SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4539 (Cowl/Funnel neck tank)

9 more reviews
Viewed 1845 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 322
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 315 people
patterns reviewed: 322
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/28/08 11:40 AM
Last Updated:12/13/10 10:45 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 23 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kellie R. said...
Lovely top. I'd have skipped right past this pattern, but now will definitely give it a closer look.
3/7/09 5:03 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
All of your tops are GORGEOUS!! I LOOOVE the fabrics you used for each one!!
3/6/09 9:14 PM
Markie1 said...
You are the ultimate recycler! I love all of the versions and you have made them each unique and interesting. Thanks for the great review. And props to the photographer and her door!
3/6/09 6:46 PM
Sew4Fun said...
I love this top on you! The photo itself is also an especially nice one of you.
3/6/09 6:19 PM
AnitaJ said...
Very flattering cowl neck top! I really like your sleeve treatment too!
3/6/09 5:30 PM
cindy-lou said...
LOVE the new version! I have a total crush on houndstooth right now. Even have some in pink. Hmmm. :)
3/6/09 4:11 PM
JudiBee2 said...
This is a great review with lots of terrific information, even a blog with lots of pictures. there was a lot of work put in to this, and I really appreciate it. I may have a similar pattern or this one. It does get so hot here, I don't know if I could take a cowl neck in the summer, but as a fall top with the sleeves, it makes a good basic, even for work or a date.
3/6/09 1:22 PM
mrsbewley said...
Smart looking top! You inspired me to go on a search for this pattern - I just ordered it from eCrafter. Can't wait to make it up!
3/6/09 11:09 AM
crazygrad said...
Very cute!
3/6/09 10:10 AM
sewingstacy said...
great top!
3/6/09 9:30 AM
Annette1 said...
Well, maybe if you make a couple more of these with the sleeves, then I can CONVERT you to REALLY wanted it to cool off NOW. :o) I love both the Baltimore AND the Paris version! (And, I might add, I love Cidell's door -- ha!) Your showing on your blog how you drafted the sleeve must be kismet, as I've just been mulling this over in the back of my mind as I contemplate a real cute pattern that Mahler pointed out to me, so thanks!
9/17/08 12:13 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous nicegirl !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
9/16/08 7:04 PM
Bernadette W said...
The door should accompany you on dates when you wear this groovy top! Or take a Pantone color deck with you to Cidell's and then go purse shopping...
9/16/08 6:23 PM
HLT said...
Cute fabric & great sleeve addition! Nice top for fall!
9/16/08 5:25 PM
kim*brown said...
Both and very cute and great fabric!
9/16/08 3:54 PM
Karendee said...
This top looks great on you-coloring and style. Congratulation on drafting a fall version.
9/16/08 1:37 PM
Karen6790 said...
You and the door look fabulous together! I like this version of your top even better.
9/16/08 1:17 PM
sewtime said...
Pretty top, looks great on you! Love the material.
9/16/08 12:32 PM
CharityAK said...
Very nice. Love the print choices.
9/16/08 11:48 AM
Catbird said...
This top is sensational on you! I love the shot with Cidell's yellow door. Your sleeve draft looks perfect and I'm going to try your method with a pattern that I want to add sleeves to. Thank you!
9/16/08 11:20 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Another pretty top. I love your style.
9/16/08 11:19 AM
Seaspur said...
Love the version with the sleeves!
9/16/08 10:06 AM
Heatherrique said...
Very attractive top!
1/31/08 1:18 AM
MissCelie said...
The finished look is really nice. I love the cowl neckline.
1/29/08 1:00 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Very nice.
1/29/08 12:45 PM
Nancywin said...
nice top. The fabric is really pretty.
1/28/08 7:33 PM
Marji said...
looks great! My favorite line in the whole review is "it took 2 1/2 years and 30 minutes to finish this". Isn't that just the truth sometimes. Congrats for pulling it out and spending the 30minutes.
1/28/08 5:08 PM
Sigrid. said...
Cute, the collar is wonderful.
1/28/08 4:48 PM
Huldra said...
Very nice top, looks great with your skirt!
1/28/08 4:40 PM
Birgitte said...
I love this!! You look so good in that whole outfit! The cowl neck is just beautiful and adds so much to the look! 2 1/2 years and 30 minutes is a small price to pay :-) Congrats!
1/28/08 3:04 PM
Deb Thompson said...
Really pretty! Great outfit with the skirt!! I really like the material and it fits you so well! congrats on finishing this UFO!!
1/28/08 2:44 PM
cindy-lou said...
Super top! I hope my 'someday cowlneck' (pattern and fabric in stash) can look this good!
1/28/08 1:52 PM
squirrellypoo said...
Looks fabulous! I love wearing cowl necks but I find it difficult to get the amount and depth of cowl juuuuust right. Yours seems to have hit it right on the mark so I'm saddened it's out of print!
1/28/08 12:40 PM
slanden99 said...
Very pretty top!
1/28/08 11:48 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1300

photo
by: Westy85

Review
Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

More Info
ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

More Info