SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1305 (Capri Jacket)

16 more reviews
Viewed 1845 times 
Reviewed by:jlg
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About jlgstarstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/03
Reviews written: 189
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 155 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/27/03 5:32 PM
Last Updated:9/17/03 6:36 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
What a lovely spring color. Good information on the sleeves! And I am certain you will figure out the binding eventually.
4/27/03 9:14 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
I've been thinking about buying this pattern, so I really appreciate your review. Your jacket looks very nice--I like the color. I think seam binding would be fine. I just learned the Hong Kong finish and I love it. Much easier than sewing on the folded type of binding, IMO (though slower). Two things to consider: you need at least 5/8" seam allowances, and silk or rayon bias binding would be best. I have never found the silk or rayon binding ready-made, though.
4/28/03 0:19 AM
jlg said...
Thanks Betty, I think that a large part of my problem was the seam allowance on this is 3/8 inch, leaving me very little room to work.
4/28/03 8:05 AM
Deepika said...
Jlg it seems we have similar taste in clothes :-) Love your jacket. I have this pattern too but havent made it up yet. But just like your madison avenue dress this is inspiring me to finally sew it. Thanks for the review.
4/28/03 3:21 PM
alex said...
The jacket looks great. I really like tops like this that are either a jacket or top - they're great for travelling. Antoher one for the wishlist...
4/28/03 11:12 PM
Rhonda Noah said...
Very pretty jacket/top for spring! And it looks like spring is definitely 'on' where you are. Betty, The Sewing Place has ready made rayon seam binding in a bunch of colors. It's in their 'Trim' section. HTH
4/30/03 5:55 AM
Mini said...
Wow! That is a great improvement! The first version looked like a good beginner effort, this one looks really chic. I like the one button; I will try that next time I use this pattern. Beautiful fabric too.
9/17/03 8:47 PM
Mini said...
P.S. Regarding seam binding. Have you tried Seams Great? I love this for any lightweight or ravelly suiting fabric. I apply it with a wide zigzag with slightly loose tension. It is great because it doesn't add bulk or interefere with the fabric drape-and it NEVER wears out. Plus it is cheap and available everywhere. Try it on a fabric swatch and see what you think.
9/17/03 8:50 PM
Diane E said...
jlg, this is a lovely jacket! Thanks for the inspiration and the update. I have had this pattern for ages and you make me want to pull it out tonight!
9/17/03 8:51 PM
Patti-Jo said...
Great jacket! I have made about 7 or 8 of these, mostly in a raw silk tweed or linen. I have found, on every one of them, that the side with the buttonholes always has an uneven hemline. After the second one, I started to line them edge to edge, using the shoulder pads, and I love that effect! However, that hem still rides up on the buttonhole side, with or without interfacing. The 3/8 seamline throws me off, too, because I'm dealing with loose silk tweeds that ravel just sitting on the cutting table so I just try to remember to cut a little extra s/a. This is my absolute favorite jacket pattern, the x-small fits perfectly, and I try to vary it a little each time, so the fashion police don't think I'm in a rut. I'm working on a pink/rose/natural silk tweed now, (FFC), and I'm always amazed at how fast they go together and fit so well!
9/17/03 10:08 PM
Tee Jay said...
I love the fabric choice for your long jacket, it looks so good, so sophisticated. What a great idea with the one button!
9/17/03 10:24 PM
jlg said...
Thanks, everyone. Will have to try the seams great.
9/18/03 5:44 AM
Sew it seams said...
I love what you have done with this pattern. The chevron design is perfect for this style. Before redoing the hem, you might try moving the button up a little. The photo looks to me like the button may be a little lower than the button hole ( I did not notice at first, only after you had mentioned the uneven hem) which would certainly be a lot easier of an adjustment! It is just beautiful!
9/18/03 8:47 AM
Mini said...
I have another fix for the hem, if moving the button doesn't work. The problem may be that when the buttonholes are sewn, the facing side of the front is on the feed dogs. The feed dogs ease the underlayer slightly, so that the facing ends up a bit shorter than the outer layer. To prevent this, first cut the facing slightly longer than the jacket body. Then, when you attach the facings to the front edges, do not sew all the way to the bottom hem. Do not complete the hem yet. Leave the facing unattached a few inches below your lowest buttonhole marking. Make the buttonholes and sew the buttons on. Then sew the rest of the facing to the edge, and complete the hem as shown in the instructions. Baste the facing and hem and try on before making the final seams. If the hem isn't lying flat, re-sew until it does. You may have to sew a narrower seam to accomplish this. On a finished garment, it may be possible to unpick the seam and re-sew with a narrower allowance on the facing. When working with a longer facing, don't try to sew with cut edges matching. Get the fabric to look flat, sew the seam, and trim away any extra facing seam allowance when done.
9/18/03 9:37 AM
SouthernStitch said...
My boyfriend sits behind me at work and wanted to know "who is the fox in the nice jacket". Wooo hooo!! I'll tell you like my dd's dance teacher says: very Zsa-Zsa!!
9/18/03 10:11 AM
SabrinaGA said...
I don't typically like Jackets of this nature, but wow!! I want one. *GRIN* I love the 1 button look, too! Great job! I believe your dog agrees :-D
9/18/03 1:31 PM
jlg said...
Mary, that definitely made my day.
9/18/03 8:53 PM
KristenI said...
Love the pattern of the fabric! I might have to get this pattern as well. Looks great on you. Thanks for the review.
9/18/03 10:09 PM
Sherril Miller said...
What an attractive jacket, and WOW I love your smile. I can't believe you have been sewing only a little while. You skills have come very far, very fast!
9/19/03 4:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 220738-1008

photo
by: Sew Whatev...

Review
Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns V1194

photo
by: ggf2005

Review