Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Amy Butler: AB021WT (Weekender Travel Bag) thumbsup - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 1047 times 45 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:MelissaB in WA
photo
About MelissaB in WAstarstarstarstar
WA USA
Member since: 3/18/04
Reviews written: 217
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 108 people
patterns reviewed: 204
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/13/08 4:35 PM
Last Updated:1/13/08 4:41 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lori V said...
Melissa, your bag is gorgeous and I love the colors. I have made this bag and totally understand, I don't think I will make another one either.
1/13/08 4:43 PM
MissCelie said...
Well, the bag is stunning. I've had this pattern for about six months now, but haven't worked my way up to it. You are inspiring me to get cracking!
1/13/08 4:48 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
I feel your pain, sister. That is a physically challenging bag to make, but look at those results!!
1/13/08 5:24 PM
Sigrid. said...
It really is an awesome bag. This is one of two bag patterns I recently bought, but I postpone starting sewing one of them. You certainly encourage me to go for it soon!
1/13/08 5:47 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Gorgeous!!! I hear your pain on making this bag - I got so frustrated with it that I abandoned it mid-project.... after seeing yours, maybe I should re-think it!
1/13/08 5:55 PM
pterion said...
It's a gorgeous bag. I'm sorry it was so painful to make... the results are so striking though!
1/13/08 6:27 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Well all of your hard work really paid off. I love the shape of this bag.
1/13/08 6:35 PM
Sheila457 said...
Beautiful bag.
1/13/08 6:45 PM
Sherril Miller said...
So worth the effort. It's beautiful!
1/13/08 6:47 PM
crisford said...
Okay, I want the bag, but I don't want to go through all that! It is beautiful though!
1/13/08 7:22 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Your bag looks fantastic! I made a travel bag using a Butterick pattern last year. I remember feeling as you do just after I finished it, but I can't tell you how much I have enjoyed using my travel bag, so I am quite proud of myself for having invested my time (and sore fingers) into its creation.
1/13/08 9:16 PM
KarmenG said...
Gorgeous and it shows the level of effort you put into it. I love your fabric print selections. Well done!
1/13/08 10:48 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Beautiful, classy, gorgeous!! Enjoy!!
1/13/08 11:58 PM
sweetviolets said...
Absolutely gorgeous. A classy look for traveling!
1/14/08 0:37 AM
Blooms said...
What a fab bag...well worth the effort
1/14/08 4:30 AM
Ronda Rae said...
It looks great. I know what you're talking about. I've made this bag. I agree with you on the lining. You didn't mention that it doesn't call for inside pocket. I will do that next time I sew it. I bought material (in December) to make. I will try fusing some interfacing to the lining. I'm obviously glutton for punishment. It's been 2 years since I made it though. Maybe it's like having a baby- you forget the pain?
1/14/08 7:54 AM
cindyann said...
Beautiful fabric choice. I really want to make this bag, but now I'm wondering if it's worth the trouble. I had a project like this once and I swore I'd never, ever sew it again......Must say that your effort was worth it. It's Fabulous.
1/14/08 8:13 AM
slanden99 said...
Gorgeous bag! Love your fabrics. For the lining--next time you line a bag or hat, cut the lining out a tad smaller than the pattern piece. This will prevent a saggy lining
1/14/08 8:54 AM
Mufffet said...
Your bag is so pretty! That *IS* a lot of work. Thanks for a realistic review and enjoy your bag!
1/14/08 9:53 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Your bag is absolutely fabulous - your long hours of work paid off!
1/14/08 10:29 AM
quiltsammon said...
Beautiful! You'll love carrying it around I'm sure! Thanks for the great review!
1/16/08 11:18 PM
SheriF said...
This is why I love patternreview.com. I want to try this pattern, but now my eyes are wide open that it will be difficult (it's not me!) but worth the effort. Beautiful bag. Thanks for the inspiration.
1/18/08 11:59 AM
Hooptastic said...
Comments on the lining were very helpful! Another review showed a photo of the inside...yes...it's baggie!
1/18/08 12:32 PM
CynthiaSue said...
this is darling. And you were so much kinder in your review than I was in mine! Enjoy your cute bag!
1/26/08 0:05 AM
F and L said...
Goodness, Melissa. It is so incredibly beautiful that the horror of your story of making it does not overcome my desire to have one; you've only increased it! You did such an amazing job.
2/14/08 4:02 PM
JDpenelope said...
Melissa -- Beautiful bag and interesting review. It is a good warning to sew-ers like me, who tend to take on projects above our skill level. Thanks for the warning. I'm reading through all the reviews -- If I can get a result like yours, it might be worth it.
7/4/09 7:06 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Vogue Patterns 8386 Jersey dress
photo
Review by Blooms on 12/9/07
Read Review

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King
BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S A Day in the Park Backpack Tote Digital Pattern( Size One Size )
Oliver   S A Day in the Park Backpack Tote Digital Pattern( Size One Size )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 02-2005-03 Fairy dress
photo
Review by EveS on 9/30/08
Read Review

Kwik Sew 0172 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0172 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7185 Pattern
Burda 7185 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us