SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2949 (Sandra Betzina Jacket)

13 more reviews
Viewed 1229 times 
Reviewed by:Harriet Rogers
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Harriet Rogersstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 9/13/02
Reviews written: 59
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/17/08 6:26 PM
Last Updated:1/17/08 6:31 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 8 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Linda E. said...
very pretty jacket.. beautiful fabric sorry it was such a bear to sew with.
1/17/08 7:16 PM
Englebert said...
Wow! Your jacket is beautiful!!
1/17/08 7:37 PM
sewfan said...
It may have been difficult fabric to sew with, but your results are fantastic! The matching of the plaids is perfect. Nice job!
1/17/08 8:00 PM
Twinset said...
Your coat is fabulous and so is your smile!
1/17/08 8:00 PM
CarolynGM said...
Oh, I do like this a lot. I know it took a long time, but it was so worth it. The binding is a really nice detail.
1/17/08 8:47 PM
hongkongshopper said...
lovely jacket. In the end it turned out really well.
1/18/08 0:05 AM
marjenann said...
What a stunning coat!!! Definitely worth the time and effort you spent in its construction. It is just FAB!!!
1/18/08 7:16 AM
Tearsa said...
Ohhh my goodness!! What a FANTASTIC job!!! Your jacket came out perfectly -- heck better than the pattern picture! Kudos.
1/18/08 7:25 AM
ChristineBR said...
I don't do CTRL plus click; I do a right click and the menu that comes up has a host of options including save image, copy image and image location. Your cost is fabulous.
1/18/08 9:02 AM
carolynw said...
Good for you to carry through with such difficult fabric - the result is outstanding
1/18/08 9:36 AM
Kellie R. said...
Fantastic!!!!! I love houndstooth and your fabric's large pattern is perfect for the pattern. I'm glad that you perservered with the seams despite the ravelling. The result is very chic!
1/18/08 9:56 AM
Re Becca said...
WOW, great use of the fabric and the pattern, these were made for each other
1/18/08 10:40 AM
PegL said...
Your lovely coat is worth every bit of extra effort you had to use! Nicely done!
1/18/08 10:49 AM
SewSewHappy said...
You look fabulous! what a great jacket.
1/18/08 11:02 AM
cecelia said...
I hear you about the shredding and the next project being a 2 hour one! The jacket came out nicely though and looks very good on you.
1/18/08 11:38 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Bold and Beautiful! I bet you get compliments on that every time you wear it! (And I know *exactly* what you mean about the 2-hour pants!!! LOL)
1/18/08 12:53 PM
Birgitte said...
The temperamental fabric was so worth the effort- your jacket is beautiful!
1/18/08 2:00 PM
fuzzygalore said...
I wonder about this 'wool shredding' business... You know, the thing about real wool is that it fulls. So next time you get the idea wool is going to shred, try just hand washing the entire piece in warm water, giving it a slight toss, and it should hang together much better. My own last parisian fabric was kind of sad, a bit thin and rough and just looked like the 5E/yd I paid for it :-). But I didn't want to dryclean, so I gave it a good wash in the tub, and it's now fluffy and lovely.. and much easier to handle. You've got to watch out for knitting yarn being superwash (ie not fulling), but coat fabric is almost never treated like that.
1/18/08 3:12 PM
LorelleD said...
Your jacket looks beautiful. Well worth your time and the effort. Well done.
1/18/08 5:36 PM
emelle said...
Great job...worth the time and effort you spent. I have this pattern, have not made it because I haven't found the right fabric and yours looks better than the pattern photo.....and you know what they say about the French being difficult I''ve never found the French to be difficult, despite what some Americans say...but I've never sewn fabric from France...
1/18/08 10:04 PM
Karla Kizer said...
You definitely get bonus points for difficult fabric. 40 hours! The results are phenomenal, though, and certainly deserving of an expensive button. Tell them I said you could take a day off before you start those pull-on pants.
1/19/08 7:46 AM
Heatherrique said...
Oh Harriet, you are so adorable and a trend setter! Such a beautiful and designer looking jacket! I admire the time and the workladyship that you put in to it! You captured altogether the essence of Gwen Stefani and 60's Goldie Hawn/ Twiggy !
1/19/08 8:14 AM
Sigrid. said...
Gorgeous, wonderful job. Worth all the time you took to make it.
1/19/08 11:01 AM
blue mooney said...
dynamite coat!
1/19/08 5:17 PM
moushka said...
Yet another smashing project from Harriet's Closet! Worth every minute you spent on it. Terrific job. It looks like you stepped right off the fashion runways of Paris. I'm sure you'll wear that coat proudly for years to come. It's a classic. Thank you for sharing. Sue
1/21/08 10:44 PM
Ann Smith said...
Fantabulous jacket! Worth every minute. Comparing your jacket with mine says it all about working with different fabrics. My jacket took 1 1/2 hours because there was no need for edge finishes, no matching plaids, no lining, no closures.
1/22/08 12:38 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
The matching of the plaids is per-r-r-fect! What a fabulous jacket and lovely fabric. You did a wonderful job.
1/22/08 2:51 PM
Mahler said...
Harriet, all those efforts were more then worth while. Your version of this pattern is stunning. Realy superbe. For adding the picture's location you can right click as Krissie said, or you copy the location of the picture form the address bar on the top of you browser when you picture is appearing on flick. ie, you are in your album, you click on the picture your want, it appears in its full size and you copy the address from the top. To do that, you click on the address bar, the location becomes highlited in blue, you right clik, "copy" to past it after in the URL tool in PR.com. I hope this sounds clear. Again, bravo for your jacket.
1/22/08 9:09 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Incredible jacket and hopefully worth every minute of the 40 hours it took to construct it. You prove to have much patience!
1/25/08 5:17 PM
CharityAK said...
Very stunning! Looks fantastic on you. Great job!
1/26/08 7:55 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Harriet, despite the tribulations, your jacket turned out so beautifully! I just love that fabric! You look wonderful.
1/26/08 7:57 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Your fabric has me drooling, and your execution is flawless. So glad you didn't lose your jacket to out-of-control fraying. You look stylish and happy in your bold but classic jacket. Lovely. -Lily
2/1/08 5:49 AM
Squeezylemon said...
Beautiful jacket! Looks like Linton Tweed which is made in Carlisle in Scotland for all the fashion houses such as Chanel (they also do mail order unfortunately as my credit card will attest to.....). A great coat which will always look wonderful on you I'm sure.
2/5/08 9:25 AM
hat-and-bag-lady said...
It's too bad when that happens: a terrific bargain in fabric, but there's a sneaky reason behind it. I bought some fabric like that once. I ended up making a newsboy cap out of it and gave it to a great-niece to play with. It wasn't worth wearing.
9/18/08 6:50 PM
Cheryl in Chicago said...
its beautiful
2/1/09 8:14 AM
FurGal said...
Simply beautiful coat, and it looks wonderful on you!
2/21/09 12:12 PM
kkkkaty said...
so glam!
2/24/09 1:08 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Butterick 5678

photo
by: Jrhee

Review
Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Buy Now