Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Textile Studio: 1405 (Basic Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1952 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Ginger
photo
About Ginger
GA USA
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/28/03 1:14 PM
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karen Bowers said...
ginger, get thee to your library and check out a fitting book, so you can learn to make that oh so necessary bust adjustment.
4/28/03 1:41 PM
Deepika said...
Hi Ginger, I've made this dress three times now. Only recently I learnt how to do the Full Bust Adjustment from my friend Amanda. Just follow the directions in the Fitting Finesse book (by nancy zieman) and its very easy! I have narrow shoulders and that's why my neck was also gaping so I made that alteration as well and I cant tell you what a difference in fit that made. Here's a photo of my latest version in a knit.
4/28/03 3:09 PM
AnneM said...
Three hours doesn't sound so slow to me. Your library should have some fitting books. You can also check out the book reviews on this website, or go over to the messasge board & do a search in Gigi's forum; there might be some tips there already.
4/28/03 3:33 PM
Susan Parker said...
Ginger, if you're going to pick up a book on alteration, I highly recommend Marta Alto and Pati Palmer's book "Fit For Real People". I have several alteration books and this one is the one that works for me. They also describe most alterations one can perform on a bodice or skirt or top--the book shows how to alter fashion patterns not just slopers. And on REAL people. Some slender, some not, and all with fit issues. I look forward to seeing your dress with a full-bust alteration. Keep hanging in there.
4/28/03 3:37 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
I've been curious about this pattern. I'm looking forward to your picture. Bust alterations are not hard at all. I second the recommendation for Fitting Finesse. It's very easy, especially if you don't need a lot of other adjustments. Often you can just taper out a larger pattern size at the bust--but be sure to add a dart if you are larger than a B cup. It can make a dramatic difference in the fit. (Fitting Finesse also has the easiest instructions for adding the dart, IMO.)
4/28/03 11:54 PM
pamela thickens said...
Hi Ginger! I also recommend Fitting Finesse by Nancy Zieman Do you have a fax #? I could fax you the directions. pamelat@electroniclaim.com I could do it 2=morrow...:]
4/28/03 11:55 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
Oops, my comment should read, "often you can just taper out TO a larger pattern size at the bust. For example, if you wear a size XXL you could just widen the side seams about 1/4" or more starting at the lower armhole and ending below the bust area. (BTW, you would then need a corresponding adjustment at the sleeve side seams to make it fit the new armhole.) The Fitting Finesse book shows you how to do the same thing but not necessarily requiring an adjustment to the sleeve or armhole.
4/29/03 0:12 AM
Ginger said...
Thank you all for the kind words. I have Fit for Real People...I think. I will definitely check it out. I hope it is illustrated well.
4/29/03 10:44 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Drafted from RTW 000002
photo
Review by Ms. McCall on 9/14/12
Read Review

Vogue 1324 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 1324 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7131 Pattern
Burda 7131 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used No pattern Used Maxi Skirt
photo
Review by Luvable on 5/7/12
Read Review

Cake Patterns Tiramisu Knit Dress Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Tiramisu Knit Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (6M-4) Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (6M-4) Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern
Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us