Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1033 (SB Today's Fit Blouse) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 914 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:carolynw
photo
Friend of PR
About carolynwstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 3/19/05
Reviews written: 111
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 36 people
patterns reviewed: 99
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/27/08 3:54 PM
Last Updated:1/27/08 4:01 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marjenann said...
Wow, Clin!! That is one fantastic blouse!! I have been looking at that pattern, so I appreciate the tips on the changes that you made!! The design of the top really suits that lovely fabric!!
1/27/08 4:16 PM
Sew'n'go said...
Wow! The pattern is just out - you're fast! Thanks for the review, especially with the caution about the sleeves. Your shirt looks great.
1/27/08 4:33 PM
Ronda Rae said...
very nice, clin! I really like this blouse. Now why would you just leave that great material in your stash? How long has it been in there? It's gorgeous. WTG! More stash gone.
1/27/08 4:41 PM
cecelia said...
Now I know why I didn't get this pattern--thanks for the warning on the sleeves. I do like your fabric print though. I have some similar in my stash and have been wondering what to do with it--now I know.
1/27/08 4:45 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, your blouse turned out beautifully, but those sleeves are kind of a turn-off for me, mainly because I have fat arms. Whenever I hear "slim sleeves," my ears perk up. I was eyeing this pattern, too, because I liked the western yokes. If I do decide to make it, I'm glad you found all the quirks for the rest of us! :o) You've got the lines of the fabric lined up perfectly, piecing or no piecing!
1/27/08 7:30 PM
moushka said...
Darn! I missed the pattern sale! Shoot! And I had my SB patterns all picked out. For some reason I thought it was next week. Your fabric is lovely and really suits the pattern. Re: the narrow sleeves - I wonder if there's an issue with the pattern grading. I think Sandra wears a "C" in her line. There have been problems in the past with sleeves incorrectly graded up from the basic "C" draft. This might be another case of problems at Vogue that had nothing to do with Sandra's original draft. I'll have to wait for the next sale to get the pattern but you might want to email her and ask if she designed the pattern with a particularly narrow sleeve. Sue
1/28/08 3:18 AM
carolynw said...
Sue I am certain there were errors in drafting this - narrow sleeves are one thing but when you get the pattern you will probably laugh at the length of the sleeve - another day and my little huff is over but it's hard to pay the asking price for these patterns to find that there is such an obvious error - glad I got it on sale. May send SB a note - she is always on the ball with answers
1/28/08 8:48 AM
Irene Q said...
Ummm, the view A sleeve is 3/4 length, according to the pattern. Is that why yours is so short??
1/28/08 9:20 AM
carolynw said...
Irene - I made View B and used the View B sleeves - that view shows a cuff at the wrist - believe me that is not a possibility with the sleeve pattern
1/28/08 12:02 PM
Tailypo said...
Great results from a challenging patterns! Poor Sandra, didn't she just put out a pants pattern that Vogue messed up? I called and left a message at her office to give her heads-up on your problems (local call and it's my day off, so why not). I hope they are able to correct it quickly because I am very excited to purchase and sew up this pattern.
1/28/08 2:00 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Cute fabric! Glad you could salvage the pattern flaws.
1/28/08 7:06 PM
fryman said...
wow! that the sleeve is way too short is really very disappointing for the sewer. Can we ever be too careful?
1/31/08 4:23 PM
marciae said...
Wish I had thought to read the review first!! I found the sleeve too short and a bit snug - however, I can still wear. I'm thinking I need to remake and do some fine tuning.
4/10/08 3:58 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Simplicity 9779
photo
Review by sunflower2... on 5/13/11
Read Review

Petite Plus 204 Pattern
Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern
You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Popover Sundress (FREE!)
Popover Sundress (FREE!)

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Susie Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Susie Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2565 Women's tops
photo
Review by novicesewi... on 2/27/10
Read Review

Simplicity 1391 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1391 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6142 Pattern ( Size 38-40 )
McCalls 6142 Pattern ( Size 38-40 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us