Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4074 (Mock wrap dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 2136 times 52 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 27 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/24/08 12:45 PM
Last Updated:7/24/08 9:31 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
53 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Of all the wonderful outfits you've made, this dress is my current favorite! It looks fabulous on you. I love the color and the print and the shape. Very sophisticated, modern and feminine. Love it!
1/24/08 1:12 PM
KrystalL said...
Thanks for the review. I plan on making the top and skirt this spring.
1/24/08 1:26 PM
Sic said...
Cute dress! Red is a great color on you!
1/24/08 1:32 PM
Lauri Jean said...
You are so talented. I always look forward to seeing what you've created.
1/24/08 1:40 PM
squilts said...
Great use for the fabric, I have also reached the conclusion that I don't wear print tops.
1/24/08 1:56 PM
Sew_Creative said...
really fabulous darling!!
1/24/08 2:03 PM
Jodi B. said...
Beautiful dress! Thanks for reviewing it. It's in my stash and I can see I'll have to pull this out soon.
1/24/08 2:11 PM
Birgitte said...
2 HOURS?? That's just amazing! This looks so fantastic on you!! And I agree; the fabric was just meant for this dress- and with those boots! You're stylin', girl!
1/24/08 2:14 PM
cindy-lou said...
Dagummit! Another 'must-have' from nicegirl. But I do own the pattern... and some fabric... and I've got two hours...
1/24/08 2:19 PM
Braemar said...
I have just bought this pattern and am keen to get some fabric and make it up! This looks really lovely on you!
1/24/08 2:46 PM
didda said...
my favorite color is red, and i have a whole box full of nothing but paisleys, they are my favorite prints. so i really like the dress. of course, i like most of what you make.
1/24/08 2:55 PM
Markie1 said...
Nicegirl, this certainly doesn't look like a dress you made in two hours! You look great it it, I love the fabric and you wear it with your usual flair. You also look as if you are at a professional photo session!
1/24/08 3:46 PM
edupraz said...
Love this. I really ought to get this pattern!
1/24/08 3:56 PM
carolynw said...
Totallyt wonderful - I have this pattern and made the top a few times and wondered what the dress would look like. Not going to pretend I will look the absolute knock out that you do but am going to try it. Awesome job as usual
1/24/08 4:07 PM
marjenann said...
Utterly fabulous!!
1/24/08 4:11 PM
frame said...
Very flattering. Nicely done.
1/24/08 4:31 PM
Linda G said...
Wow, nice dress nice girl!!!!!
1/24/08 4:56 PM
LindsayT said...
I like it! Sometimes speed sewing is really rewarding, don't you think? And props for your photo drape!
1/24/08 5:14 PM
Lori V said...
Very cute dress, I love the red on you.
1/24/08 5:25 PM
CShelley said...
Nice dress Nicegirl! Hard to believe it only took 2 hours. I might pick that one up myself. Thanks for the review.
1/24/08 6:29 PM
RuthieSews said...
Waaaaaaay cooler than the pattern envelope. I passed this over thinking 'frumpy' but its great!
1/24/08 6:32 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Two hours! Gee it takes me that long to decide what to make. I love it, extremely flattering and looks like you can dress this one up or down quite easily.
1/24/08 6:42 PM
Riordan said...
Very pretty dress, and the color is wonderful on you!!
1/24/08 6:58 PM
Em's Summer said...
Great style and I love the fabric!!!
1/24/08 7:42 PM
Karen6790 said...
A 2 hour dress? Talk about a fabulous instant gratification project. Hmmm, I'm more or less pattern fasting right now but I've added this to my list. Fabulous, as usual.
1/24/08 9:09 PM
sewbehind said...
Beautiful dress that is very flattering on you. Great job.
1/24/08 10:55 PM
ryan's mom said...
Oh. My. Gosh!!! I LOVE it!!! What an awesome dress, especially in that print. And I have this pattern too. Was thinking about making it in a knit I got from Kashi. You look fabulous--and I love it with your boots too! And there are still (shamefully) too many PR Weekend 2006 fabrics in my stash.
1/25/08 8:23 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Fabulous! I passed over this one too, but now I have to give it a second look.
1/25/08 10:13 AM
chrisquilts_2 said...
Pattern companies should hire you. Your versions always look better than those on the pattern envelopes. I wouldn't have given this pattern a second look, but it looks fab on you!
1/25/08 11:03 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Being inspired by your fantastic creation in red, I purchased some red knit last night. Now if only I spent time at the gym, too . . . . You are truly an inspiration, and I am in awe of your speediness!
1/25/08 11:24 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Very pretty dress! I love my top and skirt I made from this pattern. The fabric you used it great too!
1/25/08 12:36 PM
Huldra said...
I never bought this pattern, because I didn't realise it could look this fantastic! Wow.
1/25/08 1:11 PM
cindyann said...
Very pretty! I just love a red dress.
1/25/08 4:06 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Nice print! 2 hrs man....your sew fast! It takes me that long just to plan a garment.
1/25/08 4:34 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Ooo pretty!!
1/25/08 7:58 PM
Dee2 said...
Love your dress! Great fabric choice too. Amazingly pretty for an investment of 2 hours time!
1/25/08 8:22 PM
Kim Winson said...
Awesome dress! I've made the top in this pattern and there are nebulous plans to make the wrap dress. Thanks for the review!
1/26/08 3:41 PM
Heatherrique said...
Ay ay ay! NiceGirl, you are a darling valentine in this dress! Marvelous dress! I love it!
1/26/08 9:34 PM
CypGrl said...
Something appropriate for work -- and you say it is quick. Perfect!
7/24/08 10:26 AM
pterion said...
Both versions are terrific. Fun yellow and black fabric!
7/24/08 10:36 AM
Michelle L said...
Love the yellow version! I just picked up some of the same fabric myself, and I was so excited to see your review with it made up into a dress. It looks great. Thanks for the warning about the show-through.
7/24/08 10:41 AM
Gelbean said...
Another great version of this dress. Your original review inspired me to buy this pattern. Keep the reviews coming. I love to see what you have created.
7/24/08 11:15 AM
SueV said...
both look great! Thansk for the review
7/24/08 11:47 AM
Carol B. said...
Your reviews are so enjoyable to read! They're very honest and fun to read. The dress is adorable. You really know what looks good on you.
7/24/08 12:25 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Love that sleeveless version - it really looks great with that fabric!
7/24/08 12:25 PM
Elona said...
What appealing dresses! EVen though you had to take out an ungodly amount for your alterations, it looks terrific. Whatever works, eh?
7/24/08 1:30 PM
Twinset said...
Cute dress! Those colors are fantastic on you!
7/24/08 3:34 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Love your sleeveless version - great use of that fabric!
7/24/08 4:47 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Adorable!
7/24/08 9:32 PM
DorothyK said...
Great dress. Very flattering.
7/25/08 1:44 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
I like both version of this dress.
7/25/08 3:10 PM
phthooey said...
Beautiful!
7/26/08 9:05 PM
slt said...
Love both dresses and thanks for the detailed photos. I always learn from your sewing reviews. I love both versions and just bought the pattern today.
9/9/08 6:50 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

McCall's 5778
photo
Review by SondraG on 12/21/09
Read Review

McCalls 2339 Pattern ( Size 30 1/2-31 1/2 )
McCalls 2339 Pattern ( Size 30 1/2-31 1/2 )

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7257 Pattern
Burda 7257 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2805
photo
Review by pdiddly on 11/3/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Beach Bum Bermuda Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Beach Bum Bermuda Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us