SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2671 (Vintage Dress and Belt)

3 more reviews
Viewed 2249 times 
Reviewed by:Saskia
photo

 
 
About Saskiastar
GERMANY
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/28/03 7:55 AM
Last Updated:5/17/03 4:20 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
rustic.rhythm said...
This dress is so beautiful! I especially like the fabric color too. :D I have a question. I'm pretty new at this. Would it be okay if I buy a pattern that isn't my size and just alter it/make my own from out of it? Thanks. :D
3/31/07 7:50 PM
Saskia said...
Hi Melanie, thank you very much :-) I think you are right that pattern instructions sometimes are quite brief. As I have never sewn an "original Vintage" (except for a Lutterloh System of 1941 - with no instruction, but an easy Two-Piece-Pattern of an undergarment), I can't say wether they have changed.
6/4/03 4:21 AM
Melanie Grube said...
Saskia: This neckline looks quite complex. I am not surprised that it was difficult, but your work looks very good to me, and your English is fine. Sometimes I think the currently published pattern instructions don't explain steps in enough detail in order for the sewer to do them correctly the first time. Nothing they say is exactly wrong, but the descriptions seem to gloss over very complicated construction techniques. It seems to me that older patterns, i.e., 1975 and earlier, broke the assembly into more steps, making even complex patterns accessible to beginning, but patient, sewers. What do you think? Melanie Grube
6/3/03 9:28 PM
Saskia said...
Make it, its so beautiful! I haven't worn it yet (oh wow, right tense?). The weather is too bad. Maybe this weekend will see the Premiere of my dresse!
5/27/03 12:49 PM
Lee said...
It looks like you worked out the problem with the neck opening beautifully. It makes me want to make one!
5/27/03 12:24 PM
Debspuncturedthumb said...
This dress really came out well and looks much better actually made vs. on the pattern drawings! I like those pleats and think they add to the charm of this look. I might just make this in a lightweight cotton with a small pastel floral and lace accents. Thanks for the photos and I'm glad the collar closure worked out!
5/21/03 10:25 PM
Saskia said...
I lengthened it, as I always do. As a habit I put in about 5 or 6 cm and I go well with this. In this case I gave the same length for the hem (as a security)but didn't need it in the end. The dress is the same length as on the picture.
5/17/03 3:29 PM
AnneM said...
Great review, and thanks for putting in the detail pictures of the collar / neckline area.
5/17/03 2:04 PM
KathleenS said...
Thanks for posting the picture(s). They're very helpful and the colour you chose is very pretty. I'm putting this pattern on my wish list (as I said, I like 1930s styles). Did you lengthen the dress at all (you say you're 1.8 m) or is it just shorter on you than in the pattern drawing?
5/17/03 8:15 AM
KathleenS said...
Thanks for answering my question Saskia! I'm sure that the warning will be useful to anyone else making up this pattern (whether English-speaking or not). I made a dress with a portrait collar which attached at the front bust seam and at the neckline and I had problems too - probably because it's an unusual feature and we're not used to it.
4/29/03 7:11 AM
Saskia said...
Deb, thank you very much! I'll have a look at vintagesewing.info as soon as possible! Saskia
4/29/03 4:28 AM
alex said...
What a pretty pattern! I wear the same sizes as you, and am just a few cm shorter, so thanks for finding a flattering style. I'd really like to try this.
4/28/03 11:20 PM
Debspuncturedthumb said...
Saskia, I just love old styles, there is a website where you can learn about vintage sewing techniques too from the 1900's to the 1950's at http://www.vintagesewing.info I printed out the 1926 Fashion Institute course since much of it can be used and converted where applicable-it shows many hand techniques that are good to know. Also, Chapter 24 shows you how to make a personal dressmaker's form using tape and a t-shirt! The 'yoke front' from what I can tell from the picture of the dress and your description suggests a partial attachment so you can pull the left side over and attach it with the closure, perhaps a loop on one side that you can hook a button into from the other side would solve the fitting problem you describe should you make this dress again!
4/28/03 9:42 PM
Tini said...
seems to be very dressy! Can't wait to see a picture or the dress itself ;)
4/28/03 1:55 PM
KathleenS said...
I love 1930s styles! Looking forward to seeing your picture. What problems did you have with the collar?
4/28/03 9:30 AM
jlg said...
This dress sounds great; I can't wait to see your picture.
4/28/03 8:06 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Buy Now