Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 2374 (Misses Bra) - Type:Lingerie    printable version
Viewed 1325 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
Reviewed by:li'l miss muffett
photo
About li'l miss muffettstar
KS USA
Member since: 1/25/07
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/30/08 12:36 PM
Last Updated:1/30/08 1:30 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Lingerie    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewing for fun said...
Suggestion- I had good success with bras using woven cotton, cut so the bias line goes in the direction of greatest stretch on the pattern. Used quilting cottons & a nice pima printed cotton. Will definitely alter fit a lot, though, but improves support a great deal.
1/30/08 1:31 PM
fuzzygalore said...
I second the suggestion to use a non-stretch woven in the cup instead of interfacing. Only maybe B cups should be using stretch fabric there :-). You've lucky to have a good fit on your first time, keep it up!
1/30/08 2:32 PM
moss said...
AWESOME! That is really cool, good for you!!
1/30/08 3:14 PM
Sigrid. said...
Great result for your first bra!
1/30/08 3:20 PM
li'l miss muffett said...
Thank you everyone! I'll definitely try the woven fabric instead.
1/31/08 11:11 AM
woole bully said...
i am in the process of starting to make my first bra. this review was very helpful
5/19/08 5:31 PM
purefairydust said...
I just bought the pattern and think yours looks great. Now I can't wait to shop for the fabric. Thank for the great review.
3/17/09 9:46 AM
chango said...
Thanks for the review! I'm thinking about trying to make my own bra, because when I buy bras, I wear a size 38 DD, the cup are either always too big or too small. I'm a beginner in sewing and I never thought I would even think of trying to make my own bras, but after reading some reviews, I have changed my mind. Since my first success in sewing was with a Kwik sew pattern, I will try this one for bras... Is this pattern only for size 42 and up, is there one for 38? Thanks again for your review, your bra looks great!
3/18/09 3:21 PM
li'l miss muffett said...
chango: I have also made Kwik Sew 3594 for my daughter and it is a similar style for smaller women. It comes in sizes 32AA-40DDD so that is probably the pattern you want. Since writung this review I've made several more bras from a few different companies and just love it! The hardest part about sewing bras, IMHO, is finding the notions. They can easily be found online though! Best wishes to you!
3/19/09 10:21 AM
katie lynne said...
Thank you so much for writing this review! I have much the same physique that you do and you've given me such great insight that now I can't wait to try making my own bra. It would be so great to wear a bra that actually fits ME. You did an absolutely beautiful job making this bra. BRA-VO! (pardon my pun)
8/12/09 2:29 AM
ev35 said...
Could this be easily adapted to insert underwires? Gosh, I'm a DDD and I need the added support of underwires.
1/9/14 12:26 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2009-124B
photo
Review by mz.choize on 2/22/10
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Skinny Jeans Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -10 years )
Peek-A Boo Skinny Jeans Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -10 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris
Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2008-21
photo
Review by Christas on 10/18/08
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 605 Pattern
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5019 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )
Butterick 5019 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8469 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 8469 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us