Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 11-2007-118 (Hooded Sweatshirt) thumbsup - Type:Activewear    printable version
Viewed 1002 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
Reviewed by:MissCelie
photo
Friend of PR
About MissCeliestarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 148
Favored by: 220 people
patterns reviewed: 127
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/29/08 7:54 AM
Last Updated:1/29/08 7:56 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MarijaSLO said...
I think the sweater is a success, although you won't use the pockets much. I love reading your reviews and your blog.
1/29/08 8:02 AM
cindyann said...
Very cute, Cidell. I looks great with the matching pants.
1/29/08 8:03 AM
MarijaSLO said...
Woops. Double post.
1/29/08 8:03 AM
Babs42 said...
Sorry it was a hassle to sew because it turned out great. The color is gorgeous on your dark skin.
1/29/08 8:09 AM
said...
Looks great and very comfortable. As always, I enjoyed your review and great tips on construction.
1/29/08 8:24 AM
Sue Anfang said...
I love this on you...I think it's perfect! In the spring you will get tons of wear from this!! Thanks for the review!
1/29/08 8:29 AM
Twinset said...
Love, love this top! Great color too! Looks very soft and cosy.
1/29/08 8:31 AM
BeckyC said...
Your version of this top is adorable! It's beautiful in the blue velour. I've got this pattern and plan to make it soon, so I really appreciate your thoughtful review!
1/29/08 8:35 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Absolutely gorgeous. Love the colour on you and its such an expensive looking outfit. Sorry it was a pain to make though.
1/29/08 8:46 AM
LindsayT said...
I like it! It's very flattering to you.
1/29/08 8:57 AM
marjenann said...
Great yoga set, with lots of style!!! Looks fab!
1/29/08 8:57 AM
nancy2001 said...
Very cute top.
1/29/08 9:17 AM
Hilary said...
I really love your top! What a pretty color~it's a shame it was a pain, but the results are really great! I wish I had this issue!
1/29/08 9:35 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Well drat, Cidell. Your top looks so good on you, I'm just sorry it gave you such grief. I have a piece of velour set aside for this project, but now you've got me concerned. Thanks for the warning about the seams!
1/29/08 9:36 AM
Seaspur said...
I'm just about finished making this one and like you, I find that it is quite snug. However, I just sewed the seams normally, didn't attempt the faux flat-fell and it was easy to put together. I'm having problems with the cuffs though. They are just too small if cut as per BWOF instructions. Your version looks wonderful!
1/29/08 10:10 AM
nicegirl said...
I think it looks more "fitted" than "snug" and is great on you.
1/29/08 11:22 AM
pterion said...
This looks fabulous on you. I know velour can be tricky, but the delicious softness of the finished garment often makes it worth it.
1/29/08 11:22 AM
loohoo44 said...
Props to you for finishing this. I think the style looks great on you and the fabric looks cozy. :-)
1/29/08 11:24 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Love the way this looks on you, gorgeous fabric even though it gave you fits !
1/29/08 11:45 AM
michellep74 said...
I love how your version of this turned out. Sorry to hear that the velour was such a pain--especially since this top looks so great in velour!
1/29/08 12:31 PM
Birgitte said...
This looks so cute-cute-cute on you!!! Great idea to use wonder tape and the walking foot- through the tears you saw the light- smart girl!
1/29/08 1:39 PM
Deb Thompson said...
Cidell, thanks for the review. I have some fabric set aside for this one. It looks so beautiful on you (Love the color!) but I'm sorry to hear it gave you trouble. I'm a bit surprised that there is seam allowances already! Weird for BWOF!! Good thing you mentioned it. Thanks for the review - I'll be paying close attention to the fit while I make this one
1/29/08 2:02 PM
Linda G said...
I like your top, I can imagine that slippery fabric was a fight on those decorative seams, sweatshirt fabric was a snap. When I made it I did not realize all of the seam allowances were included, I thought only the hem, if that is the case I would have been way too tight because I added seam allowances, I did not notice that the arms are tight, It is close feeling not a sweatshirt feel.
1/29/08 2:08 PM
Markie1 said...
Cidell, I always enjoy your reviews! I think this looks fantastic on you, and the fitted quality to it accentuates your little waist, as well as where the pocket is placed. I agree, on the pattern it looks lower, but I think where it falls on yours really flatters you! Happy endings are so nice, eh?
1/29/08 2:44 PM
ChristineX said...
It looks great!!
1/29/08 2:45 PM
crisford said...
Wow, I am amazed--this looks so good I think I'll have to try it too!
1/29/08 3:48 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Although there were a few unpleasant surprises, this little hooded sweatshirt, together with your pants, really shows off your perfect little figure. Lovely. -Lily
1/29/08 4:30 PM
jnamcd said...
oh man, me too--I have some velour set aside, and you've got me worried, too! but I do think yours turned out super looking --and your review is very helpful --as I will definatley increase my arm size --mine are always too tight!
1/29/08 4:54 PM
kim*brown said...
Ok....I really like this and the color!
1/29/08 6:22 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Wow I thought your photo was from the magazine, it looks amazing. Thanks for pointing it it has seam allowances included in the pattern, I would have missed that I'm sure!
1/29/08 6:56 PM
Boo97 said...
Cidell, love the outfit! I always enjoy your reviews.
1/29/08 9:23 PM
Fran G said...
Color is gorgeous and the styling takes it up a notch from "sweatshirt"..
1/30/08 7:36 AM
Fabricgurl said...
Cidell, this is really nice. To me the top is really cute the way it turned out. I love the matching pants.
1/30/08 4:32 PM
Betsybobbin said...
Looks like it fits you perfectly! Lovely color on you. Thanks for the review. I've had this one on my list.
1/31/08 9:35 AM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Very flattering. Nice job!
1/31/08 3:41 PM
Gold said...
Very cute!Love the color!
1/31/08 6:05 PM
sewglenda said...
This is a beautiful outfit. You did a very professional job.
1/31/08 9:28 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Butterick 6838 6838
photo
Review by Kayseri on 9/9/09
Read Review

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern
Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt
Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Stella Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Stella Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Esther Blouse Digital Pattern (SS10-11-102)
Angela Osborn Esther Blouse Digital Pattern (SS10-11-102)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 117862-1008 lace skirt
photo
Review by French.Sea... on 9/16/13
Read Review

McCalls 6228 Pattern ( Size 34-36 )
McCalls 6228 Pattern ( Size 34-36 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1569 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
Simplicity 1569 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us