SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5105 (Woman's top)

24 more reviews
Viewed 655 times 
Reviewed by:LindsayT
photo

 
 
About LindsayTstarstarstar
Member since: 8/2/07
Reviews written: 65
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 68 people
patterns reviewed: 57
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/23/08 10:28 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
pterion said...
What an adorable top. That fabric is a real find!
1/23/08 11:04 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Great look! You should enter this top into the RTW/Designer Knock-off contest!
1/23/08 11:30 AM
Em's Summer said...
Great top and the red dress looks great, too! I can definitely understand why your daughter wants you to make her a Spring wardrobe!
1/23/08 11:38 AM
CShelley said...
Oh yes the awesome red dress. And now an incredible top. I'm lusting after that fabric! And I really like the addition of the ribbon. Your daughter is a lucky girl!
1/23/08 12:14 PM
rivergum said...
The top looks lovely and so does your daughter. And it's definitely time she learnt to sew if she wants a custom made wardrobe! You can always help with the tricky bits. BTW, the Free People website reminds me a lot of my days as a hippie chick in the 70ies.
1/23/08 1:42 PM
Lori V said...
Great top for you dd, love the fabric and the ribbon.
1/23/08 4:03 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely fabric and top.
1/24/08 5:28 AM
Stitchcakes said...
Really cute!
1/24/08 9:49 AM
ChristineBR said...
Everything's lovely. And the red dress is another blast from the past! I had one like it in--fanfare--Lurex. Have to think red satin is a huge improvement!
1/24/08 9:52 AM
Deepika said...
I love this top! And I really like the use of ribbon to create a faux empire waist look. Love it! Thanks for the warning about wide shoulders.
1/24/08 10:36 AM
Lucy in Virginia said...
The top and dress are lovely. Really like the ribbon addition. The top looks so much better than the pattern picture! Have DD watch a couple episodes of Project Runway. It may inspire her to create her own designs!
1/24/08 12:10 PM
KathleenS said...
Great top - I love the fabric. I am attracted to the sleeveless view of this pattern because of how snug the armhole seems to be in the pattern photo, without gaping. Based on your experience, do you think that it's realistic?
1/24/08 3:26 PM
LindsayT said...
KathleenS, yes, I think you would find the armhole to be snug-fitting, as overall the pattern has a close fit. But make a quick muslin just to be sure. I use a poly jersey that I get from WalMart for $1/yd for my muslins. Like I said in my review, watch the shoulder width. Also, the bodice length is short--you will need to add a couple of inches or so if you want it to look like all the RTW Ts out there. Good luck!
1/24/08 4:54 PM
KathleenS said...
Thanks Lindsay!
1/25/08 5:18 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Super cute.
1/26/08 3:13 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

McCall's 6078

photo
by: piakdy

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2012-107

photo
by: French.Sea...

Review
Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Buy Now