Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Amy Butler: AB021WT (Weekender Travel Bag) thumbsup - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 1990 times 45 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
Reviewed by:CynthiaSue
photo
Friend of PR
About CynthiaSuestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 10/11/03
Reviews written: 80
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 108 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/25/08 11:09 PM
Last Updated:1/25/08 11:39 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SarahSM said...
Well, what can I say---congratulations on finishing! But I totally understand your sentiment about how some things are meant to remain unfinished.
1/25/08 11:40 PM
Margie T said...
Your bag looks great. I'm glad you didn't throw it away!
1/26/08 1:10 AM
Marji said...
Will you ever be able to use it without resentment? It's great looking. I'm so sorry to hear of all the troubles. And to think that this is the bag I've been contemplating for my accessory if I manage to enter the wardrobe contest. Might have to rethink this one.
1/26/08 3:05 AM
Huldra said...
Well, the bag looks great. I hope you're going to use it so much that you forget how horrible it was so sew. :)
1/26/08 4:10 AM
Markie1 said...
Thank you for this honest review. I bought this pattern to make and have read several reviews for it--all of which have expressed some form of frustration or physical pain! But most have said it was worth the struggle. However, I'm now officially done with my hopes for making this bag--EVEN THOUGH yours is lovely (I love the matching dog-walking girl--well done!) But this seems to come under the "life's too short" category. Sewing shouldn't make you cry... TOO often!
1/26/08 4:23 AM
Ronda Rae said...
I'm sorry for the frustrations this caused you. :-( I made it several years ago and yes, it is a frustrating pattern. Funny thing is; I've started on my second one last night. I just finished the piping. This time I am using quilting cotton. We'll see if that makes a difference. Wish me luck- this is my weekend project!
1/26/08 5:55 AM
Lori V said...
The bag is gorgeous, sorry it is so high price. I have made this bag once and totally understand your frustration. It is so nice when done but very hard to do.
1/26/08 7:20 AM
phthooey said...
I have had this pattern for a while and it's never made it to the top of my list. Thanks for helping to set my expectations. I hope that you carry the heck out of this bag. Your sure did work hard for it!
1/26/08 8:24 AM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
My first impression was what a cute bag and such cook fabric. You must have a lot of patience! Then I read the review and from now on I will consider you "super sewist"!! I really think it's a great bag. Hopefully you'll be able to look past the pain and put it to good use.
1/26/08 8:49 AM
Babs42 said...
Thanks for the warning! I have the Sophia Carry All and have heard how hard they are to sew. I will definitely heed the warning! Your bag turned out great btw, but I agree it was not worth the trouble or the price.
1/26/08 9:17 AM
Sigrid. said...
Another one who is greatful for the honest review and warning. I'm postponing making the Sophia bag, and have this pattern too, and now know it is definitely a difficult thing. But your bag is beautiful!
1/26/08 10:12 AM
Heatherrique said...
Great looking bag! Oh Cindy, sorry for the troubles you went through! Thanks for the heads up on this pattern!
1/26/08 10:23 AM
Sewingmi said...
Boy, it really did turn out beautifully...too bad some of these pattern makers don't take into account the kind of sewing machines people have at home. Good review!
1/26/08 11:03 AM
cindyann said...
Thank you so much for this review! I have been wanting to make this but was afraid that it might just be to frustrating. You have convinced me that it's just not worth it. LOL So sorry that it "cost" so much. It sure is a nice bag and I love that you matched up the pattern on the pockets.
1/26/08 12:13 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Oh it's a painful bag to make - I totally agree! Congrats on finishing it - you must bring it to PR weekend and show it off. I'm sorry it turned out to be such an expensive project, but don't let the allow you not to enjoy the end result. Beautiful bag!!!!!
1/26/08 12:14 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Your persistence paid off because it's a beautiful bag. However, that being said, I'm glad you wrote an honest review and I will steer clear of this one. Thanks again
1/26/08 4:26 PM
marjenann said...
What a bummer!!! So sorry your machine took a beating on this bag. Seriously, that fabric is gorgeous!! I hope you can enjoy toting this baby around!!! It is adorable!
1/26/08 6:20 PM
mrs quickly said...
Thanks for the honest review. I like Amy's bags but will steer clear of this one as well as the Sophia. Your persistence paid off though, you have a supper cute bag. Wear it until it falls to pieces!
1/26/08 11:53 PM
Marsha G. said...
Oh Cindy! You deserve a medal for perseverance, and it would seem that anyone else who has struggled with this pattern should join the ranks also! I agree with everyone else that the finished bag is truly lovely. Use it, use it, use it OR give it away as a gift if it is really too upsetting to relive the stress. On a related note, even though the piping adds a lot to the detail, is there some way to eliminate it all together, perhaps using a flat braid trim or ribbon or bias strip sewn just inside the seam allowances, which would add definition to the edges without adding bulk?? OR, could you use a folded bias strip as insertion, without the cord normally used in the piping?? It sounds like the biggest problem everyone has had is the bulk at the piping seams. The bag itself is a great size and perhaps there's some way around the bulk issue. Not having sewn it myself, I don't know what other bulk issues there might be; perhaps there is fleece backing in the seams also?? At any rate, you did a wonderful job, even amidst many trials, and you should be very proud of yourself!
1/27/08 10:20 AM
CynthiaSue said...
Marsha G. you are too sweet. That's a great posting because people who want to sew the bag now have a few options to still try it. Thank you!
1/28/08 3:43 PM
Birdie757 said...
I am a Sophia Carry-all grad and I feel your pain. I really only had problems with the piping on the bottom of the bag and will eliminate it if I make it again...you can't really see the bottom anyways and I would rather have no trim than sloppy trim. After hearing that it broke your machine though I might just count my lucky stars that I escaped with only a few broken needles and sore forearms...and stash this pattern in the back of my pile. You bag is truly lovely though...I love the fabric.
1/29/08 7:23 AM
purplepolowraps said...
i'm sorry you had such a lousy time putting it together. but it turned out super cute! ;o)
1/31/08 6:13 PM
Reggies Mom said...
Glad you persevered because it came out super cute. I've been meaning to make this for my sis for over a year, but always chickened out. Even though I'm more nervous than ever I think I might try to tackle it. Hey, you did it and lived to tell about it! ;-) Thanks for the review.
2/5/08 3:37 AM
mewiththree said...
this is precisely why I visit this site frequently! Thank you for the review! I can absolutely feel your frustration through reading it. I have been there several times and you are totally correct, this sort of thing is why items that start out with such promise end up becoming UFO's! Thanks for saving so many people hours of frustration and potentially hundreds of dollars. Or at least warning them of what they are getting into! The bag looks beautiful, and I'm so impressed you actually finished it! I would have chucked it long ago and opted for the Coach or D&B! :) You know what, maybe you should get yourself one! You certainly deserve it!
2/6/08 3:23 PM
Hooptastic said...
LOL! I totally feel your pain and frustration. Thanks for passing on the information on your experience in such a refreshing manner. I loved this review, even through I felt your pain while reading it.
2/6/08 4:15 PM
Warbler said...
Your are a super sewist to have stuggled and won in the end! I made this pattern too and started out with twill... I have since I recut the pattern in a nice quilting cotton so it went together more easily. I had very fatugued hands tho'. Great review! I also sewed the Frenchy x 2 and now cutting the Sofia with coordinating fabric to my Weekender. I love the two bags together!
2/12/08 11:42 PM
JMarie1962 said...
I have to say your bag looks awesome. I love your fabric choices and combinations. I would love to make this bag - despite all your warnings :) It's just too cute to pass by. Thanks for your review!
2/16/08 10:37 PM
nancia said...
I just love this bag, soooooo much, despite all the troubles - its unique. congratulations. I will save a weekend and try it one day.
2/2/09 5:01 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Every single mention of this pattern I've ever seen has read like this, and because of it, I swore to never, ever touch this bag, no matter how tempting! There's a very similarly shaped and sized bag in the Aug 09 KnipMode that I'm making right now that I'm hoping will be a less stressfull alternative! Congratulations on finishing, but I hope you can stil look at it without feeling pained!!
8/7/09 11:26 AM
NancyDaQ said...
Cute bag, but I'd never be able to look at it again after all that grief.
8/7/09 4:49 PM
Mufffet said...
Thanks for this review....let it remind me why I don't want to sew bags!
8/11/09 9:42 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Daisy Kingdom 2431
photo
Review by kathieh9 on 7/30/13
Read Review

SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern
SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern
SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Coffee Date Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Coffee Date Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Stella Dress and Top Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Stella Dress and Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2447 Misses' Tops
photo
Review by kittecat on 4/10/13
Read Review

Butterick 5930 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5930 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2226 Pattern( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 2226 Pattern( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us