SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4074 (Mock wrap dress)

52 more reviews
Viewed 2150 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 322
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 315 people
patterns reviewed: 322
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/24/08 12:45 PM
Last Updated:7/24/08 9:31 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 27 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
53 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
slt said...
Love both dresses and thanks for the detailed photos. I always learn from your sewing reviews. I love both versions and just bought the pattern today.
9/9/08 6:50 PM
phthooey said...
Beautiful!
7/26/08 9:05 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
I like both version of this dress.
7/25/08 3:10 PM
DorothyK said...
Great dress. Very flattering.
7/25/08 1:44 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Adorable!
7/24/08 9:32 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Love your sleeveless version - great use of that fabric!
7/24/08 4:47 PM
Twinset said...
Cute dress! Those colors are fantastic on you!
7/24/08 3:34 PM
Elona said...
What appealing dresses! EVen though you had to take out an ungodly amount for your alterations, it looks terrific. Whatever works, eh?
7/24/08 1:30 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Love that sleeveless version - it really looks great with that fabric!
7/24/08 12:25 PM
Carol B. said...
Your reviews are so enjoyable to read! They're very honest and fun to read. The dress is adorable. You really know what looks good on you.
7/24/08 12:25 PM
SueV said...
both look great! Thansk for the review
7/24/08 11:47 AM
Gelbean said...
Another great version of this dress. Your original review inspired me to buy this pattern. Keep the reviews coming. I love to see what you have created.
7/24/08 11:15 AM
Michelle L said...
Love the yellow version! I just picked up some of the same fabric myself, and I was so excited to see your review with it made up into a dress. It looks great. Thanks for the warning about the show-through.
7/24/08 10:41 AM
pterion said...
Both versions are terrific. Fun yellow and black fabric!
7/24/08 10:36 AM
CypGrl said...
Something appropriate for work -- and you say it is quick. Perfect!
7/24/08 10:26 AM
Heatherrique said...
Ay ay ay! NiceGirl, you are a darling valentine in this dress! Marvelous dress! I love it!
1/26/08 9:34 PM
Kim Winson said...
Awesome dress! I've made the top in this pattern and there are nebulous plans to make the wrap dress. Thanks for the review!
1/26/08 3:41 PM
Dee2 said...
Love your dress! Great fabric choice too. Amazingly pretty for an investment of 2 hours time!
1/25/08 8:22 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Ooo pretty!!
1/25/08 7:58 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Nice print! 2 hrs man....your sew fast! It takes me that long just to plan a garment.
1/25/08 4:34 PM
cindyann said...
Very pretty! I just love a red dress.
1/25/08 4:06 PM
Huldra said...
I never bought this pattern, because I didn't realise it could look this fantastic! Wow.
1/25/08 1:11 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Very pretty dress! I love my top and skirt I made from this pattern. The fabric you used it great too!
1/25/08 12:36 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Being inspired by your fantastic creation in red, I purchased some red knit last night. Now if only I spent time at the gym, too . . . . You are truly an inspiration, and I am in awe of your speediness!
1/25/08 11:24 AM
chrisquilts_2 said...
Pattern companies should hire you. Your versions always look better than those on the pattern envelopes. I wouldn't have given this pattern a second look, but it looks fab on you!
1/25/08 11:03 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Fabulous! I passed over this one too, but now I have to give it a second look.
1/25/08 10:13 AM
ryan's mom said...
Oh. My. Gosh!!! I LOVE it!!! What an awesome dress, especially in that print. And I have this pattern too. Was thinking about making it in a knit I got from Kashi. You look fabulous--and I love it with your boots too! And there are still (shamefully) too many PR Weekend 2006 fabrics in my stash.
1/25/08 8:23 AM
sewbehind said...
Beautiful dress that is very flattering on you. Great job.
1/24/08 10:55 PM
Karen6790 said...
A 2 hour dress? Talk about a fabulous instant gratification project. Hmmm, I'm more or less pattern fasting right now but I've added this to my list. Fabulous, as usual.
1/24/08 9:09 PM
Em's Summer said...
Great style and I love the fabric!!!
1/24/08 7:42 PM
Riordan said...
Very pretty dress, and the color is wonderful on you!!
1/24/08 6:58 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Two hours! Gee it takes me that long to decide what to make. I love it, extremely flattering and looks like you can dress this one up or down quite easily.
1/24/08 6:42 PM
RuthieSews said...
Waaaaaaay cooler than the pattern envelope. I passed this over thinking 'frumpy' but its great!
1/24/08 6:32 PM
CShelley said...
Nice dress Nicegirl! Hard to believe it only took 2 hours. I might pick that one up myself. Thanks for the review.
1/24/08 6:29 PM
Lori V said...
Very cute dress, I love the red on you.
1/24/08 5:25 PM
LindsayT said...
I like it! Sometimes speed sewing is really rewarding, don't you think? And props for your photo drape!
1/24/08 5:14 PM
Linda G said...
Wow, nice dress nice girl!!!!!
1/24/08 4:56 PM
frame said...
Very flattering. Nicely done.
1/24/08 4:31 PM
marjenann said...
Utterly fabulous!!
1/24/08 4:11 PM
carolynw said...
Totallyt wonderful - I have this pattern and made the top a few times and wondered what the dress would look like. Not going to pretend I will look the absolute knock out that you do but am going to try it. Awesome job as usual
1/24/08 4:07 PM
edupraz said...
Love this. I really ought to get this pattern!
1/24/08 3:56 PM
Markie1 said...
Nicegirl, this certainly doesn't look like a dress you made in two hours! You look great it it, I love the fabric and you wear it with your usual flair. You also look as if you are at a professional photo session!
1/24/08 3:46 PM
didda said...
my favorite color is red, and i have a whole box full of nothing but paisleys, they are my favorite prints. so i really like the dress. of course, i like most of what you make.
1/24/08 2:55 PM
Braemar said...
I have just bought this pattern and am keen to get some fabric and make it up! This looks really lovely on you!
1/24/08 2:46 PM
cindy-lou said...
Dagummit! Another 'must-have' from nicegirl. But I do own the pattern... and some fabric... and I've got two hours...
1/24/08 2:19 PM
Birgitte said...
2 HOURS?? That's just amazing! This looks so fantastic on you!! And I agree; the fabric was just meant for this dress- and with those boots! You're stylin', girl!
1/24/08 2:14 PM
Jodi B. said...
Beautiful dress! Thanks for reviewing it. It's in my stash and I can see I'll have to pull this out soon.
1/24/08 2:11 PM
Sew_Creative said...
really fabulous darling!!
1/24/08 2:03 PM
squilts said...
Great use for the fabric, I have also reached the conclusion that I don't wear print tops.
1/24/08 1:56 PM
Lauri Jean said...
You are so talented. I always look forward to seeing what you've created.
1/24/08 1:40 PM
Sic said...
Cute dress! Red is a great color on you!
1/24/08 1:32 PM
KrystalL said...
Thanks for the review. I plan on making the top and skirt this spring.
1/24/08 1:26 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Of all the wonderful outfits you've made, this dress is my current favorite! It looks fabulous on you. I love the color and the print and the shape. Very sophisticated, modern and feminine. Love it!
1/24/08 1:12 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1328

photo
by: mangoflavo...

Review
Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

More Info