SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8369 (Claire Shaeffer Couture Collec)

Viewed 2322 times 
Reviewed by:Marji
photo

 
 
About Marjistarstarstarstar
MO USA
Member since: 9/19/06
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 96 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/31/08 11:46 AM
Last Updated:8/25/08 4:53 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said...
Oh man, I could barely wait to get the stinkin' mouse clicked so I could get in here and read this review! I knew EXACTLY what pattern this was, even from just the thumbnail. I love your reviews ANYWAY, and this one is just SPECTACULAR! I so admire your workmanship, not to mention P-A-T-I-E-N-C-E. :o) This is BEAUTIFUL.
8/27/08 2:52 AM
cecelia said...
You can tell this was truly a labor of love--your very lucky sister to have you make her such a beautiful jacket! Thanks for a wonderful review.
8/25/08 3:47 PM
Karen6790 said...
Thank you for the amazingly thorough review, and the reminder that the end result is worth all the effort you put into it. What a beautiful jacket, and what a lucky sister.
8/25/08 1:24 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Tremendously helpful review - and one of the most gorgeous jackets I've ever seen! Your sister is really lucky - sure hope she gives you a big thank you!
8/25/08 12:47 PM
joan said...
Marji, you have done it again. Absolutely beautiful. I will remember your technique for lining up those pesky loops and I agree with you about the front extension. I have encountered that same thing on another pattern and I thought the same thing as you. Your sis is one fortunate lass.
8/25/08 10:41 AM
cindyann said...
What a beautiful jacket, Marji! Very nicely done. Your sister will be so pleased. Thank you for the excellent review.
8/25/08 8:21 AM
dbsewer said...
Great jacket, Marji. Your sister is so lucky to have you sew for her. You did a beautiful job and I adore that fabric. Thanks for an excellent detailed review of its construction.
8/25/08 7:46 AM
Lori V said...
Beautiful jacket and thanks for such a complete and helpful review.
8/25/08 7:02 AM
Sigrid. said...
Outstanding jacket and review. It's beautiful and I love all the detail pictures and descriptions of how you did this. It will help me someday for sure. Thank you!
8/25/08 6:51 AM
Peggy L said...
Quite a sewing adventure! It turned out beautifully.
8/25/08 6:01 AM
Elona said...
What a lovely creation, Marji! Thanks for posting the intricate steps in this adventure in such detail. That's one well-favored sister.
8/25/08 0:02 AM
sewtime said...
Fantastic looking jacket and fit! Worth all the effort. Thank you for taking us through the process!
8/24/08 11:58 PM
EveS said...
Wow, what a beautiful jacket!! And what a mind-boggling amount of work (and love) that went into this! You are a sewing goddess, without question! :)
8/24/08 11:29 PM
Birgitte said...
Wow, you really did it! The jacket is gorgeous.
8/24/08 11:05 PM
carolynw said...
A wonderful looking jacket - all your hard work and expertise shows through - bravo Marji for such an outstanding job
8/24/08 10:50 PM
Heatherrique said...
Wow! Exquisitely beautiful jacket. Thanks so much for sharing your detailed sewing journey. What a lucky sister! She will treasure your gift of labor and love.
8/24/08 10:38 PM
DaisyEsq said...
The jacket is beautiful. I'm sure your sister will be very pleased.
8/24/08 10:21 PM
Nancy K said...
Very cool Marji. Considering the long distance the muslins finally fit really well.
2/28/08 5:45 PM
warmweathergirl said...
I think that this jacket will look great with the boucle although it looks like a challenging fabric.
2/26/08 12:06 PM
WJean said...
Marji, Your teaching lessons contained in the muslin section of this post are by far better and more easily understood than any I've ever read about. Most say, just make a muslin...duh?? None-the-less, the construction techniques for this pattern is one that I requested from Pattern Review, and you can believe that I will be following along until completion. Also, your depictions of the planned SWAP are great. They too are the first time I've seen such a layout. The planning including the fabric and what's been made along the way are truly inspirational. I look forward to more, more, more...:-}
2/5/08 4:46 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
I'm so impressed that you can fit your sister in absentia. The jacket is going to be extraordinary. I believe I bought the same boucle plaid in green/orange tones and if so, it is luxurious; your sister will be awed. Very, very loving sister you are. -Lily
2/5/08 10:40 AM
marjenann said...
Wow, Marji! I am sooo impressed with your persistence and sewing skills! That boucle is going to be one smashing jacket!!
2/3/08 10:34 AM
xtreme1 said...
Looking forward to the next instalment. Muslin/s are SO worthwhile.
2/2/08 9:55 PM
Leora said...
Wow! You are so talented (and patient to sew long distance) Thank you for showing your progress so far.
2/2/08 5:25 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Very helpful! I love the boucle fabric.
2/2/08 4:17 PM
Karine said...
How fun to watch this project progress! Can you even imagine trying to do a jacket like this remotely without technology??? Your fitting descriptions are so instructive - thank you! Will the excess on the shoulders be taken up by the shoulder pad and the seam when the sleeve is attached? I bought this pattern some time ago - I absolutely love it. Will be very interested to see next steps as they unfold!
2/1/08 3:23 PM
Birgitte said...
Marji this is so fascinating! I'll continue to watch as the jacket progresses, thanks for such clear pictures and description of the fitting.
1/31/08 8:20 PM
Annie- oh said...
Oh, yes, Marji, this will be worth every minute! (Gosh, said by someone not doing it, just tres, tres impressed.)
1/31/08 12:11 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

More Info