SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2374 (Misses Bra)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1352 times 
Reviewed by:li'l miss muffett
photo

 
 
About li'l miss muffettstar
KS USA
Member since: 1/25/07
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/30/08 12:36 PM
Last Updated:1/30/08 1:30 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
See other patterns in this category: Lingerie    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewing for fun said...
Suggestion- I had good success with bras using woven cotton, cut so the bias line goes in the direction of greatest stretch on the pattern. Used quilting cottons & a nice pima printed cotton. Will definitely alter fit a lot, though, but improves support a great deal.
1/30/08 1:31 PM
fuzzygalore said...
I second the suggestion to use a non-stretch woven in the cup instead of interfacing. Only maybe B cups should be using stretch fabric there :-). You've lucky to have a good fit on your first time, keep it up!
1/30/08 2:32 PM
moss said...
AWESOME! That is really cool, good for you!!
1/30/08 3:14 PM
Sigrid. said...
Great result for your first bra!
1/30/08 3:20 PM
li'l miss muffett said...
Thank you everyone! I'll definitely try the woven fabric instead.
1/31/08 11:11 AM
woole bully said...
i am in the process of starting to make my first bra. this review was very helpful
5/19/08 5:31 PM
purefairydust said...
I just bought the pattern and think yours looks great. Now I can't wait to shop for the fabric. Thank for the great review.
3/17/09 9:46 AM
chango said...
Thanks for the review! I'm thinking about trying to make my own bra, because when I buy bras, I wear a size 38 DD, the cup are either always too big or too small. I'm a beginner in sewing and I never thought I would even think of trying to make my own bras, but after reading some reviews, I have changed my mind. Since my first success in sewing was with a Kwik sew pattern, I will try this one for bras... Is this pattern only for size 42 and up, is there one for 38? Thanks again for your review, your bra looks great!
3/18/09 3:21 PM
li'l miss muffett said...
chango: I have also made Kwik Sew 3594 for my daughter and it is a similar style for smaller women. It comes in sizes 32AA-40DDD so that is probably the pattern you want. Since writung this review I've made several more bras from a few different companies and just love it! The hardest part about sewing bras, IMHO, is finding the notions. They can easily be found online though! Best wishes to you!
3/19/09 10:21 AM
katie lynne said...
Thank you so much for writing this review! I have much the same physique that you do and you've given me such great insight that now I can't wait to try making my own bra. It would be so great to wear a bra that actually fits ME. You did an absolutely beautiful job making this bra. BRA-VO! (pardon my pun)
8/12/09 2:29 AM
ev35 said...
Could this be easily adapted to insert underwires? Gosh, I'm a DDD and I need the added support of underwires.
1/9/14 12:26 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Buy Now
Pants Sewing DVD

Pants Sewing DVD

Buy Now