Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8434 (The Vogue Woman) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 830 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:carolynw
photo
Friend of PR
About carolynwstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 3/19/05
Reviews written: 111
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 36 people
patterns reviewed: 99
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/15/08 4:57 PM
Last Updated:1/15/08 5:01 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kellie R. said...
You certainly can't see the facing in the pictures. It looks great and suits the fabric very well.
1/15/08 5:23 PM
didda said...
well, you are going to be the best dressed lady on board! very pretty top. this is another one of those patterns i keep looking at but not buying. for some reason the photo on the envelope just doesn't tickle my fancy. but when i see other people wearing it, i like it very much.
1/15/08 5:26 PM
said...
Love your fabric and it looks great on you. You'll look great on your cruise.
1/15/08 5:29 PM
marjenann said...
Wow!! Another really beautiful piece!! You look smashing!! Thanks too for the great review!!!
1/15/08 5:35 PM
mommietothree0 said...
That looks very nice on you! Hope you enjoy it.
1/15/08 6:30 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
I agree with didda's comments. Even though the fabric was difficult, it certainly drapes very well. I love it.
1/15/08 7:07 PM
Annette1 said...
Thanks for this VERY helpful review! I just recently got this pattern. Had looked at it and looked at it, and thought, well, would I REALLY wear that long of a top, or do I just IMAGINE that I would, and might even look like that lady does in hers? :o) Then the lightbulb went on and I saw the version you've made here. :o) I LOVE yours. I also hate those ties that go around the back -- WON'T make them -- so this is already a step ahead of the game. I'm going to look up that fusible stay tape and also the Touch of Gold, which I've heard yuo mention before. Thanks a million for the great review!
1/15/08 7:22 PM
Annette1 said...
Thanks a a lot, Carolyn. Not only did I order the stinkin' fusible bias tape, but I ordered the stinkin' "Design Plus Ultra-Soft Double-sided Fusible Web." Now I'm going to search for the stinkin' Touch of Gold, but I'll just have to bookmark it for now. After all, I don't want the fabric fasters to feel too smug over my purchases and their lack thereof. :o) Maybe notions don't count though!
1/15/08 7:32 PM
jlg said...
Very pretty and becoming on you.
1/15/08 7:34 PM
maidathome said...
That top looks great on you. Very nice.
1/15/08 7:38 PM
Riordan said...
Very pretty--the princess seams give a really nice shape to the top!
1/15/08 8:22 PM
Puppy said...
There's no "fluff where you don't need it"...it's quite flattering, foxy even!
1/15/08 8:26 PM
Enid E said...
Oh, Clin, I love the fabric and how well you make this blouse look! Enjoy your cruise!
1/15/08 8:34 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful blouse, have fun on your cruise.
1/15/08 8:50 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Wow! This is a great looking blouse. Thanks for another wonderful review- you always make me want to sew.
1/15/08 9:09 PM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Your blouse looks very elegant and expensive. Classy!
1/15/08 9:38 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Beautiful top! I'd never know there were problems with the facings
1/15/08 9:46 PM
Karen8320 said...
Clin, I think this looks really lovely. It's a bit different to the usual tops that we tend to see and I think it's a very flattering style on you. Everything about it is slimming (which is what I look for!) - the V-neck, the tie drapes which add length and the long sleeves - and they all detract from what we perceive as our figure flaws. It looks great!
1/16/08 3:26 AM
ITAdmin said...
Very pretty as usual. I also think it's a very flattering style for you.
1/16/08 6:11 AM
CarolynGM said...
Looks like a really nice style for you to wear on your cruise. This is an attractive pattern that I had never noticed before.
1/16/08 6:52 AM
carolynw said...
LOL Annette - I was going to PM you to tell you to be sure to get the double sided fusible also - and did you get both the black and white in the other? I will let you know where to get Touch of Gold - away today and tomorrow so will talk with you Friday. Notions don't count in the Fabric Fast and one day you will thank me - I know this my friend
1/16/08 8:15 AM
Larkin said...
Thanks for the hints about stablizing. Your top is beautiful!
1/16/08 4:58 PM
Mahler said...
This is soo beautiful ! You look fabulous with it. Bravo vraiment !
1/21/08 1:35 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Butterick 5965
photo
Review by MrsCharism... on 10/30/13
Read Review

Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern
Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6070
photo
Review by Amanda S. on 5/21/10
Read Review

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Everyday Baskets
Everyday Baskets

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8939 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 8939 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1651 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 1651 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us