Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2671 (Vintage Dress and Belt) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 2243 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Saskia
photo
About Saskiastar
GERMANY
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/28/03 7:55 AM
Last Updated:5/17/03 4:20 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jlg said...
This dress sounds great; I can't wait to see your picture.
4/28/03 8:06 AM
KathleenS said...
I love 1930s styles! Looking forward to seeing your picture. What problems did you have with the collar?
4/28/03 9:30 AM
Tini said...
seems to be very dressy! Can't wait to see a picture or the dress itself ;)
4/28/03 1:55 PM
Debspuncturedthumb said...
Saskia, I just love old styles, there is a website where you can learn about vintage sewing techniques too from the 1900's to the 1950's at http://www.vintagesewing.info I printed out the 1926 Fashion Institute course since much of it can be used and converted where applicable-it shows many hand techniques that are good to know. Also, Chapter 24 shows you how to make a personal dressmaker's form using tape and a t-shirt! The 'yoke front' from what I can tell from the picture of the dress and your description suggests a partial attachment so you can pull the left side over and attach it with the closure, perhaps a loop on one side that you can hook a button into from the other side would solve the fitting problem you describe should you make this dress again!
4/28/03 9:42 PM
alex said...
What a pretty pattern! I wear the same sizes as you, and am just a few cm shorter, so thanks for finding a flattering style. I'd really like to try this.
4/28/03 11:20 PM
Saskia said...
Deb, thank you very much! I'll have a look at vintagesewing.info as soon as possible! Saskia
4/29/03 4:28 AM
KathleenS said...
Thanks for answering my question Saskia! I'm sure that the warning will be useful to anyone else making up this pattern (whether English-speaking or not). I made a dress with a portrait collar which attached at the front bust seam and at the neckline and I had problems too - probably because it's an unusual feature and we're not used to it.
4/29/03 7:11 AM
KathleenS said...
Thanks for posting the picture(s). They're very helpful and the colour you chose is very pretty. I'm putting this pattern on my wish list (as I said, I like 1930s styles). Did you lengthen the dress at all (you say you're 1.8 m) or is it just shorter on you than in the pattern drawing?
5/17/03 8:15 AM
AnneM said...
Great review, and thanks for putting in the detail pictures of the collar / neckline area.
5/17/03 2:04 PM
Saskia said...
I lengthened it, as I always do. As a habit I put in about 5 or 6 cm and I go well with this. In this case I gave the same length for the hem (as a security)but didn't need it in the end. The dress is the same length as on the picture.
5/17/03 3:29 PM
Debspuncturedthumb said...
This dress really came out well and looks much better actually made vs. on the pattern drawings! I like those pleats and think they add to the charm of this look. I might just make this in a lightweight cotton with a small pastel floral and lace accents. Thanks for the photos and I'm glad the collar closure worked out!
5/21/03 10:25 PM
Lee said...
It looks like you worked out the problem with the neck opening beautifully. It makes me want to make one!
5/27/03 12:24 PM
Saskia said...
Make it, its so beautiful! I haven't worn it yet (oh wow, right tense?). The weather is too bad. Maybe this weekend will see the Premiere of my dresse!
5/27/03 12:49 PM
Melanie Grube said...
Saskia: This neckline looks quite complex. I am not surprised that it was difficult, but your work looks very good to me, and your English is fine. Sometimes I think the currently published pattern instructions don't explain steps in enough detail in order for the sewer to do them correctly the first time. Nothing they say is exactly wrong, but the descriptions seem to gloss over very complicated construction techniques. It seems to me that older patterns, i.e., 1975 and earlier, broke the assembly into more steps, making even complex patterns accessible to beginning, but patient, sewers. What do you think? Melanie Grube
6/3/03 9:28 PM
Saskia said...
Hi Melanie, thank you very much :-) I think you are right that pattern instructions sometimes are quite brief. As I have never sewn an "original Vintage" (except for a Lutterloh System of 1941 - with no instruction, but an easy Two-Piece-Pattern of an undergarment), I can't say wether they have changed.
6/4/03 4:21 AM
rustic.rhythm said...
This dress is so beautiful! I especially like the fabric color too. :D I have a question. I'm pretty new at this. Would it be okay if I buy a pattern that isn't my size and just alter it/make my own from out of it? Thanks. :D
3/31/07 7:50 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

J Stern Designs 0037 Misses' Jeans
photo
Review by annakeeton on 7/24/13
Read Review

Simplicity 1475 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )
Simplicity 1475 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6407 Pattern
New Look 6407 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Bells and Whistles
photo
Review by Nikki on 5/27/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Maia Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Maia Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl USB Fob Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl USB Fob Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern
Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 150 Pattern
Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us