Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 10-2007-114 (Kimono Knit Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 689 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/17/08 10:17 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewbehind said...
I think it does suit you. The sleeves give you balance at the top. I noticed it right away when I saw the picture. It's not all about the bust, you know! :>)
1/17/08 11:46 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
I really like this top on you and plan to make it too in a rib knit. I have an AA bust w/o padding and find under the bodice gathered tops droop cos of lack of filling LOL !! Cant remember if this patern has gathers, I'll fold them away if so. It looks really cute on you and love the belt !
1/17/08 12:16 PM
Birgitte said...
I truly appreciate your thorough and frank review. My DD has a very similar figure to yours, and I used to pin-fit her swayback from a very early age. I personally adore swaybacks. Like sewbehind said, "It's not all about the bust..." My favorite era is the 20's... flowing, feminine and, very often, all about the back :-)
1/17/08 12:57 PM
MarijaSLO said...
Great! I love the photo "too short". :)
1/17/08 2:00 PM
cindy-lou said...
Trena, thanks for reviewing this one! I've wondered if it would look good on my full bust, or would end up like SuperJaneMansfield. I'll try it out! BTW... it looks REALLY GOOD on you You should wear it. A lot. :)
1/17/08 2:10 PM
LoriB said...
Thanks for reviewing this - I considered this pattern, but I'm a pear too and with all the alterations you went through I think I'll pass. The top does look pretty good on you in the end and probably looks similar on the model, if she weren't in that strange pose. Maybe that's it...you need to pose like the model, complete with high ponytail, black gloves, and patent leather belt!
1/17/08 3:58 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
i expect you hated it originally because of all the alterations you made, but it was worth it as it looks great now. Hopefully it will keep growing on you as the alteration process gets forgotten!
1/17/08 11:46 PM
SusiM said...
Thanks for sharing such valuable observations on this style. I really like your reviews. Y'know, it's really a pretty nice top -
1/18/08 0:26 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Gosh I am so surprised you don't like the top - it looks fantastic on you! I can't believe how short it was to begin with - holy cow! The color is so pretty too - hope you decide you like it and wear it. I feel your pain of being small chested - I'm not just a member, I'm president! LOL
1/18/08 0:59 AM
SarahSM said...
Thanks so much for this review. I, too, am long-waisted for my height, but since I'm short, that usually isn't an issue for me. Good to know that it is a factor for this pattern...
1/18/08 2:06 AM
Irene Q said...
I think it looks good! FWIW, the pattern actually calls for a different (stretchier) fabric for the lower part, which scared me off from trying it. Nice to see that you can use the same fabric, with some work. Great job!
1/18/08 10:15 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Love the concept of 'just bordello enough for work' :-). But back to technique, I think you should wear this a bit, and maybe you'll see also that this makes you look like 'a woman with a full bust and skinny waist'. You'd need a hell of a beer belly (same job perhaps..) to not look like you have a skinny waist, when contrasted to those sleeves. Really, I like it a lot..
1/18/08 3:17 PM
ChristineX said...
Your physique is almost identical to mine (except I'm not as thin) so I really appreciate your review. You did a great job rescuing it from the first incarnation! LOVE the color!
1/18/08 6:03 PM
TanyaMT said...
Nice review and nice save on the top. Looking at the model again, her large belt nearly reaches her armpits, so maybe the top is just as short on her! Your second version looks quite nice on you.
1/18/08 9:52 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Prima Magazine 05-2008
photo
Review by squirrelly... on 6/6/08
Read Review

J Stern Designs The Tee Pattern
J Stern Designs The Tee Pattern

Details
Price: $15.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns
Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Beret Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Patterns Flippy Skirt Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Flippy Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 2795
photo
Review by rebija on 10/1/08
Read Review

Burda 7102 Pattern
Burda 7102 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5655 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5655 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us