Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5597 (McCalls, Palmer & Pletsch Suit) thumbsup - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 866 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 7 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:ALY
photo
Friend of PR
About ALYstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 2/21/03
Reviews written: 52
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/26/08 10:31 PM


See other patterns in this category: Suits / Separates    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mahler said...
This is a very, very interesting jacket. I wonder if the tucks take their inspiration form Montana jacket Vogue 2921. They are placed differently but... who knows. Again, this is a great, great jacket !
1/26/08 10:50 PM
Annette1 said...
Oooo, very interesting. This is the first time I've seen this pattern made up (I was just looking at the pattern in my magazine that came today). Very pretty!
1/26/08 11:44 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Your jacket look great! I recently bought this pattern and plan to make the jacket some time this spring.
1/27/08 0:13 AM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Your jacket looks wonderful! Any chance we could see a picture on you? I've had my eye on this pattern, but I wondered how it would look on a real person. I haven't really worn jackets much in the past, but I seem to be drawn to them. :) Very nice work!
1/27/08 0:24 AM
ITAdmin said...
Beautiful job! The pleats are an interesting and unusual detail. Very pretty color, too.
1/27/08 3:19 AM
RuthieSews said...
That looks really really nice and oh so wearable. Aly you must be one sharp looking lady.
1/27/08 4:03 AM
Karen8320 said...
Aly, what an interesting design this is! I can imagine that pleating the front design with various layers of fabric must be a bit tricky, but you've done a great job.
1/27/08 7:06 AM
Marji said...
That looks really nice. I just had a look through your flickr folder - you're really clipping right along. You've got all your required wardrobe pieces done, and they look great.
1/27/08 7:10 AM
nellc said...
This is a great jacket, the pleat detail at the front is really interesting, and the colour is lovely.
1/27/08 7:42 AM
blue mooney said...
Your jacket looks great. Thanks for reviewing - I think I need this pattern!
1/27/08 8:13 AM
CShelley said...
Wow! I love this jacket! I'm always looking for something corporate but not boring and this fits the bill. Thanks for the review.
1/27/08 8:25 AM
marjenann said...
Wow!! That is a lovely jacket!! I just love the unique details. It truly looks like a designer garment!
1/27/08 9:03 AM
carolynw said...
Really different and lovely - nice work!
1/27/08 9:24 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I just purchased this pattern a couple of weeks ago. Glad to see the jacket made up. Looks very nice.
1/27/08 11:01 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Love the detailing at the neckline. What a great looking jacket.
1/27/08 11:04 AM
Darla in PA said...
Your jacket turned out beautiful! I purchased this pattern just because of the detail. Give I'll have to busy and get it made.
1/27/08 11:21 AM
cmarie12 said...
I am not enamored with this jacket but you did a great job on it...love the color and fabric choice! You are on your way to making another wonderful SWAP!
1/27/08 1:39 PM
DivaQ said...
I just bought this pattern for the jacket. You did a great job!
1/27/08 4:22 PM
cecelia said...
What a lovely jacket--the collar is so unusual. I really like it.
1/27/08 4:33 PM
Linda G said...
Your outfit is beautiful, I have studied that pattern, wondering what the construction method is now I know...make the jacket and then pleat. This jacket is modern looking with a vintage flair, very cute, when are McCalls patterns 99 cents again? I need this one!! Thanks for the review.
1/27/08 5:22 PM
Nancywin said...
Beautiful jacket. The tucks in the front are very interesting and unique. You have a great plan going.
1/28/08 7:54 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Very unique jacket. In looking at the tucks, I noticed the lining--very pretty!
1/30/08 1:39 PM
Heatherrique said...
Absolutely breathtaking jacket! Wonderful job, Aly!
1/31/08 1:15 AM
AnneM said...
Great job on the jacket. Distinctive but not too 'artsy'. Lovely color, also.
2/9/08 1:11 PM
Pati Palmer said...
Your jacket looks great! Pati Palmer
12/23/08 2:52 PM
cheesemonkey said...
Excellent review -- useful additional information.
2/5/09 2:34 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Simplicity 4110
photo
Review by meli88a on 4/6/08
Read Review

Simple Things Cozy Cap Digital Pattern (003)
Simple Things Cozy Cap Digital Pattern (003)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Sailboat Top, Skirt & Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 4-8 )
Oliver   S Sailboat Top, Skirt & Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 4-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

StyleArc Ziggi Jacket
photo
Review by Jrhee on 2/14/14
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1606 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1606 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6218 Pattern ( Size NB-S-M-L )
New Look 6218 Pattern ( Size NB-S-M-L )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us