SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2007-115 (Jacket w/Front Pleats)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1240 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 321
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 315 people
patterns reviewed: 321
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/30/08 8:20 AM
Last Updated:1/30/08 8:20 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
squirrellypoo said...
ooh I really like your elongated version, and that back is beautiful (I hadn't noticed it in the magazine). And I'm glad my WTF moment with the upside-down back facing helped you! We'll wear our strange jackets together and form some sort of weird cabal!
1/30/08 8:26 AM
Becky Coleman said...
What a coat! No doubt people will be asking where they can get one like it. Superb job and you certainly rose to the challenges it presented to you.
1/30/08 8:39 AM
cindy-lou said...
Love this jacket's shape and swing. Also love the paisley 'surprise' lining-- SO happy! You've made me itchy to try out a wool coat.
1/30/08 8:42 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Amazing job on this coat every step of the way! It's just gorgeous. I thoroughly enjoyed your review and photos.
1/30/08 8:45 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Excellent review and lovely coat. I couldn't figure out from the picture which pattern it was, a brilliantly simple idea to lengthen the jacket. Absolutely love the lining too!
1/30/08 8:57 AM
marjenann said...
I love your jacket!! It is unique, stylish and beautifully made!!! A real knock out!! I am going to re-read your great review too!
1/30/08 9:00 AM
JuliaS said...
This turned out lovely! I finished up a version of this recently, but I really love yours!
1/30/08 9:22 AM
Nancywin said...
Thanks for the helpful review. I'm saving it for future reference as I have some gray wool intended for this same pattern. Where did you find your tabs? I havent found any anywhere and think I will probably have to make something up. As for the handstitched lining, I prefer to do mine that way. Case in point, today I started to put on my turquoise jacket and noticed that the shoulder pad is somehow slipping into the sleeve (I guess I'll really benefit from the hand stitches class at PR weekend). Thankfully, my lining hem is handstitched, so it will be easy to release part of the lining to reach up and fix that baby! I also really love how you used the contrast trim on the sleeves and back. I'm going to steal that idea Your new coat looks very unique - and very YOU. You have reinspired me to make this jacket.
1/30/08 9:47 AM
nicegirl said...
Thank you so much, everyone! Nancywin, I got the closures at Pacific Trimming in NYC. M&J Trim in NYC also carries them and they are listed on their website: http://www.mjtrim.com/Catalog/Category/894513.aspx (for about twice what I paid). If you can wait until PR Weekend, I would bet there is a store in LA that sells them too.
1/30/08 10:05 AM
JulieP said...
What a great job! Thanks for all the detail information in your review and the great construction photos. As for bagging the coat lining, I developed a relatively eazy way to do it by machine when I made my first lined jacket in 2006. You have inspired me to go ahead and write up a review for that garment and maybe figure out how to post a tip. Thanks! I'll let you know when I've got it done.
1/30/08 11:20 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Beautiful coat - I bet you can't help but smile when you wear it! :)
1/30/08 11:32 AM
MissCelie said...
Beautiful!!!
1/30/08 11:50 AM
cmarie12 said...
The piping really makes the coat you!
1/30/08 1:21 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful coat, I can see why you received a compliment right away. I really like your contrasting fabric.
1/30/08 1:48 PM
Sigrid. said...
The idea to make it longer is super. It's a great coat in really your style. Will keep you smiling through the cold February month (because of all the heads turning your way to look at this beautiful coat)
1/30/08 3:28 PM
Birgitte said...
I just LOVE YOUR COAT! Great job on felting it too! And the lining fabric- using it to peek through here and there is just what I adore- just fabulously artistic!
1/30/08 4:32 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
What a beautiful coat !! I love it !!
1/30/08 5:19 PM
JulieP said...
I forgot to mention how much I loved the little peeks of the contrasting lining everywhere. It's a really great idea. It gives you the look of piping with a lot less work.
1/30/08 5:38 PM
Karen6790 said...
I'm SO impressed. I love the colors for you.
1/31/08 8:47 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Not much left to say, except that you will be fiercely dangerous in this avant garde coat! BTW, your problem solving skills are superb, too. -Lily
2/1/08 6:42 AM
charlotte287 said...
Very nice work. I like your enthusiasm and determination. Lots of helpful information.
2/8/08 3:23 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Simplicity 2573

photo
by: julliams

Review
Simplicity 3887

photo
by: Sharon1952

Review
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Buy Now
The Whimsy Bag

The Whimsy Bag

Buy Now