Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Marfy: 1058 (straight trousers) - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 992 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:julesberry
photo
About julesberrystarstar
Member since: 12/6/05
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 56
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/19/08 0:48 AM
Last Updated:1/19/08 0:53 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Cody7 said...
Hi Julesberry, I think the creases underneath your bottom are caused because you have a flat bottom. In the book Pants for Real People by Palmer/Pletsch they suggest pulling them up at the centre back until the wrinkles disappear. They say if this creates 'smiles' at the front you may have to let out the front inseams. As I have a very full bottom I am not an expert on this alteration. Good luck with future pants!
1/19/08 1:09 AM
Kay Y said...
I think the clue to your creases is that they occur in close fitting trousers. Because of the close fit, you need extra length in the back for activities of normal daily life (like sitting and walking). The pattern piece is less "upright" through the crotch and CB. When you are not using it up by bending your body, the length has to go somewhere and it forms creases. By contrast, looser trousers accommodate body movement inside the garment and don't need the additional length. The CB seam is more vertical which means the trousers can fall nicely off your backside. If you altered these to remove the extra length, the trousers would not be as comfortable. I'd not monkey with it because they look great, flowers and all!
1/19/08 11:06 AM
lmg said...
Great looking pants, flowers and all. As for the creases, I have always wondered about that. Taking them out does make them less comfortable (ask me how I know) and fit more like jeans. The pants look fine to me.
1/19/08 11:40 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Looking at your side view, I'd suspect an athletic front thigh curve as a reason for those creases in back. I think they are actually strain lines that are created when the front of the pants try to borrow fabric from the back. (And I know this because I am intimately familiar with the problem and have passed it on to the next generation.) But your pants look good enough that I'm putting this pattern on my wish list, so congratulations and thanks a WHOLE bunch! ;-)
1/19/08 12:03 PM
rosannec said...
Nice pants...I think the fabric would be nice as a summer sheath dress, actually, accessorised with a white or light pink cardigan or wrap. That way the fabric can pretty much stand on it's own. Do you have enough left for this?
1/19/08 12:47 PM
Luckylibbet said...
ITA with Karla on the creases at the back. But aside from that, the fit is good. They actually look like fun pants.
1/19/08 12:57 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, by gosh, if I could get by with wearing a wild print like this in a pair of pants, I would! Yours look GREAT on you. :o) I love them!
1/20/08 1:50 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

McCall's 3242 OOP
photo
Review by MaryDB on 3/10/09
Read Review

Burda 7155 Pattern
Burda 7155 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 0131 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0131 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 3134
photo
Review by GailV on 8/10/12
Read Review

Maria Denmark Just a Tank Top Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Just a Tank Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 5-12)
Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Cuff Pant
Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us