley said...
You look MAHVELOUS! Great job and great style. I would love to make a retro piece like this but I'm 5'1" and I fear this would make me look stumpy. Looks great on you though. Thanks for the review and pics.
1/13/08 4:29 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

McCall's 6332

photo
by: jennygolig...

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Buy Now
Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Buy Now