SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4047 (1950's Wardrobe)

25 more reviews
Viewed 1227 times 
Reviewed by:ryan's mom
photo

 
 
About ryan's momstarstarstar
Member since: 11/30/04
Reviews written: 128
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 113
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/13/08 4:10 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CShelley said...
You look MAHVELOUS! Great job and great style. I would love to make a retro piece like this but I'm 5'1" and I fear this would make me look stumpy. Looks great on you though. Thanks for the review and pics.
1/13/08 4:29 PM
Lisa Merry said...
Wow! This retro coat looks fabulous on you! I like that you included pics on your blog of several ways you plan on wearing it!!
1/13/08 4:40 PM
Bonnie O said...
Terrific jacket! You look great. I love it over the red dress but it is absolutely adorable with jeans!
1/13/08 4:56 PM
cabinbaby said...
That's great!! I keep picking up this pattern and then, for some reason, putting it down. Maybe next time, I'll keep it! Great jacket!
1/13/08 5:02 PM
CarolynGM said...
This style jacket suits you well. Beautifully done.
1/13/08 5:10 PM
ladybegood said...
Very Retro Barbie! It even looks good with jeans.
1/13/08 5:14 PM
carolw said...
Very classy, fabulous looking jacket.
1/13/08 5:52 PM
Sigrid. said...
Like the various ways you can wear this beautiful jacket. Your lining is wonderful too.
1/13/08 5:56 PM
Mahler said...
Very chic and stylish ! You look so good with it. Superbe!
1/13/08 6:06 PM
jlg said...
Fabulous.
1/13/08 6:43 PM
carolynw said...
You are totally drop dead gorgeous - at first I thought you had a professional model posing for the photo shot!! What a terrific job you have done!!
1/13/08 7:12 PM
ConnieBJ said...
You look like a starlet! No you look like a STAR!!! So amazing. Kudos to your photograper too!
1/13/08 7:26 PM
snowflake girl said...
Beautiful! I've picked this pattern up several times and then put it back. Now I think I might want it. To bad Joann's sale ended today for 5 for $5.
1/13/08 7:35 PM
Carolyndh said...
You look absolutely gorgeous! What a fantastic outfit. This outfit is just perfect for you. Yes, you do resemble Jackie Kennedy! Way to go!
1/13/08 7:41 PM
Tiner W said...
You are so beautiful in this! What a great style for you! Congrats on getting it finished! Does this mean I have to sew up some of MY Paron's fabric bought the same day as yours???!
1/13/08 8:38 PM
didda said...
what can i say? everyone else has already said it. you look like a barbie doll. i love the gloves too. Fabulous!
1/13/08 8:43 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Chic and fabulous! I love the lining, too. Great review.
1/13/08 9:23 PM
mClones said...
Very fab!
1/13/08 9:31 PM
BeckyC said...
You look fabulous in your beautiful jacket and red pencil skirt dress! The gloves are such a classic touch for the retro look! Love 'em! It sounds like you had fun wearing your outfit to church today. Great review!
1/13/08 9:39 PM
Sharon M said...
It's beautiful and you look quite chic wearing it.
1/13/08 10:01 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Great jacket!
1/13/08 10:22 PM
ryansmumAria said...
omg! You look fabulous!!! loved your blog - you are very accomplished.
1/13/08 10:46 PM
Karen6790 said...
All that block fusing and hard work paid off - that is one glamorous jacket. No wonder they were standing back out of your way - to get a better look, obviously. Wish I'd bought some of that fabric at Paron's.
1/13/08 10:58 PM
yorkshire lass said...
Ooh, stunning. I can see why you got all those comments. Looks gorgeous on you and I love the fabric choice.
1/14/08 3:55 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great, great job! Looks very flattering on you.
1/14/08 5:24 AM
cindyann said...
I LOVE it. You really look wonderful in that style. Excellent work on the lining, and it's such a pretty combination of fabrics. Kudos!!!!
1/14/08 8:20 AM
PhyllisC said...
Fabulous, and you also really understand that proportion and scale among every item in your ensemble is so key for success with swing styles. You look great! And - save those scraps - you can use them to make a clutch bag.
1/14/08 8:24 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
It is a beautiful retro jacket and looks fabulous on you. You always seem to make the right decision on fabrics and patterns. Another job well done.
1/14/08 9:12 AM
cathy45 said...
Beautiful, beautiful.
1/14/08 10:05 AM
LindsayT said...
You look very retro-glamorous. Thanks for the well-written and helpful review.
1/14/08 1:33 PM
tentmaker said...
Love the Jacket. Is the fabric a herringbone or a houndstooth? Anyway it looks great with your red skirt.
1/14/08 1:48 PM
SewSewHappy said...
Looks exactly like the pattern. Just beautiful - you look terrific in it!
1/14/08 3:17 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Well.you ARE one hip chick!!! fabulous ;-)
1/14/08 11:09 PM
Heatherrique said...
Elegant and trendy! You wear this jacket with ultra-glamour!
1/15/08 3:23 PM
marjenann said...
So fabulous!!! What a show stopper!!!! I love it!
1/16/08 4:28 PM
CynthiaSue said...
How did I miss THIS. This is totally couture looking. really hollywood glam. I'm really jeolous of your houndstooth like fabric!
1/17/08 12:55 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Very lovely jacket.
2/1/08 2:06 PM
Athene said...
Wow - what a fabulous total look with the dress!
2/3/08 8:40 PM
KitnRose said...
You look so fabulous! That jacket is gorgeous and you wear it perfectly! Fantastic job, especially with all those little fiddly bits that take so long but make it look so right.
6/22/09 0:09 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

McCall's 6405

photo
by: mhoutz

Review
Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

Buy Now