Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5242 (Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 2245 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 55 people   
Reviewed by:yorkshire lass
photo
About yorkshire lassstarstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/23/06
Reviews written: 82
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 49 people
patterns reviewed: 80
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/28/08 3:25 AM
Last Updated:1/28/08 3:31 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
64 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sigrid. said...
This is a lovely jacket, I like that collar.
1/28/08 4:58 AM
jlg said...
What a pretty jacket. I bet it is striking on.
1/28/08 5:13 AM
ITAdmin said...
Beautiful jacket! Dynamite in that color.
1/28/08 5:29 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Great little jacket! I love the color.
1/28/08 6:40 AM
Lori V said...
This jacket is incredible. Thanks for the detailed review.
1/28/08 7:18 AM
Riordan said...
Absolutely beautiful jacket!!! The fabric is gorgeous! Very helpful review.
1/28/08 7:38 AM
squirrellypoo said...
That is absolutely beautiful - I love the ruffled collar! Thanks for all the info on the different types of interfacing, too - care to name your suppliers? I'm always on the lookout for UK shops...
1/28/08 7:44 AM
nellc said...
This is a lovely jacket with such a pretty collar. The colour is great.
1/28/08 8:04 AM
cindyann said...
It's gorgeous! I love the color.
1/28/08 8:30 AM
slanden99 said...
Beautiful jacket. Love the back pleat and the ruffles
1/28/08 8:32 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Beautiful fabric and color! This is a wonderful style, and you did a fantastic job sewing it. I love it.
1/28/08 8:33 AM
Babs42 said...
Great Classic look! Love the collar and you did a beautiful job! Enjoy it!
1/28/08 8:48 AM
cathy45 said...
What a cute jacket! Love the color and the ruffled collar.
1/28/08 9:26 AM
LindsayT said...
Really wonderful jacket, timeless style. Nice work!
1/28/08 9:31 AM
ryansmumAria said...
One of the best I've ever seen! Congratulations on a fabulous job
1/28/08 9:39 AM
CharityAK said...
Gorgeous jacket. Totally yummy. The fabric may have given you difficulties, but the result was amazing. The fabric totally suits the feminine cut of the jacket. You did a beautiful job.
1/28/08 10:06 AM
jaeng said...
I love your jacket, it came out much better than original.
1/28/08 10:55 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Beautiful jacket!
1/28/08 11:08 AM
CShelley said...
Very striking! Perfect combination of fabric and pattern. I bet you look awesome in it! Enjoy and thanks for the review.
1/28/08 11:33 AM
loohoo44 said...
wow, you can really tell how much work you put into this, the pictures are gorgeous! Congrats on your accomplishment.
1/28/08 11:42 AM
Markie1 said...
This jacket is exquisite! I am going to have to read and reread what you did with the interfacing and hair canvas- it is awe inspiring. Great job on a beautiful garment.
1/28/08 12:00 PM
cabinbaby said...
That's beautiful! I love that color too.
1/28/08 1:34 PM
Em's Summer said...
Your jacket looks divine! Great style and color! And thanks for all of the info! You did a great job!
1/28/08 2:12 PM
Birgitte said...
Such a gorgeous jacket- sooo feminine yet structured- LOVE IT!!!
1/28/08 2:48 PM
nancy2001 said...
Beautiful jacket.
1/28/08 7:38 PM
Twinset said...
This is very, very cute, better than the pattern drawing! This is also an awesome color that we don't see very often. Congrats! You should definitely wear this with pride.
1/28/08 8:32 PM
xtreme1 said...
Simply put - WOW!
1/28/08 11:05 PM
N_Vogue said...
Awesome! Pattern, fabric and colour choices.
1/29/08 0:13 AM
CynthiaSue said...
oh boy, you guys are gonna make this impossible to judge. I'm so glad you mentioned the sleeves taking all day to set well. I felt like I was the only one suffering with hours and hours of sleeve setting. This is so adorable, totally designer worthy!
1/29/08 2:13 AM
KathleenS said...
The jacket and the fabric were totally worth the trouble! I would love to see a picture of the jacket on you if possible.
1/29/08 4:48 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Everyone, thank you for all your lovely comments. You made me blush. I've worn the jacket to work this week and its really comfortable and warm too. Squirrellypoo, I get the interfacing at my local shop. If you want details, send me a PM (I tried to PM you and couldn't).
1/29/08 5:51 AM
Marilyn N. said...
I like your jacket better than the pattern photo, the fabric texture & color are wonderful.
1/29/08 11:15 AM
So So said...
Excellant result, quite couture, well couture too my type of sewing. you deserve to be pelased with it , tyou have spent a lot of time on it obviously and thought your processes out. Congratulations.
1/29/08 1:54 PM
ChristineX said...
Oh wow, what a hot jacket!!!!
1/29/08 2:52 PM
Jan B. said...
Sew much better than the pattern cover. Lovely jacket. Thank you for your thorough review--valuable information.
1/29/08 3:02 PM
Dia said...
I love your jacket. I have bought the pattern and I thank you for the detailed comments.
1/30/08 9:14 AM
edupraz said...
Gorgeous jacket. I just love the fabric you chose. I've been meaning to sew up this pattern for quite awhile now...
1/30/08 9:47 AM
marjenann said...
Fantastic style. Perfection!
1/30/08 8:50 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Gorgeous - I love this style and you did an excellent job with it.
1/31/08 9:43 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Your review is as informative as your jacket is striking. A perfect job on both! The neckline ruffle is "to die for"! Yes, this would be stunning in matelasse with an organza collar. -Lily
2/1/08 6:04 AM
Dmd4106 said...
What an amazing collar. Great job on the review too!
2/1/08 1:56 PM
hongkongshopper said...
What a stunning jacket. It is just gorgeous. The pattern envelope does not look half as lovely. You have done a beautiful job.
2/1/08 3:43 PM
solosmocker said...
Lovely jacket. I bet that neckline is very flattering.
2/1/08 5:04 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Gorgeous jacket!
2/1/08 5:09 PM
ginaT said...
Simply wonderful!!!!!!
2/1/08 6:38 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Too cute jacket and very well done.
2/1/08 6:41 PM
JulieP said...
Beautiful! And such style.
2/1/08 7:15 PM
SewVeryTall said...
I love that red boucle...beautiful jacket! You did a great job, this is so stylish, just gorgeous!
2/2/08 10:06 AM
Elle D said...
Fantastic. I passed over this when I saw it at Joann's, but it is now on my must buy list. Thanks for opening my eyes up to the possibilities! And congratulations on a gorgeous garment. It really goes beyond "jacket".
2/2/08 9:21 PM
Elle D said...
Fantastic. I passed over this when I saw it at Joann's, but it is now on my must buy list. Thanks for opening my eyes up to the possibilities! And congratulations on a gorgoues garment. It really goes beyond "jacket".
2/2/08 9:22 PM
Bonnie O said...
Stunning jacket! Thanks so much for the excellent instructions.
2/3/08 7:26 PM
Ach said...
I ran out this morning and bought the pattern just because of your results! SOOO much better in your version. Would love to see it on you
2/4/08 5:12 PM
Squeezylemon said...
Fabulous jacket, congratulations! I could just imagine myself swanning about in this feeling like a supermodel........ if only I were two sizes smaller! And that's why you are getting my vote in the Contest!
2/5/08 9:27 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Wow! what more can I say...everyone else said it all! Just gorgeous!!! ;-)
2/7/08 9:27 AM
Lou05 said...
A beautiful choice for your figure. It's flattering with a little (great) attitude. I agree - it looks much more inspiring than the pattern photo. Hats off for a job well done.
2/10/08 4:59 PM
LauraByrnes said...
I LOVE this jacket...and thanks for the tips on altering the back - extremely helpful!!!
2/11/08 2:25 PM
Athene said...
Congratulations on such a beautiful jacket and thanks for the very informative review.
2/12/08 3:27 AM
RuthieSews said...
You are deservedly the run away winner. Well done! What a lovely jacket.
2/13/08 6:32 AM
goldenthreads said...
That red boucle is gorgeous. This jacket really works!
2/15/08 5:55 AM
jillzie said...
the color and texture work well with this design, the one comment i do have is that maybe you should invest in a commerical gravity feed iron and press a bit longer with the clapper, other than that is is stunning!
2/26/08 10:45 AM
jillzie said...
the color and texture work well with this design, the one comment i do have is that maybe you should invest in a commerical gravity feed iron and press a bit longer with the clapper, other than that is is stunning!
2/26/08 10:47 AM
TVS said...
An excellent review and a lovely jacket,beautifully tailored. I shall most certainly make this jacket, so your comments will come in very useful.
7/30/08 12:31 PM
ceah said...
I love everything about this jacket, the color, the ruffles, on and on. As soon as I saw your picture i thought "Anthropologie" It looks like something you can find on that site, which is one of my favorite sites! You did a great job and gave an awesome review. I am definitely adding this pattern to my stash! thanks.
11/4/08 4:59 PM
RuthieSews said...
It is absolutely gorgeous and you SOOOOOO deserved that win :-)
11/6/08 5:53 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Folkwear 258
photo
Review by Annika on 6/28/08
Read Review

Burda 9491 Pattern
Burda 9491 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6084 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6084 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 63953-1000 Judy Jetson
photo
Review by Pinkytoo on 10/30/06
Read Review

Sis Boom Marco Shirt for Men Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Marco Shirt for Men Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris
Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern
You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap
Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us