SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5597 (McCalls, Palmer & Pletsch Suit)

6 more reviews
Viewed 867 times 
Reviewed by:ALY
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ALYstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 2/21/03
Reviews written: 53
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 49 people
patterns reviewed: 53
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/26/08 10:31 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 7 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Suits / Separates    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mahler said...
This is a very, very interesting jacket. I wonder if the tucks take their inspiration form Montana jacket Vogue 2921. They are placed differently but... who knows. Again, this is a great, great jacket !
1/26/08 10:50 PM
Annette1 said...
Oooo, very interesting. This is the first time I've seen this pattern made up (I was just looking at the pattern in my magazine that came today). Very pretty!
1/26/08 11:44 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Your jacket look great! I recently bought this pattern and plan to make the jacket some time this spring.
1/27/08 0:13 AM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Your jacket looks wonderful! Any chance we could see a picture on you? I've had my eye on this pattern, but I wondered how it would look on a real person. I haven't really worn jackets much in the past, but I seem to be drawn to them. :) Very nice work!
1/27/08 0:24 AM
ITAdmin said...
Beautiful job! The pleats are an interesting and unusual detail. Very pretty color, too.
1/27/08 3:19 AM
RuthieSews said...
That looks really really nice and oh so wearable. Aly you must be one sharp looking lady.
1/27/08 4:03 AM
Karen8320 said...
Aly, what an interesting design this is! I can imagine that pleating the front design with various layers of fabric must be a bit tricky, but you've done a great job.
1/27/08 7:06 AM
Marji said...
That looks really nice. I just had a look through your flickr folder - you're really clipping right along. You've got all your required wardrobe pieces done, and they look great.
1/27/08 7:10 AM
nellc said...
This is a great jacket, the pleat detail at the front is really interesting, and the colour is lovely.
1/27/08 7:42 AM
blue mooney said...
Your jacket looks great. Thanks for reviewing - I think I need this pattern!
1/27/08 8:13 AM
CShelley said...
Wow! I love this jacket! I'm always looking for something corporate but not boring and this fits the bill. Thanks for the review.
1/27/08 8:25 AM
marjenann said...
Wow!! That is a lovely jacket!! I just love the unique details. It truly looks like a designer garment!
1/27/08 9:03 AM
carolynw said...
Really different and lovely - nice work!
1/27/08 9:24 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I just purchased this pattern a couple of weeks ago. Glad to see the jacket made up. Looks very nice.
1/27/08 11:01 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Love the detailing at the neckline. What a great looking jacket.
1/27/08 11:04 AM
Darla in PA said...
Your jacket turned out beautiful! I purchased this pattern just because of the detail. Give I'll have to busy and get it made.
1/27/08 11:21 AM
cmarie12 said...
I am not enamored with this jacket but you did a great job on it...love the color and fabric choice! You are on your way to making another wonderful SWAP!
1/27/08 1:39 PM
DivaQ said...
I just bought this pattern for the jacket. You did a great job!
1/27/08 4:22 PM
cecelia said...
What a lovely jacket--the collar is so unusual. I really like it.
1/27/08 4:33 PM
Linda G said...
Your outfit is beautiful, I have studied that pattern, wondering what the construction method is now I know...make the jacket and then pleat. This jacket is modern looking with a vintage flair, very cute, when are McCalls patterns 99 cents again? I need this one!! Thanks for the review.
1/27/08 5:22 PM
Nancywin said...
Beautiful jacket. The tucks in the front are very interesting and unique. You have a great plan going.
1/28/08 7:54 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Very unique jacket. In looking at the tucks, I noticed the lining--very pretty!
1/30/08 1:39 PM
Heatherrique said...
Absolutely breathtaking jacket! Wonderful job, Aly!
1/31/08 1:15 AM
AnneM said...
Great job on the jacket. Distinctive but not too 'artsy'. Lovely color, also.
2/9/08 1:11 PM
Pati Palmer said...
Your jacket looks great! Pati Palmer
12/23/08 2:52 PM
cheesemonkey said...
Excellent review -- useful additional information.
2/5/09 2:34 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Vogue Patterns 7371

photo
by: Cosso

Review
Vogue Patterns 1273

photo
by: Jrhee

Review
ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now