SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Amy Butler> AB021WT (Weekender Travel Bag)

45 more reviews
Viewed 1049 times 
Reviewed by:MelissaB in WA
photo

 
 
About MelissaB in WAstarstarstarstar
United States
Member since: 3/18/04
Reviews written: 217
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 108 people
patterns reviewed: 204
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/13/08 4:35 PM
Last Updated:1/13/08 4:41 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lori V said...
Melissa, your bag is gorgeous and I love the colors. I have made this bag and totally understand, I don't think I will make another one either.
1/13/08 4:43 PM
MissCelie said...
Well, the bag is stunning. I've had this pattern for about six months now, but haven't worked my way up to it. You are inspiring me to get cracking!
1/13/08 4:48 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
I feel your pain, sister. That is a physically challenging bag to make, but look at those results!!
1/13/08 5:24 PM
Sigrid. said...
It really is an awesome bag. This is one of two bag patterns I recently bought, but I postpone starting sewing one of them. You certainly encourage me to go for it soon!
1/13/08 5:47 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Gorgeous!!! I hear your pain on making this bag - I got so frustrated with it that I abandoned it mid-project.... after seeing yours, maybe I should re-think it!
1/13/08 5:55 PM
pterion said...
It's a gorgeous bag. I'm sorry it was so painful to make... the results are so striking though!
1/13/08 6:27 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Well all of your hard work really paid off. I love the shape of this bag.
1/13/08 6:35 PM
Sheila457 said...
Beautiful bag.
1/13/08 6:45 PM
Sherril Miller said...
So worth the effort. It's beautiful!
1/13/08 6:47 PM
crisford said...
Okay, I want the bag, but I don't want to go through all that! It is beautiful though!
1/13/08 7:22 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Your bag looks fantastic! I made a travel bag using a Butterick pattern last year. I remember feeling as you do just after I finished it, but I can't tell you how much I have enjoyed using my travel bag, so I am quite proud of myself for having invested my time (and sore fingers) into its creation.
1/13/08 9:16 PM
KarmenG said...
Gorgeous and it shows the level of effort you put into it. I love your fabric print selections. Well done!
1/13/08 10:48 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Beautiful, classy, gorgeous!! Enjoy!!
1/13/08 11:58 PM
sweetviolets said...
Absolutely gorgeous. A classy look for traveling!
1/14/08 0:37 AM
Blooms said...
What a fab bag...well worth the effort
1/14/08 4:30 AM
Ronda Rae said...
It looks great. I know what you're talking about. I've made this bag. I agree with you on the lining. You didn't mention that it doesn't call for inside pocket. I will do that next time I sew it. I bought material (in December) to make. I will try fusing some interfacing to the lining. I'm obviously glutton for punishment. It's been 2 years since I made it though. Maybe it's like having a baby- you forget the pain?
1/14/08 7:54 AM
cindyann said...
Beautiful fabric choice. I really want to make this bag, but now I'm wondering if it's worth the trouble. I had a project like this once and I swore I'd never, ever sew it again......Must say that your effort was worth it. It's Fabulous.
1/14/08 8:13 AM
slanden99 said...
Gorgeous bag! Love your fabrics. For the lining--next time you line a bag or hat, cut the lining out a tad smaller than the pattern piece. This will prevent a saggy lining
1/14/08 8:54 AM
Mufffet said...
Your bag is so pretty! That *IS* a lot of work. Thanks for a realistic review and enjoy your bag!
1/14/08 9:53 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Your bag is absolutely fabulous - your long hours of work paid off!
1/14/08 10:29 AM
quiltsammon said...
Beautiful! You'll love carrying it around I'm sure! Thanks for the great review!
1/16/08 11:18 PM
SheriF said...
This is why I love patternreview.com. I want to try this pattern, but now my eyes are wide open that it will be difficult (it's not me!) but worth the effort. Beautiful bag. Thanks for the inspiration.
1/18/08 11:59 AM
Hooptastic said...
Comments on the lining were very helpful! Another review showed a photo of the inside...yes...it's baggie!
1/18/08 12:32 PM
CynthiaSue said...
this is darling. And you were so much kinder in your review than I was in mine! Enjoy your cute bag!
1/26/08 0:05 AM
F and L said...
Goodness, Melissa. It is so incredibly beautiful that the horror of your story of making it does not overcome my desire to have one; you've only increased it! You did such an amazing job.
2/14/08 4:02 PM
JDpenelope said...
Melissa -- Beautiful bag and interesting review. It is a good warning to sew-ers like me, who tend to take on projects above our skill level. Thanks for the warning. I'm reading through all the reviews -- If I can get a result like yours, it might be worth it.
7/4/09 7:06 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2005-102

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Fit For Real People DVD

Fit For Real People DVD

Buy Now
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Buy Now