Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Textile Studio: 1305 (Capri Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1843 times 16 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:jlg
photo
Friend of PR
About jlgstarstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/03
Reviews written: 187
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 154 people
patterns reviewed: 171
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/27/03 5:32 PM
Last Updated:9/17/03 6:36 PM
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
What a lovely spring color. Good information on the sleeves! And I am certain you will figure out the binding eventually.
4/27/03 9:14 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
I've been thinking about buying this pattern, so I really appreciate your review. Your jacket looks very nice--I like the color. I think seam binding would be fine. I just learned the Hong Kong finish and I love it. Much easier than sewing on the folded type of binding, IMO (though slower). Two things to consider: you need at least 5/8" seam allowances, and silk or rayon bias binding would be best. I have never found the silk or rayon binding ready-made, though.
4/28/03 0:19 AM
jlg said...
Thanks Betty, I think that a large part of my problem was the seam allowance on this is 3/8 inch, leaving me very little room to work.
4/28/03 8:05 AM
Deepika said...
Jlg it seems we have similar taste in clothes :-) Love your jacket. I have this pattern too but havent made it up yet. But just like your madison avenue dress this is inspiring me to finally sew it. Thanks for the review.
4/28/03 3:21 PM
alex said...
The jacket looks great. I really like tops like this that are either a jacket or top - they're great for travelling. Antoher one for the wishlist...
4/28/03 11:12 PM
Rhonda Noah said...
Very pretty jacket/top for spring! And it looks like spring is definitely 'on' where you are. Betty, The Sewing Place has ready made rayon seam binding in a bunch of colors. It's in their 'Trim' section. HTH
4/30/03 5:55 AM
Mini said...
Wow! That is a great improvement! The first version looked like a good beginner effort, this one looks really chic. I like the one button; I will try that next time I use this pattern. Beautiful fabric too.
9/17/03 8:47 PM
Mini said...
P.S. Regarding seam binding. Have you tried Seams Great? I love this for any lightweight or ravelly suiting fabric. I apply it with a wide zigzag with slightly loose tension. It is great because it doesn't add bulk or interefere with the fabric drape-and it NEVER wears out. Plus it is cheap and available everywhere. Try it on a fabric swatch and see what you think.
9/17/03 8:50 PM
Diane E said...
jlg, this is a lovely jacket! Thanks for the inspiration and the update. I have had this pattern for ages and you make me want to pull it out tonight!
9/17/03 8:51 PM
Patti-Jo said...
Great jacket! I have made about 7 or 8 of these, mostly in a raw silk tweed or linen. I have found, on every one of them, that the side with the buttonholes always has an uneven hemline. After the second one, I started to line them edge to edge, using the shoulder pads, and I love that effect! However, that hem still rides up on the buttonhole side, with or without interfacing. The 3/8 seamline throws me off, too, because I'm dealing with loose silk tweeds that ravel just sitting on the cutting table so I just try to remember to cut a little extra s/a. This is my absolute favorite jacket pattern, the x-small fits perfectly, and I try to vary it a little each time, so the fashion police don't think I'm in a rut. I'm working on a pink/rose/natural silk tweed now, (FFC), and I'm always amazed at how fast they go together and fit so well!
9/17/03 10:08 PM
Tee Jay said...
I love the fabric choice for your long jacket, it looks so good, so sophisticated. What a great idea with the one button!
9/17/03 10:24 PM
jlg said...
Thanks, everyone. Will have to try the seams great.
9/18/03 5:44 AM
Sew it seams said...
I love what you have done with this pattern. The chevron design is perfect for this style. Before redoing the hem, you might try moving the button up a little. The photo looks to me like the button may be a little lower than the button hole ( I did not notice at first, only after you had mentioned the uneven hem) which would certainly be a lot easier of an adjustment! It is just beautiful!
9/18/03 8:47 AM
Mini said...
I have another fix for the hem, if moving the button doesn't work. The problem may be that when the buttonholes are sewn, the facing side of the front is on the feed dogs. The feed dogs ease the underlayer slightly, so that the facing ends up a bit shorter than the outer layer. To prevent this, first cut the facing slightly longer than the jacket body. Then, when you attach the facings to the front edges, do not sew all the way to the bottom hem. Do not complete the hem yet. Leave the facing unattached a few inches below your lowest buttonhole marking. Make the buttonholes and sew the buttons on. Then sew the rest of the facing to the edge, and complete the hem as shown in the instructions. Baste the facing and hem and try on before making the final seams. If the hem isn't lying flat, re-sew until it does. You may have to sew a narrower seam to accomplish this. On a finished garment, it may be possible to unpick the seam and re-sew with a narrower allowance on the facing. When working with a longer facing, don't try to sew with cut edges matching. Get the fabric to look flat, sew the seam, and trim away any extra facing seam allowance when done.
9/18/03 9:37 AM
SouthernStitch said...
My boyfriend sits behind me at work and wanted to know "who is the fox in the nice jacket". Wooo hooo!! I'll tell you like my dd's dance teacher says: very Zsa-Zsa!!
9/18/03 10:11 AM
SabrinaGA said...
I don't typically like Jackets of this nature, but wow!! I want one. *GRIN* I love the 1 button look, too! Great job! I believe your dog agrees :-D
9/18/03 1:31 PM
jlg said...
Mary, that definitely made my day.
9/18/03 8:53 PM
KristenI said...
Love the pattern of the fabric! I might have to get this pattern as well. Looks great on you. Thanks for the review.
9/18/03 10:09 PM
Sherril Miller said...
What an attractive jacket, and WOW I love your smile. I can't believe you have been sewing only a little while. You skills have come very far, very fast!
9/19/03 4:20 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Burda 7484 Pantsuit
photo
Review by muttless on 8/22/12
Read Review

McCalls 6559 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6559 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2777 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 2777 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Hollywood 1930
photo
Review by Passion4Se... on 6/30/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )
Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King
THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us