SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Silhouette Patterns> 4100 (Jene's Dress)

Viewed 983 times 
Reviewed by:Peggy L
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Peggy Lstarstarstar
TN USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 109
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/28/08 11:22 AM
Last Updated:1/28/08 9:22 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Re Becca said...
Very sharp! Your little fitting changes made for a VERY well fitted dress. And to think, you almost had a wadder, or *gasp* a UFO. I like it with the boots, and the patterend piping just makes the dress! Very good job.
1/28/08 9:33 PM
PegL said...
Your dress is beautiful! Well worth all the effort. I'm betting that in two weeks you'll love it too!
1/28/08 9:48 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Peggy, your version will sell some patterns. It looks great, and I'm glad you gritted your teeth and plugged away until it was done. It's a classic and once you recover, I'll bet you'll get years of use from it.
1/28/08 9:57 PM
marjenann said...
Totally classy dress!! Perfection!
1/28/08 10:07 PM
Patti B said...
Great looking dress. So glad it escaped being a wadder. I have this one in my stash but don't really need a dress -- using it as a duster is a nice idea.
1/28/08 10:48 PM
Annette1 said...
Peggy: I suspect you're drawn to this style because it looks so darn good on you! Your lining may have been more than the dress fabric -- ha! -- but just look how much it adds to the overall effect. It's PERFECT, especially since we get little glimpses of it via the piping. (Which reminds me, I could have sworn I ordered a bias strip maker, or whatever they're called, so WHERE IS IT?) This is so versatile, it's a dress and a jacket all in one. I would have never though to wear it as a jacket, but it's lovely. (By the way, I always wanted to be 5'3" when I was in school, so I wouldn't be taller than all the boys. :o) Beautiful dress!
1/29/08 0:25 AM
Lori V said...
Peggy, such a great dress on you. Very classic and the piping is wonderful.
1/29/08 4:15 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Peggy: So sorry for the trauma; however, the final results look fantastic. Your seams and piping are sewn perfectly. I suppose careful attention to detail can sometimes lead to frustration. The color looks great on you. I love the style.
1/29/08 8:17 AM
cindyann said...
Wow! You look amazing in that dress. What a versatile addition to your wardrobe. I love your details and the silk print is perfect. Karla is right, it's going to sell some patterns. In fact.....let me go check that site one more time ;)
1/29/08 8:20 AM
said...
Beautiful. What a great review and dress. I love the piping. After you've recovered from its construction, I'm sure you'll love it. It looks great as a dress or as a jacket, too cool!!!
1/29/08 8:21 AM
Linda E. said...
beautiful dress You did great work on it. I love it.. It is lovely on you..
1/29/08 9:22 AM
Sew_Creative said...
Yeah!! you finished and what a finish it is! I am sure you will enjoy wearing this for a long time to come, I am thinking I need dresses like this it sounds like we are built a lot alike, anyway I also like the idea of wearing it with pants and a top. good job, Peggy I hope I can finish my dress for Cyndi ( my client wk's for MaryKay),Debbie
1/29/08 9:32 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Wow! What a fabulous dress - the piping really adds interest!
1/29/08 10:48 AM
Kris O said...
Very well done, Peggy. It's lovely on you.
1/29/08 11:48 AM
Englebert said...
Your dress is great!!! Love it!!
1/29/08 12:14 PM
Angelia74 said...
Well the fit on this is great! And the style is timeless... can't go wrong with a classic red dress... I'm a D cup and have often wondered if I would get a better fit using a pattern with different pieces for cup sizing. After seeing this I'm going to try one! Thanks for the review
1/29/08 4:48 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Really nice, Peggy!! And classic is so fun to wear, eh!! I can "see" scarves with it, too. Especially like that you paired your pants with a "duster"!! Yeah!!
1/29/08 5:41 PM
Mufffet said...
What a nice dress! Very pretty on you and looks so well done. :)
1/29/08 9:21 PM
BettyMike said...
Very pretty dress! It looks great on you. I love the lining and piping. Such a classic style. Glad you stuck with it!
1/30/08 9:08 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Your dress is beautiful and we all appreciate the warnings about this pattern.
1/30/08 12:34 PM
janetbrooke82 said...
Great dress.
1/31/08 11:55 AM
Marji said...
The dress is fabulous and you will be able to wear it for a long long time - it's so classic. I'm amazed to hear that P.S. patterns are so sketchy. I didn't know that.
1/31/08 12:00 PM
MadMenFanlinda said...
I picked up this pattern today, in a thrift shop, as I really like the short sleeve view on the pattern envelope front. Looking at the instructions has left me baffled. I don't see any pieces for the short sleeve or any cutting lines on the long sleeved piece. Am I just supposed to guess here, or am I missing something? Any help would be most appreciated
4/7/08 11:19 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Simplicity 5876

photo
by: lauramae

Review
PerfectFuse Medium Black

PerfectFuse Medium Black

Buy Now
SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

Buy Now