SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5323 (Wrap blouse)

2 more reviews
Viewed 884 times 
Reviewed by:Sharon M
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sharon Mstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 8/3/02
Reviews written: 213
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 212
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/21/08 10:55 PM
Last Updated:1/21/08 11:03 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneMarie60 said...
The blouse looks great, but I am sorry it wasn't the style you were going for. However, I certainly learned a lot from your detailed, well-written review.
1/21/08 11:31 PM
AnitaJ said...
I have this pattern too and like you I thought the sleeve cap looked flat on the pattern photo. Thanks for the heads up on the sleeves. Great review!
1/22/08 0:37 AM
gaby said...
Very pretty!
1/22/08 1:01 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I have to agree with you that the pattern photo of the white blouse does not look at gathered at the sleeve cap. Sorry this is not what you had planned but it was salvageable.
1/22/08 6:40 AM
Lori V said...
Thanks for the wonderful review, sorry the blouse wasn't exactly what you were looking for. Your collar points are beautiful.
1/22/08 7:10 AM
carolynw said...
It looks so nice and am sorry it wasn't what you expected - bummer!!
1/22/08 9:08 AM
EveS said...
Yeah, that really doesn't look like the pic, does it? But it's really pretty!! Thanks for the heads-up on the sleeves...I've got linebacker width as it is, so it looks like I'll be passing this one by.
1/22/08 1:31 PM
nicegirl said...
Those sleevecaps immediately caught my eye as the one element on this blouse I didn't like. Everything else is great and your construction is impeccable.
1/22/08 2:03 PM
meggy said...
The photo does show a flat sleeve cap but if you look at the technical drawing it does show the gathers and fullness, I have learned to always take that as the true design of patterns. Your top came out well by the way.
1/24/08 6:41 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Sharon, thanks so much for all the details!!! Like you, one of my 'Likes' about this was that nice clean shoulder on the white blouse; I see that I'll have to do some serious re-drafting if that's what I want. I hadn't noticed the discrepancy between the photo and the tech drawing...why do pattern comanies do that?!
5/31/08 11:59 AM
smartcookie said...
Just wanted to chime in and thank you for an excellent review. I really appreciate the alert on the sleeve cap! I like the photo of the white blouse so perhaps I will try a sleeve substitution/redraft.
5/22/11 11:26 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2005-112

photo
by: Red Dragon

Review
Jalie 2919

photo
by: momtoesthe...

Review

Pattern

Beginner Sewing Lab 101 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 101  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Buy Now