SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2374 (Misses Bra)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1350 times 
Reviewed by:li'l miss muffett
photo

 
 
About li'l miss muffettstar
KS USA
Member since: 1/25/07
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/30/08 12:36 PM
Last Updated:1/30/08 1:30 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
See other patterns in this category: Lingerie    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewing for fun said...
Suggestion- I had good success with bras using woven cotton, cut so the bias line goes in the direction of greatest stretch on the pattern. Used quilting cottons & a nice pima printed cotton. Will definitely alter fit a lot, though, but improves support a great deal.
1/30/08 1:31 PM
fuzzygalore said...
I second the suggestion to use a non-stretch woven in the cup instead of interfacing. Only maybe B cups should be using stretch fabric there :-). You've lucky to have a good fit on your first time, keep it up!
1/30/08 2:32 PM
moss said...
AWESOME! That is really cool, good for you!!
1/30/08 3:14 PM
Sigrid. said...
Great result for your first bra!
1/30/08 3:20 PM
li'l miss muffett said...
Thank you everyone! I'll definitely try the woven fabric instead.
1/31/08 11:11 AM
woole bully said...
i am in the process of starting to make my first bra. this review was very helpful
5/19/08 5:31 PM
purefairydust said...
I just bought the pattern and think yours looks great. Now I can't wait to shop for the fabric. Thank for the great review.
3/17/09 9:46 AM
chango said...
Thanks for the review! I'm thinking about trying to make my own bra, because when I buy bras, I wear a size 38 DD, the cup are either always too big or too small. I'm a beginner in sewing and I never thought I would even think of trying to make my own bras, but after reading some reviews, I have changed my mind. Since my first success in sewing was with a Kwik sew pattern, I will try this one for bras... Is this pattern only for size 42 and up, is there one for 38? Thanks again for your review, your bra looks great!
3/18/09 3:21 PM
li'l miss muffett said...
chango: I have also made Kwik Sew 3594 for my daughter and it is a similar style for smaller women. It comes in sizes 32AA-40DDD so that is probably the pattern you want. Since writung this review I've made several more bras from a few different companies and just love it! The hardest part about sewing bras, IMHO, is finding the notions. They can easily be found online though! Best wishes to you!
3/19/09 10:21 AM
katie lynne said...
Thank you so much for writing this review! I have much the same physique that you do and you've given me such great insight that now I can't wait to try making my own bra. It would be so great to wear a bra that actually fits ME. You did an absolutely beautiful job making this bra. BRA-VO! (pardon my pun)
8/12/09 2:29 AM
ev35 said...
Could this be easily adapted to insert underwires? Gosh, I'm a DDD and I need the added support of underwires.
1/9/14 12:26 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Simplicity 5316

photo
by: cybperry

Review
Everyday Baskets

Everyday Baskets

Buy Now
Katy Bags

Katy Bags

Buy Now
No Pattern Used Infinity Dress

photo
by: emr

Review