SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4007 (palmer/pletsch classic fit)

12 more reviews
Viewed 1862 times 
Reviewed by:jlg
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About jlgstarstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/03
Reviews written: 189
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 156 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/21/03 11:14 PM
Last Updated:4/21/03 11:14 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Penny Carlson said...
In spite of your problems, it really looks nice! I had been thinking about this one, but I wonder how it would fit with my big bust (not bragging, I assure you).
4/21/03 11:20 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Lovely top! Such a pretty setting too, those azaleas are beautiful!
4/21/03 11:24 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I spent my Spring Break muslin fitting this top. After two attempts, I got it just right. Now, as soon as I have time (and the weather warms up just a bit above 75, I plan to make it in some linen/rayon blend also. I had the same trouble with the band and ties. I plan to attach the band the same way I did on my son's Karate outfit, sewing the band on the way I would a waistband, stitching the ends after attaching the band, then 'stitch-in-the-ditch' to sew the inner side of the band down. I'll do a review as soon as I'm done. Penny, there is a different front for a larger bust. I think I cut the C-cup size. This is one of the benefits of a Palmer/Pletsch pattern. - Sherril
4/22/03 0:34 AM
CatherineN said...
That lovely color looks so nice on you. Thanks for a large pic that really shows the details.
4/22/03 1:31 AM
AnneM said...
My, things are not anywhere near that green around here. Thanks for the informative review and mentioning the trouble points. Your top turned out very well.
4/22/03 9:37 AM
Skymom said...
I have this pattern but haven't tried it yet. My first pass through the instructions led me to believe I'd have to come up with a different method for that band and tie, and you've confirmed that! Still, yours looks terrific--I'm glad to see that the neckline wraps pretty high up and stays closed, because I always have trouble with gaping fronts. Nice work!
4/22/03 11:13 AM
Deepika said...
Jlg I got this pattern as soon as it came out and have been wondering about it. I want to make the whole outfit. Your review is very helpful and now I know that I should be extra careful while putting the bands. So far I've only read the directions once and you are right it is kinda confusing. We'll see how it goes. But looking at your photo atleast I know that it will be worth all the trouble :) Thanks.
4/22/03 1:07 PM
Gina Marie said...
Thats a very beautiful shade on you !! I am going to have to try this one...
4/22/03 8:12 PM
Hello Kitty said...
great job! It looks fantastic. I too am making this shirt. I also found it fit large so I went down a size and that made a big difference. I have to make the arm holes larger as it is not hanging right across the back. Looks really big across my shoulder blades. Still new enough to sewing that I have to figure out these little adjustments!! No problems with the ties, but I did notice that mine ties up on the opposite side than the picture on the pattern shows (actually so does yours, hmmm.....).
5/20/03 7:44 PM
franklinchica said...
I would like to make the dress A out of silk, a fabric that was described as being linen-like. I think that I will first make the top C and pants out of an "easier" fabric. Any thoughts from anyone out there?
11/23/04 9:32 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Buy Now