SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Silhouette Patterns> 4100 (Jene's Dress)

Viewed 993 times 
Reviewed by:Peggy L
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Peggy Lstarstarstar
TN USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 109
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/28/08 11:22 AM
Last Updated:1/28/08 9:22 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MadMenFanlinda said...
I picked up this pattern today, in a thrift shop, as I really like the short sleeve view on the pattern envelope front. Looking at the instructions has left me baffled. I don't see any pieces for the short sleeve or any cutting lines on the long sleeved piece. Am I just supposed to guess here, or am I missing something? Any help would be most appreciated
4/7/08 11:19 AM
Marji said...
The dress is fabulous and you will be able to wear it for a long long time - it's so classic. I'm amazed to hear that P.S. patterns are so sketchy. I didn't know that.
1/31/08 12:00 PM
janetbrooke82 said...
Great dress.
1/31/08 11:55 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Your dress is beautiful and we all appreciate the warnings about this pattern.
1/30/08 12:34 PM
BettyMike said...
Very pretty dress! It looks great on you. I love the lining and piping. Such a classic style. Glad you stuck with it!
1/30/08 9:08 AM
Mufffet said...
What a nice dress! Very pretty on you and looks so well done. :)
1/29/08 9:21 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Really nice, Peggy!! And classic is so fun to wear, eh!! I can "see" scarves with it, too. Especially like that you paired your pants with a "duster"!! Yeah!!
1/29/08 5:41 PM
Angelia74 said...
Well the fit on this is great! And the style is timeless... can't go wrong with a classic red dress... I'm a D cup and have often wondered if I would get a better fit using a pattern with different pieces for cup sizing. After seeing this I'm going to try one! Thanks for the review
1/29/08 4:48 PM
Englebert said...
Your dress is great!!! Love it!!
1/29/08 12:14 PM
Kris O said...
Very well done, Peggy. It's lovely on you.
1/29/08 11:48 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Wow! What a fabulous dress - the piping really adds interest!
1/29/08 10:48 AM
Sew_Creative said...
Yeah!! you finished and what a finish it is! I am sure you will enjoy wearing this for a long time to come, I am thinking I need dresses like this it sounds like we are built a lot alike, anyway I also like the idea of wearing it with pants and a top. good job, Peggy I hope I can finish my dress for Cyndi ( my client wk's for MaryKay),Debbie
1/29/08 9:32 AM
Linda E. said...
beautiful dress You did great work on it. I love it.. It is lovely on you..
1/29/08 9:22 AM
said...
Beautiful. What a great review and dress. I love the piping. After you've recovered from its construction, I'm sure you'll love it. It looks great as a dress or as a jacket, too cool!!!
1/29/08 8:21 AM
cindyann said...
Wow! You look amazing in that dress. What a versatile addition to your wardrobe. I love your details and the silk print is perfect. Karla is right, it's going to sell some patterns. In fact.....let me go check that site one more time ;)
1/29/08 8:20 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Peggy: So sorry for the trauma; however, the final results look fantastic. Your seams and piping are sewn perfectly. I suppose careful attention to detail can sometimes lead to frustration. The color looks great on you. I love the style.
1/29/08 8:17 AM
Lori V said...
Peggy, such a great dress on you. Very classic and the piping is wonderful.
1/29/08 4:15 AM
Annette1 said...
Peggy: I suspect you're drawn to this style because it looks so darn good on you! Your lining may have been more than the dress fabric -- ha! -- but just look how much it adds to the overall effect. It's PERFECT, especially since we get little glimpses of it via the piping. (Which reminds me, I could have sworn I ordered a bias strip maker, or whatever they're called, so WHERE IS IT?) This is so versatile, it's a dress and a jacket all in one. I would have never though to wear it as a jacket, but it's lovely. (By the way, I always wanted to be 5'3" when I was in school, so I wouldn't be taller than all the boys. :o) Beautiful dress!
1/29/08 0:25 AM
Patti B said...
Great looking dress. So glad it escaped being a wadder. I have this one in my stash but don't really need a dress -- using it as a duster is a nice idea.
1/28/08 10:48 PM
marjenann said...
Totally classy dress!! Perfection!
1/28/08 10:07 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Peggy, your version will sell some patterns. It looks great, and I'm glad you gritted your teeth and plugged away until it was done. It's a classic and once you recover, I'll bet you'll get years of use from it.
1/28/08 9:57 PM
PegL said...
Your dress is beautiful! Well worth all the effort. I'm betting that in two weeks you'll love it too!
1/28/08 9:48 PM
Re Becca said...
Very sharp! Your little fitting changes made for a VERY well fitted dress. And to think, you almost had a wadder, or *gasp* a UFO. I like it with the boots, and the patterend piping just makes the dress! Very good job.
1/28/08 9:33 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

New Look 6816

photo
by: charid daw...

Review

Pattern

You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8323

photo
by: Legal.Deal...

Review