Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8390 (Very Easy Misses Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1344 times 23 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:Marji
photo
About Marjistarstarstarstar
MO USA
Member since: 9/19/06
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 95 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/31/08 8:21 PM
Last Updated:1/31/08 8:21 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Puppy said...
So, in the bottom picture of the "composite" photo...the bottom of the top looks very different in that bottom photo than the bottom of the top looks in the upper left of the composite group. Is that because....well, what is it due to? The bottom of the bottom photo has such cute lines. (Sorry about all the tops of bottoms and confusing wording....whatcha gonna do!?
1/31/08 8:48 PM
Marji said...
Puppy, in the top photo of the composite and the photo that I entered as the icon photo she wears her phone on her hip, and the phone is hiking up the side of the top. When she takes the phone off, this is how the hem actually lies.
1/31/08 9:05 PM
Sharon M said...
Interesting...I have this pattern but haven't sewn it yet. I'm glad you did such a thorough review...I guess for once I can forget about an FBA. The match on the fabric is incredible - I don't always take the time to be so exact, but I can see that it sure pays off. I'm glad you were able to salvage it for your sister.
1/31/08 10:52 PM
sewbehind said...
Thanks for the heads up on this pattern. At least you made a great looking top for your sister.
1/31/08 11:16 PM
Nancywin said...
What a great sister you are, Marji. This top looks fabulous. Your hard work paid off and your sister is going to have such a fantastic wardrobe.
2/1/08 0:39 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Glad your DS likes it.
2/1/08 0:39 AM
bell N said...
Like your sister, I am somewhat large on top. I always assumed wrap tops, like most empire tops, are just not for me. I'll have to give this one another look.
2/1/08 8:39 AM
Medeiros said...
Love the top. The fabric is exactly the same as a top I purchased at Macy's recently.
2/1/08 2:42 PM
cecelia said...
Nice save for sis!
2/1/08 3:35 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Another wonderful top for your sister Marji. I am glad she loves it....sewing for someone else and also far away is tough, you are doing a super job !
2/1/08 4:26 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Thanks for the heads up. This pattern was on my list of patterns to sew, but I've crossed it off now. I haven't got time for poorly drafted patterns. Great matching of the pattern across the front wrap too. That isn't easy to do!
2/1/08 5:41 PM
Birgitte said...
Your sis is one lucky lady! Yes, you are indeed doing a great job at sewing for someone FAR away- and I thought I had it hard fitting the person a few a feet away in the mirror!!!
2/1/08 7:02 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
I've been watching all the "lovelies" you've made for/or sent to your sister. She's probably aware of the love and effort that you put into these creations. Your matching skills are unparalleled, and your sister affection to be envied. -Lily
2/1/08 7:47 PM
Kellie R. said...
Great top! Your sister sure is lucky getting so many of your garments. Thanks for the heads up on bust size.
2/2/08 8:43 AM
CherylStillSews said...
Another thanks for the heads up - will also be avoiding this one. Great save and well done with the matching.
2/9/08 4:05 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Butterick 5173
photo
Review by didda on 5/30/08
Read Review

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern
SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King
BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)
Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Betsey Apron Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Betsey Apron Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Keyka Lou Curvy Clutch
photo
Review by FJT on 5/2/12
Read Review

Vogue 2842 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )
Vogue 2842 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9447 Pattern
Burda 9447 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us