SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8434 (The Vogue Woman)

4 more reviews
Viewed 839 times 
Reviewed by:carolynw
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About carolynwstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 3/19/05
Reviews written: 111
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 36 people
patterns reviewed: 99
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/15/08 4:57 PM
Last Updated:1/15/08 5:01 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kellie R. said...
You certainly can't see the facing in the pictures. It looks great and suits the fabric very well.
1/15/08 5:23 PM
didda said...
well, you are going to be the best dressed lady on board! very pretty top. this is another one of those patterns i keep looking at but not buying. for some reason the photo on the envelope just doesn't tickle my fancy. but when i see other people wearing it, i like it very much.
1/15/08 5:26 PM
said...
Love your fabric and it looks great on you. You'll look great on your cruise.
1/15/08 5:29 PM
marjenann said...
Wow!! Another really beautiful piece!! You look smashing!! Thanks too for the great review!!!
1/15/08 5:35 PM
mommietothree0 said...
That looks very nice on you! Hope you enjoy it.
1/15/08 6:30 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
I agree with didda's comments. Even though the fabric was difficult, it certainly drapes very well. I love it.
1/15/08 7:07 PM
Annette1 said...
Thanks for this VERY helpful review! I just recently got this pattern. Had looked at it and looked at it, and thought, well, would I REALLY wear that long of a top, or do I just IMAGINE that I would, and might even look like that lady does in hers? :o) Then the lightbulb went on and I saw the version you've made here. :o) I LOVE yours. I also hate those ties that go around the back -- WON'T make them -- so this is already a step ahead of the game. I'm going to look up that fusible stay tape and also the Touch of Gold, which I've heard yuo mention before. Thanks a million for the great review!
1/15/08 7:22 PM
Annette1 said...
Thanks a a lot, Carolyn. Not only did I order the stinkin' fusible bias tape, but I ordered the stinkin' "Design Plus Ultra-Soft Double-sided Fusible Web." Now I'm going to search for the stinkin' Touch of Gold, but I'll just have to bookmark it for now. After all, I don't want the fabric fasters to feel too smug over my purchases and their lack thereof. :o) Maybe notions don't count though!
1/15/08 7:32 PM
jlg said...
Very pretty and becoming on you.
1/15/08 7:34 PM
maidathome said...
That top looks great on you. Very nice.
1/15/08 7:38 PM
Riordan said...
Very pretty--the princess seams give a really nice shape to the top!
1/15/08 8:22 PM
Puppy said...
There's no "fluff where you don't need it"...it's quite flattering, foxy even!
1/15/08 8:26 PM
Enid E said...
Oh, Clin, I love the fabric and how well you make this blouse look! Enjoy your cruise!
1/15/08 8:34 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful blouse, have fun on your cruise.
1/15/08 8:50 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Wow! This is a great looking blouse. Thanks for another wonderful review- you always make me want to sew.
1/15/08 9:09 PM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Your blouse looks very elegant and expensive. Classy!
1/15/08 9:38 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Beautiful top! I'd never know there were problems with the facings
1/15/08 9:46 PM
Karen8320 said...
Clin, I think this looks really lovely. It's a bit different to the usual tops that we tend to see and I think it's a very flattering style on you. Everything about it is slimming (which is what I look for!) - the V-neck, the tie drapes which add length and the long sleeves - and they all detract from what we perceive as our figure flaws. It looks great!
1/16/08 3:26 AM
ITAdmin said...
Very pretty as usual. I also think it's a very flattering style for you.
1/16/08 6:11 AM
CarolynGM said...
Looks like a really nice style for you to wear on your cruise. This is an attractive pattern that I had never noticed before.
1/16/08 6:52 AM
carolynw said...
LOL Annette - I was going to PM you to tell you to be sure to get the double sided fusible also - and did you get both the black and white in the other? I will let you know where to get Touch of Gold - away today and tomorrow so will talk with you Friday. Notions don't count in the Fabric Fast and one day you will thank me - I know this my friend
1/16/08 8:15 AM
Larkin said...
Thanks for the hints about stablizing. Your top is beautiful!
1/16/08 4:58 PM
Mahler said...
This is soo beautiful ! You look fabulous with it. Bravo vraiment !
1/21/08 1:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Kwik Sew 2821

photo
by: LoriB

Review
McCall's 6400

photo
by: Sew tell m...

Review
Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Buy Now