SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5597 (McCalls, Palmer & Pletsch Suit)

6 more reviews
Viewed 867 times 
Reviewed by:ALY
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ALYstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 2/21/03
Reviews written: 53
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 49 people
patterns reviewed: 53
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/26/08 10:31 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 7 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Suits / Separates    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cheesemonkey said...
Excellent review -- useful additional information.
2/5/09 2:34 AM
Pati Palmer said...
Your jacket looks great! Pati Palmer
12/23/08 2:52 PM
AnneM said...
Great job on the jacket. Distinctive but not too 'artsy'. Lovely color, also.
2/9/08 1:11 PM
Heatherrique said...
Absolutely breathtaking jacket! Wonderful job, Aly!
1/31/08 1:15 AM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Very unique jacket. In looking at the tucks, I noticed the lining--very pretty!
1/30/08 1:39 PM
Nancywin said...
Beautiful jacket. The tucks in the front are very interesting and unique. You have a great plan going.
1/28/08 7:54 PM
Linda G said...
Your outfit is beautiful, I have studied that pattern, wondering what the construction method is now I know...make the jacket and then pleat. This jacket is modern looking with a vintage flair, very cute, when are McCalls patterns 99 cents again? I need this one!! Thanks for the review.
1/27/08 5:22 PM
cecelia said...
What a lovely jacket--the collar is so unusual. I really like it.
1/27/08 4:33 PM
DivaQ said...
I just bought this pattern for the jacket. You did a great job!
1/27/08 4:22 PM
cmarie12 said...
I am not enamored with this jacket but you did a great job on it...love the color and fabric choice! You are on your way to making another wonderful SWAP!
1/27/08 1:39 PM
Darla in PA said...
Your jacket turned out beautiful! I purchased this pattern just because of the detail. Give I'll have to busy and get it made.
1/27/08 11:21 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Love the detailing at the neckline. What a great looking jacket.
1/27/08 11:04 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I just purchased this pattern a couple of weeks ago. Glad to see the jacket made up. Looks very nice.
1/27/08 11:01 AM
carolynw said...
Really different and lovely - nice work!
1/27/08 9:24 AM
marjenann said...
Wow!! That is a lovely jacket!! I just love the unique details. It truly looks like a designer garment!
1/27/08 9:03 AM
CShelley said...
Wow! I love this jacket! I'm always looking for something corporate but not boring and this fits the bill. Thanks for the review.
1/27/08 8:25 AM
blue mooney said...
Your jacket looks great. Thanks for reviewing - I think I need this pattern!
1/27/08 8:13 AM
nellc said...
This is a great jacket, the pleat detail at the front is really interesting, and the colour is lovely.
1/27/08 7:42 AM
Marji said...
That looks really nice. I just had a look through your flickr folder - you're really clipping right along. You've got all your required wardrobe pieces done, and they look great.
1/27/08 7:10 AM
Karen8320 said...
Aly, what an interesting design this is! I can imagine that pleating the front design with various layers of fabric must be a bit tricky, but you've done a great job.
1/27/08 7:06 AM
RuthieSews said...
That looks really really nice and oh so wearable. Aly you must be one sharp looking lady.
1/27/08 4:03 AM
ITAdmin said...
Beautiful job! The pleats are an interesting and unusual detail. Very pretty color, too.
1/27/08 3:19 AM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Your jacket looks wonderful! Any chance we could see a picture on you? I've had my eye on this pattern, but I wondered how it would look on a real person. I haven't really worn jackets much in the past, but I seem to be drawn to them. :) Very nice work!
1/27/08 0:24 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Your jacket look great! I recently bought this pattern and plan to make the jacket some time this spring.
1/27/08 0:13 AM
Annette1 said...
Oooo, very interesting. This is the first time I've seen this pattern made up (I was just looking at the pattern in my magazine that came today). Very pretty!
1/26/08 11:44 PM
Mahler said...
This is a very, very interesting jacket. I wonder if the tucks take their inspiration form Montana jacket Vogue 2921. They are placed differently but... who knows. Again, this is a great, great jacket !
1/26/08 10:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

New Look 6968

photo
by: prosthetic...

Review
Simplicity 1939

photo
by: Achallengi...

Review
Beginner Sewing Lab 104 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 104  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

More Info
You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

More Info