Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5323 (Wrap blouse) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 882 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Sharon M
photo
Friend of PR
About Sharon Mstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 8/3/02
Reviews written: 213
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 97 people
patterns reviewed: 212
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/21/08 10:55 PM
Last Updated:1/21/08 11:03 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneMarie60 said...
The blouse looks great, but I am sorry it wasn't the style you were going for. However, I certainly learned a lot from your detailed, well-written review.
1/21/08 11:31 PM
AnitaJ said...
I have this pattern too and like you I thought the sleeve cap looked flat on the pattern photo. Thanks for the heads up on the sleeves. Great review!
1/22/08 0:37 AM
gaby said...
Very pretty!
1/22/08 1:01 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I have to agree with you that the pattern photo of the white blouse does not look at gathered at the sleeve cap. Sorry this is not what you had planned but it was salvageable.
1/22/08 6:40 AM
Lori V said...
Thanks for the wonderful review, sorry the blouse wasn't exactly what you were looking for. Your collar points are beautiful.
1/22/08 7:10 AM
carolynw said...
It looks so nice and am sorry it wasn't what you expected - bummer!!
1/22/08 9:08 AM
EveS said...
Yeah, that really doesn't look like the pic, does it? But it's really pretty!! Thanks for the heads-up on the sleeves...I've got linebacker width as it is, so it looks like I'll be passing this one by.
1/22/08 1:31 PM
nicegirl said...
Those sleevecaps immediately caught my eye as the one element on this blouse I didn't like. Everything else is great and your construction is impeccable.
1/22/08 2:03 PM
meggy said...
The photo does show a flat sleeve cap but if you look at the technical drawing it does show the gathers and fullness, I have learned to always take that as the true design of patterns. Your top came out well by the way.
1/24/08 6:41 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Sharon, thanks so much for all the details!!! Like you, one of my 'Likes' about this was that nice clean shoulder on the white blouse; I see that I'll have to do some serious re-drafting if that's what I want. I hadn't noticed the discrepancy between the photo and the tech drawing...why do pattern comanies do that?!
5/31/08 11:59 AM
smartcookie said...
Just wanted to chime in and thank you for an excellent review. I really appreciate the alert on the sleeve cap! I like the photo of the white blouse so perhaps I will try a sleeve substitution/redraft.
5/22/11 11:26 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Amy Butler AB031LTC
photo
Review by SarahSM on 9/16/08
Read Review

Vogue 2634 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )
Vogue 2634 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2813 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 2813 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns 1302 Tofino pants
photo
Review by SuzyBee on 5/23/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Felt Strap-On Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Felt Strap-On Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Moss Mini Skirt
Moss Mini Skirt

Details
Price: $8.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern
Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us