Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4985 (Misses' Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 917 times 46 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 177
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 153 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/23/08 0:44 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewfrequent said...
This is a really cute top!! Great job!
1/23/08 6:48 AM
Lori V said...
Very cute top, I like the way your redrafted the sleeves.
1/23/08 7:35 AM
phthooey said...
Great blouse, and nice fit!
1/23/08 9:07 AM
Physics Girl said...
I have these problems with sleeves too. I've learned that for me, it's an indication of "square" shoulders... and the whole armhole needs to be moved up and the shoulder seam more horizontal (less tilted). I also, because of this, tend to like flared sleeves or those with flatter caps (more like men's wear)... to allow for more movement even sometimes without alteration of the armhole (although moving it is best). You can google "square shoulder alteration" and see if it works for you. You blouse, despite your concern with sleeve issues, is lovely... and would look great under a brown suit jacket (since in suits you won't be doing jumping jacks anyways!)!
1/23/08 10:15 AM
LindsayT said...
Nice! The fabric gives it a retro-glamorous appeal.
1/23/08 10:48 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Very cute top.
1/23/08 11:36 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
I wouldn't have given this fabric a second look, but it made a beautiful blouse. The pulling issues you noted are addressed in a David Coffin book I have, but I could never explain it so that it would make sense.
1/23/08 10:42 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Very nice!
1/24/08 9:24 AM
ChristineBR said...
I can't help thinking the back pulling is a feature of your pulling your arms forward. Do they show up when you stand normally and look in a mirror? The front lines show that you have a bit of extra fabric radiating down from the shoulder seam. This often happens with a casual line. Try a classic shoulder ie moved in about .75 of an inch and a more tailored sleeve head.
1/24/08 9:55 AM
Larkin said...
I really like the de-puff treatment you did. Your top looks really nice!
1/28/08 3:54 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Vogue Patterns 1061
photo
Review by Sandi S on 12/5/09
Read Review

PerfectFuse Sheer Black
PerfectFuse Sheer Black

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)
Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Super Skinny Pants Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Super Skinny Pants Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Baby 33
photo
Review by movac on 3/8/07
Read Review

Vogue 1284 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1284 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7320 Pattern
Burda 7320 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us