Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5105 (Woman's top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 654 times 24 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:LindsayT
photo
About LindsayTstarstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 8/2/07
Reviews written: 65
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 68 people
patterns reviewed: 57
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/23/08 10:28 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
pterion said...
What an adorable top. That fabric is a real find!
1/23/08 11:04 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Great look! You should enter this top into the RTW/Designer Knock-off contest!
1/23/08 11:30 AM
Em's Summer said...
Great top and the red dress looks great, too! I can definitely understand why your daughter wants you to make her a Spring wardrobe!
1/23/08 11:38 AM
CShelley said...
Oh yes the awesome red dress. And now an incredible top. I'm lusting after that fabric! And I really like the addition of the ribbon. Your daughter is a lucky girl!
1/23/08 12:14 PM
rivergum said...
The top looks lovely and so does your daughter. And it's definitely time she learnt to sew if she wants a custom made wardrobe! You can always help with the tricky bits. BTW, the Free People website reminds me a lot of my days as a hippie chick in the 70ies.
1/23/08 1:42 PM
Lori V said...
Great top for you dd, love the fabric and the ribbon.
1/23/08 4:03 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely fabric and top.
1/24/08 5:28 AM
Stitchcakes said...
Really cute!
1/24/08 9:49 AM
ChristineBR said...
Everything's lovely. And the red dress is another blast from the past! I had one like it in--fanfare--Lurex. Have to think red satin is a huge improvement!
1/24/08 9:52 AM
Deepika said...
I love this top! And I really like the use of ribbon to create a faux empire waist look. Love it! Thanks for the warning about wide shoulders.
1/24/08 10:36 AM
Lucy in Virginia said...
The top and dress are lovely. Really like the ribbon addition. The top looks so much better than the pattern picture! Have DD watch a couple episodes of Project Runway. It may inspire her to create her own designs!
1/24/08 12:10 PM
KathleenS said...
Great top - I love the fabric. I am attracted to the sleeveless view of this pattern because of how snug the armhole seems to be in the pattern photo, without gaping. Based on your experience, do you think that it's realistic?
1/24/08 3:26 PM
LindsayT said...
KathleenS, yes, I think you would find the armhole to be snug-fitting, as overall the pattern has a close fit. But make a quick muslin just to be sure. I use a poly jersey that I get from WalMart for $1/yd for my muslins. Like I said in my review, watch the shoulder width. Also, the bodice length is short--you will need to add a couple of inches or so if you want it to look like all the RTW Ts out there. Good luck!
1/24/08 4:54 PM
KathleenS said...
Thanks Lindsay!
1/25/08 5:18 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Super cute.
1/26/08 3:13 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2009-6
photo
Review by TanyaMT on 2/8/09
Read Review

Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus V202 VHS
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Details
Price: $40.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Santa Monica Sweetheart Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Santa Monica Sweetheart Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Lavender Handbag Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Lavender Handbag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Threads Magazine Quick Stuff To Sew Vol IV
photo
Review by mad4sewing on 2/8/09
Read Review

Simplicity 1924 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6-7-8 )
Simplicity 1924 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7525 Pattern
Burda 7525 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us