SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Folkwear> 219 (Intimacies)

8 more reviews
Viewed 912 times 
Reviewed by:KathleenS
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About KathleenSstarstar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/18/02
Reviews written: 75
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 69
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/22/08 4:37 AM
Last Updated:1/22/08 4:37 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Quesie said...
Well, this is stunning. Could you tell me what you used to interface it, and what that white material is that you used for the hem? Did you use pressing techniques to stretch the bias, or extra-insurance side seams? You look beautiful in it, with or without the dress!
1/22/08 6:47 AM
KathleenS said...
Thanks Quesie! It isn't interfaced. The facing provides some stabilisation for the top edge (in my amateurish understanding of it) and it doesn't need anything else. I increased the side seam allowances to 1" (they were 1/2") and stretched them slightly as I sewed them, having loosely basted them beforehand to provide a guideline for the width. I didn't realise that the hem photo was confusing. I've put both the front and back hems in the picture so you can see both sides of the hem. The white fabric is just the background that I used for contrast .

Every time I sew bias I use this Threads article as a very useful reference, if anyone needs tips.
1/22/08 7:15 AM
Marji said...
Thank you so much for this review. That is EXACTLY the design I've been trying to find for a couple of years, to replace an old but well loved slip. I'm ordering today. It is lovely on you.
1/22/08 8:10 AM
Twinset said...
Wow, that is SO cute! Congratulations! You make me think that I should get this pattern immediately!
1/22/08 9:43 AM
Sew_Creative said...
Wow! this is a great finish if I didn't know better I would say this was bought of the rack, you are very good, and I like the color too.
1/22/08 9:45 AM
Athene said...
Your slip is beautiful. I especially like the cut of the slip on the side view.
1/23/08 2:44 AM
cindyann said...
I also would like to thank you for reviewing this pattern. I have been looking for a slip pattern with interesting detail too! Love your version.
1/23/08 8:27 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
This is absolutely gorgeous and so sexy. Love it
1/23/08 10:56 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Dixie DIY Hot Cocoa Sweater

photo
by: Kathhhhhy

Review
New Look 6723

photo
by: Chickey17

Review
Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 502 Pattern

Petite Plus 502 Pattern

Buy Now