SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 11-2007-118 (Hooded Sweatshirt)

7 more reviews
Viewed 1004 times 
Reviewed by:MissCelie
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MissCeliestarstarstarstar
MD United States
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 151
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 227 people
patterns reviewed: 130
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/29/08 7:54 AM
Last Updated:1/29/08 7:56 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewglenda said...
This is a beautiful outfit. You did a very professional job.
1/31/08 9:28 PM
Gold said...
Very cute!Love the color!
1/31/08 6:05 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Very flattering. Nice job!
1/31/08 3:41 PM
Betsybobbin said...
Looks like it fits you perfectly! Lovely color on you. Thanks for the review. I've had this one on my list.
1/31/08 9:35 AM
Fabricgurl said...
Cidell, this is really nice. To me the top is really cute the way it turned out. I love the matching pants.
1/30/08 4:32 PM
Fran G said...
Color is gorgeous and the styling takes it up a notch from "sweatshirt"..
1/30/08 7:36 AM
Boo97 said...
Cidell, love the outfit! I always enjoy your reviews.
1/29/08 9:23 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Wow I thought your photo was from the magazine, it looks amazing. Thanks for pointing it it has seam allowances included in the pattern, I would have missed that I'm sure!
1/29/08 6:56 PM
kim*brown said...
Ok....I really like this and the color!
1/29/08 6:22 PM
jnamcd said...
oh man, me too--I have some velour set aside, and you've got me worried, too! but I do think yours turned out super looking --and your review is very helpful --as I will definatley increase my arm size --mine are always too tight!
1/29/08 4:54 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Although there were a few unpleasant surprises, this little hooded sweatshirt, together with your pants, really shows off your perfect little figure. Lovely. -Lily
1/29/08 4:30 PM
crisford said...
Wow, I am amazed--this looks so good I think I'll have to try it too!
1/29/08 3:48 PM
ChristineX said...
It looks great!!
1/29/08 2:45 PM
Markie1 said...
Cidell, I always enjoy your reviews! I think this looks fantastic on you, and the fitted quality to it accentuates your little waist, as well as where the pocket is placed. I agree, on the pattern it looks lower, but I think where it falls on yours really flatters you! Happy endings are so nice, eh?
1/29/08 2:44 PM
Linda G said...
I like your top, I can imagine that slippery fabric was a fight on those decorative seams, sweatshirt fabric was a snap. When I made it I did not realize all of the seam allowances were included, I thought only the hem, if that is the case I would have been way too tight because I added seam allowances, I did not notice that the arms are tight, It is close feeling not a sweatshirt feel.
1/29/08 2:08 PM
Deb Thompson said...
Cidell, thanks for the review. I have some fabric set aside for this one. It looks so beautiful on you (Love the color!) but I'm sorry to hear it gave you trouble. I'm a bit surprised that there is seam allowances already! Weird for BWOF!! Good thing you mentioned it. Thanks for the review - I'll be paying close attention to the fit while I make this one
1/29/08 2:02 PM
Birgitte said...
This looks so cute-cute-cute on you!!! Great idea to use wonder tape and the walking foot- through the tears you saw the light- smart girl!
1/29/08 1:39 PM
michellep74 said...
I love how your version of this turned out. Sorry to hear that the velour was such a pain--especially since this top looks so great in velour!
1/29/08 12:31 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Love the way this looks on you, gorgeous fabric even though it gave you fits !
1/29/08 11:45 AM
loohoo44 said...
Props to you for finishing this. I think the style looks great on you and the fabric looks cozy. :-)
1/29/08 11:24 AM
pterion said...
This looks fabulous on you. I know velour can be tricky, but the delicious softness of the finished garment often makes it worth it.
1/29/08 11:22 AM
nicegirl said...
I think it looks more "fitted" than "snug" and is great on you.
1/29/08 11:22 AM
Seaspur said...
I'm just about finished making this one and like you, I find that it is quite snug. However, I just sewed the seams normally, didn't attempt the faux flat-fell and it was easy to put together. I'm having problems with the cuffs though. They are just too small if cut as per BWOF instructions. Your version looks wonderful!
1/29/08 10:10 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Well drat, Cidell. Your top looks so good on you, I'm just sorry it gave you such grief. I have a piece of velour set aside for this project, but now you've got me concerned. Thanks for the warning about the seams!
1/29/08 9:36 AM
Hilary said...
I really love your top! What a pretty color~it's a shame it was a pain, but the results are really great! I wish I had this issue!
1/29/08 9:35 AM
nancy2001 said...
Very cute top.
1/29/08 9:17 AM
marjenann said...
Great yoga set, with lots of style!!! Looks fab!
1/29/08 8:57 AM
LindsayT said...
I like it! It's very flattering to you.
1/29/08 8:57 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Absolutely gorgeous. Love the colour on you and its such an expensive looking outfit. Sorry it was a pain to make though.
1/29/08 8:46 AM
BeckyC said...
Your version of this top is adorable! It's beautiful in the blue velour. I've got this pattern and plan to make it soon, so I really appreciate your thoughtful review!
1/29/08 8:35 AM
Twinset said...
Love, love this top! Great color too! Looks very soft and cosy.
1/29/08 8:31 AM
Sue Anfang said...
I love this on you...I think it's perfect! In the spring you will get tons of wear from this!! Thanks for the review!
1/29/08 8:29 AM
said...
Looks great and very comfortable. As always, I enjoyed your review and great tips on construction.
1/29/08 8:24 AM
Babs42 said...
Sorry it was a hassle to sew because it turned out great. The color is gorgeous on your dark skin.
1/29/08 8:09 AM
MarijaSLO said...
Woops. Double post.
1/29/08 8:03 AM
cindyann said...
Very cute, Cidell. I looks great with the matching pants.
1/29/08 8:03 AM
MarijaSLO said...
I think the sweater is a success, although you won't use the pockets much. I love reading your reviews and your blog.
1/29/08 8:02 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

More Info
Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Petite Plus 204 Pattern

More Info
HotPatterns 1142

photo
by: Timmithea

Review