Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 01-2008-122 (Artist's Shirt) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1603 times 12 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
Reviewed by:Deb Thompson
photo
About Deb Thompsonstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 7/8/05
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/28/08 2:27 PM
Last Updated:7/28/09 1:56 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
46 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karen6790 said...
I just cut this out last night and now I can't wait to sew it. Love your version.
1/28/08 2:36 PM
SexiSadi said...
Cute shirt. Anyone ever tell you that you kind of look like Jennifer Aniston?
1/28/08 2:46 PM
Deb Thompson said...
haha sexi sadi - yes, my husband. I said "ya maybe an ugly version of her" Thanks for the comment
1/28/08 2:51 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Omigosh, I lo-----ve it. What a great shirt! You and it both look very fresh and artsy. :) (P.S. I grew up in Calgary -- best wishes to all in "Cowtown"!)
1/28/08 2:52 PM
michellep74 said...
Very cute shirt! I want to make this up, too, but haven't found the "right" fabric yet. ;)
1/28/08 2:56 PM
Birgitte said...
It looks super cute on you!!! Beautiful construction and I love the light blue color. And thanks for the mention :-) and also for all the pictures- very helpful!
1/28/08 2:56 PM
Deb Thompson said...
Birgitte, you can't imagine how relieved I was to find your review and pictures on how to do the front opening. I laid in bed the whole night (before I found your review) trying to piece it together in my head. I had no idea how I was going to sew it and then voila, your review showed up in my search!!! So THANK YOU for the pictures!!
1/28/08 3:02 PM
avancleve said...
Thank you for the wonderful review. This top is really cute!
1/28/08 3:15 PM
pterion said...
GORGEOUS top! You look great in it. That does it - I need to find this issue...
1/28/08 3:17 PM
Lori V said...
Gorgeous top, I love the look of this blouse. You look fantastic. Thanks for all the pictures.
1/28/08 3:43 PM
Miriam said...
What a great top for you. It looks like it was the perfect design choice and wonderful fabric choice. Enjoy wearing it and making more!
1/28/08 3:48 PM
Knitsandsews said...
I passed over this when I flipped through the magazine, but this blouse is much more attractive on you than on the model - nice work!
1/28/08 4:17 PM
LindsayT said...
Really nice job. Love the photo session!
1/28/08 4:17 PM
inkstain said...
Just finished mine in white like in the magazine. Your finishing is top-notch! I don't have a serger and now I wish I did. Great photos!
1/28/08 4:23 PM
Nancy K said...
I love this top! It looks great on you.
1/28/08 4:34 PM
Huldra said...
Looks fantastic on you, and the photos are amazing. I wish my pics would look like that. :)
1/28/08 4:36 PM
Deb Thompson said...
Huldra - Pics are only good cause of the photographer! My husband is learning photography so he is always looking for someone to pose! Lucky me!!
1/28/08 4:48 PM
Deb Thompson said...
oops! how do I delete a comment??
1/28/08 4:49 PM
Deb Thompson said...
Hilda - Pics are only good cause of the photographer! My husband is learning photography so he is always looking for someone to pose! Lucky me!!
1/28/08 4:49 PM
Sigrid. said...
This top on you made me change my mind. I had skipped it as the least interesting of the series of blouses in this issue. You showed a great version of this, it's gorgeous on you. And having a 14 yr old daughter too, I know that when they approve, it's a winner ;-)
1/28/08 4:52 PM
Angelia74 said...
Beautiful work!! I love your top!!
1/28/08 4:56 PM
Markie1 said...
OK, that does it! This top will be MINE. I only hope I will look as good as you do in it. Well done!
1/28/08 4:57 PM
chinel said...
the result look really professional, very nice
1/28/08 5:04 PM
nellc said...
Lovely top and so beautifully made.
1/28/08 5:10 PM
Dei said...
Way too cute. Nice to know it was done without alterations. You and the pix your husband took look great.
1/28/08 5:17 PM
Becky Coleman said...
Nice to know it runs a bit large -- maybe I can squeeze in without upgrading. I do like those lines; about the only white shirt I liked. Isn't choice great! Your shirt is beautiful.
1/28/08 5:50 PM
cindy-lou said...
Absolutely, Absolutely GORGEOUS! That does it-- I'm finding that 1/08 BWOF. You do just beautiful work!
1/28/08 5:53 PM
Twinset said...
Wow! That is so cute and it suits you so well!
1/28/08 6:47 PM
Leora said...
Love this shirt!
1/28/08 6:55 PM
Nancywin said...
This top is my favorite in that issue and I have fabric ready to go for it too. You did a beautiful job on the sewing - it looks very professionally done. And YES you DO look like Jennifer Aniston and your husband is doing a great job with the photography.
1/28/08 7:17 PM
jaeng said...
First I thought Jennifer Aniston does sew and posted her creations here. Your shirt looks cute and suit you well.
1/28/08 7:30 PM
aperiolat said...
Awesome shirt! You look great and what a wonderful choice of color and fabric. I can't wait to make one now! Thanks for the fantastic review.
1/28/08 7:31 PM
Izzie said...
Beautiful! Thanks for the review.
1/28/08 8:24 PM
patrica said...
Very lovely shirt looks great on you. Your work is wonderful,great photos too
1/28/08 8:56 PM
SarahSM said...
This blouse is fabulous! I hadn't even noticed it in my issue of BWOF, and now I'll have to take a second look. It seems like such a classy, yet casual style.
1/28/08 9:07 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a lovely top
1/28/08 9:18 PM
Fran G said...
Darling top..! want one, too! Add to list..dare I ask for a rainy day? Your photos are an excellent addition to your review..beautiful work on that front placket...very clean and professional.
1/29/08 8:06 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Lovely top - and congratulations on getting the "good" face from your daughter!
1/29/08 11:12 AM
MissCelie said...
Yeah!! this is on my to make list. I'm really excited now. Super duper cute!
1/29/08 12:59 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Very nice job!
1/29/08 1:29 PM
ChristineX said...
Wow, this is such a great top!! I love the label! =)
1/29/08 2:47 PM
jeanielynn said...
great slide show ! I am thinking about making this blouse and am inspired by you! thanks, jeanie
2/1/08 11:11 AM
angie.a said...
I had missed this one too, now I need to dig that issue out! Great jog, it looks fabulous on you!
2/2/08 7:35 PM
CynthiaSue said...
ha ha! i did this too the other day and I felt all sheepish! There is an option when you are editing your review, to either check "minor review, don't move to top" or it will automatically be moved to top again. Try editing another review and look for that button/option/checkbox thingy. You'll see it.
7/28/09 3:17 PM
Judy Wentz said...
Very Very nice! jw
7/28/09 3:42 PM
Catbird said...
I'm kind of glad you made that mistake when you were editing, because for some reason I missed this the first time around and I like your version! I've made this top, too (but haven't reviewed it yet) and love it, but find it's big, so I'm going to go down a size or two and make another one. I also wear a tank to avoid embarrasment when I'm out in public. Yours looks great on you!
7/30/09 9:41 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Stretch & Sew 1028 Cuddle Coat
photo
Review by carolynw on 7/27/06
Read Review

Jalie 3134 Pattern
Jalie 3134 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1797 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1797 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 3137
photo
Review by wenznz on 10/13/13
Read Review

Megan Nielsen Cascade Skirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Cascade Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Little Gentelman Pants and Vest Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Little Gentelman Pants and Vest Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)
Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us